A young card from an unnamed offshore issuer, with an officially silent fee sheet
The Ultimo card is a Visa Platinum debit card tied to a crypto balance rather than to a bank account. On paper it is a neat fit for someone who already lives on crypto and wants a card that spends it directly, without juggling a fiat account in between. In practice, when I went through what the company publishes and what users report, most of the basics are not published at all. Which countries issue it, what a card costs, what the currency conversion costs, what the ATM charges, what the limits are — none of that is stated on the official pages. What you do get is a solid list of supported networks, a fast virtual card, and a small but serious complaint about money that stopped moving.
That combination is why this review lands where it does. Ultimo is not a card I would put a large balance on, and it is not a card I would recommend to someone new to crypto. It is a card that may suit an experienced user who already understands offshore crypto platforms, who is comfortable holding funds with a provider rather than in a self-custody wallet, and who treats the balance as spending money rather than savings. If any of that describes you, keep reading. If you are looking for a card that a regulator’s register will tell you about, or one whose fees are written down before you sign up, this is not it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 3.7 out of 10
Here is my scoring, criterion by criterion, with the reason I gave each one. Every mark below is my own assessment of the material, not a rating Ultimo publishes.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | No countries named officially; Russia and Belarus are not mentioned. Unofficial reports say the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card was blocked in the EU and UK, with no country list published. |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Card fees are not disclosed officially; the exchange fee is 1.5% all-in. Unofficial reports quote $450 issuance, $600 total including a $150 deposit, and $550–$600 elsewhere; a monthly fee of free is reported. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT and more across 9 networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche. |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Brand “founded in 2026”; registration country and issuing bank not named. A Trustpilot review from August 2026 says cards and funds are locked after a move to ultimox.io. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Visa Platinum, plastic delivered in 10–15 banking days and a virtual card in minutes, cash withdrawal “wherever Visa is accepted”. Unofficial: Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported. |
| Total | 3.7 / 10 | A usable front end on top of an undocumented programme. |
The nine out of ten for top-up options is the one genuinely strong line in the table, and it earns that mark on its own merits: nine networks and the four largest names in crypto is a real breadth of choice for someone who wants to move funds from an exchange to a card. The two ones are the ones that matter most, though, because cost and reliability are what actually decide whether you can live on a card. A card that is cheap to fund and convenient to top up is worth very little if the fee sheet is missing or if a domain change freezes your balance.
Will they give you the card?
Officially: not stated. The card’s own pages do not name a single country that can receive the card or open the account. That is an unusual thing for a card to leave blank, and it means the answer to “can I get one where I live?” cannot be given from official material.
Unofficial reporting adds a warning rather than a list. The older Ultimo Pay Platinum card is reported as blocked in the EU and the UK, with reviewers attributing it to sanctions, and no country list published (per cryptocards.so, 2026). Russia and Belarus are not mentioned either way in what I could find.
I want to be precise about what that does and does not tell you. A block in one region does not mean you cannot have the card, and it does not mean you can. What it does mean is that the natural first question — is this card open to me? — has no published answer, and the people best placed to answer it are the company’s own support desk, not a page you can read before you commit. Before you plan a budget around this card, ask support directly which countries are supported, and treat the answer as the answer rather than the silence on the site.
The general principle here is worth holding on to, because it is not specific to Ultimo. Merchants and issuers can look up a card’s issuing country, and they may apply extra scrutiny when it differs from the billing address — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. And nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to address. A card with an unnamed issuing country inherits that uncertainty wholesale.
How to get it
Identity check is required, both to open an account and before withdrawals. The official pages do not say which documents are needed, or whether proof of address is among them. The virtual card is “ready in minutes” after the account is opened, which is genuinely quick if you are used to waiting on plastic.
Unofficial accounts describe the process as needing an email, a phone number and an identity document, with no proof of address and no selfie (per cryptocards.so, 2026). Take that as a description from reviewers rather than a promise from the company; the official pages do not confirm it, and the fact that a document list is not published is itself part of what you are assessing.
The card itself is a “Visa Platinum debit card linked straight to your Ultimo balance”. You get both a physical card and a virtual one. The card currency is not stated. Whether there are account tiers is not stated either — Essential, Gold, Platinum and similar reward structures are common in this category, and Ultimo publishes none of it.
The physical card “will be delivered 10-15 banking days”. Where it is delivered, what it costs to send, and what happens if it is lost or destroyed are all not stated. If you need a working card quickly, the virtual one is the part of this section you can actually rely on.
This step is where the identity checks are not optional, by the way, and I am not going to describe how to get around them — but it is fair to know why they exist. Anti-money-laundering law requires regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU that due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. And where due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold back from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end it. That last point is why accounts get frozen pending documents anywhere in this category — it is the rule working, not a glitch.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the weakest part of the picture, and it deserves the plainest statement I can make: the card page’s Fees section lists exchange fees only. Card issuance cost is not stated, the monthly fee is not stated, the card’s own currency conversion fee is not stated, the ATM fee is not stated, and the daily and monthly limits are not stated. If you are deciding on this card with real money, you are deciding without the numbers that decide it.

Unofficial reporting fills some of the gaps, and it does not do so consistently: card issuance $450 with total setup $600 ($450 card plus $150 deposit), a monthly fee of free, and in the same review a different figure of $550–$600 for issuance (per cryptocards.so, 2026). Treat all of it as third-party reporting, not as terms you can rely on, and note that $450 for a card is far above anything a mainstream debit card charges — which is itself worth a question to support.
Here is what I could find, official and unofficial, in one place:
| Item | What is published | Source status |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated on the card page | — |
| Card issuance | $450 | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Total setup cost | $600 ($450 card + $150 deposit) | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Monthly fee | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Buy & sell fee | 1.5% all-in, shown up front | Official |
| Spot trading | 0.05% maker / 0.10% taker | Official |
| Card FX fee | Not stated | — |
| Card FX fee | Free | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | 3% cited by a Trustpilot user; 0.75% per card transaction also cited | Unofficial user reports |
| ATM fee | Not stated | — |
| ATM fee | 0.1%, unlimited | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Daily spend limit | Not stated | — |
| Daily, monthly spend and ATM limits | “Unlimited” | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
| Cashback / rewards | Not stated | — |
| Cashback | No cashback listed | Unofficial (cryptocards.so, 2026) |
Now the part I find most useful: what that table means at three ordinary tills. Not as arithmetic on your behalf, but as a way of seeing which lines actually move when you spend.
Coffee, roughly five euros, paid from a crypto balance. If the balance was loaded as stablecoin or converted from crypto, the 1.5% all-in buy-and-sell fee is the line most likely to touch this payment, because it sits on the exchange side rather than the card side. The card’s own FX fee is not stated, so you cannot tell from the official material whether this purchase also carries a conversion charge on top. The 0.75% per card transaction figure appears in a user report, not in any terms.
A supermarket run. Same structure, larger number. The per-transaction percentage feels smaller on a bigger basket, which is exactly why percentage fees are easy to underestimate: the fee is proportional, but the reason to notice it — a meal out versus a month’s groceries — is not. If the reported 3% crypto-to-fiat conversion is accurate, that is the number that matters most here, and it is unofficial.
A holiday, spending a local currency in a country that is not the card’s home. This is where an unstated FX fee hurts most, because a foreign-issued card can also draw extra scrutiny from merchants and can be declined outright. One category fact is worth holding: Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of a billing address with issuer records, and is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — so for a foreign-issued card it is generally unavailable, which can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs precisely because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. No Ultimo currency is stated, so I cannot tell you what this trip would cost you. That is the point: neither can the official pages.
One more number to keep separate from card fees. On-chain network fees for your deposit — gas, or bandwidth — are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. They are not Ultimo’s, they are not avoidable, and they are also not part of the 1.5%.
Top up: what can you fund it with
Here is the good news, and it is properly good. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT “and more” over nine networks: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base, Avalanche. The card is linked to the Ultimo balance, so the top-up and the spend are the same balance rather than two systems.

Whether there is a specific top-up method documented for the card is not stated. Unofficial reporting says the top-up fee is free, and a Trustpilot user cites 1% for an immediate USD transfer versus free for a 72-hour transfer (per cryptocards.so, 2026). If that is right, the trade is simple: pay a percent, or wait three days. Which is right for you depends entirely on whether you can plan.
Withdrawals need a one-time code and an email confirmation, then a routine risk check. Fees for that are not stated; unofficial reporting says a withdrawal fee of 0.1% plus 0.001 BTC. That 0.001 BTC part is worth pausing on if you ever intend to make a small withdrawal, because a flat component does not shrink with size.
Two background points on transfers, because this is where mistakes become permanent. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. And if you hold USDT on the Ethereum network, sending it requires ETH for gas, because fees are paid only in ETH — a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send. Tron works differently, pricing internally through bandwidth and energy and often burning TRX. Those two sentences have saved people a lot of money.
Paying with it every day
In the shop, it is a Visa Platinum debit card, virtual or physical, spending the Ultimo balance. Cash can be taken out “wherever Visa is accepted” — though the fee and allowance for that are not stated, and unofficial reporting says 0.1% with no limit.
What is missing from daily use is as telling as what is there. Whether you can connect a self-custody wallet is not stated. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not supported, per unofficial reporting (cryptocards.so, 2026) — which, for many people, quietly removes the main reason to carry a physical card at all. Whether there are any rewards is not stated, and unofficial reporting lists no cashback. Whether there is a mechanism for disputing a transaction is not stated, which is the one I would most want answered.
The app is a web app at app.ultimox.io. App store listings and ratings are not stated, and I mention the web-app detail because it matters practically: a mobile wallet you cannot add to a phone’s native wallet is also not getting the device-specific protection that a native wallet provides, where the card number is replaced with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element and every payment uses a one-time dynamic code.
Set against that, the ordinary merchant-side friction is the same as with any foreign or prepaid card. A merchant category code is the four-digit classification of a business; gambling sits under MCC 7995, and many issuers block that category by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Declines can also leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
The most serious thing I found is a user report, not an official statement, and I want to keep that distinction sharp. A Trustpilot review dated 17/20 August 2026 — one review, one star, Trustpilot showing 3.2/5 — says that after the card brand moved to ultimox.io, “cards and funds are locked”. There is a separate undated user report from 2025–2026 about the older Ultimo Pay card: it stopped working in the EU and UK, a $600 fee was still charged, support was unreachable, and the account could not be deleted. I found no official incident announcement to match either account. Trustpilot at a single review is a very thin signal, and one star is not a pattern — but it is the specific complaint you should want answered before you deposit, and it is the complaint that sits closest to the domain change.
Behind that complaint sits a structural fact. The brand is “Ultimo”, described on its own site as founded in 2026, with the registration country not stated, the physical card “issued through an offshore bank” that is not named, infrastructure partners listed as BitMEX, Bitget, Deribit, Cobo and Simplex, and no licences listed. Unofficial starting data names Silver Capital Financial s.r.o., and reviews cite a Laos bank, JDB, later “removed from the partnership” (per cryptocards.so, 2026).
Read that as a pattern rather than a scandal. What it means is that the entity you would be contracting with is not identifiable from the public material, and the bank that stands behind the plastic can change without much notice. The category has form for this. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Programme closures typically follow a shape — notice, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
Custody is where the counterparty risk sits. The custody model is not stated; the official page mentions email confirmation for withdrawals and links a Security page that I did not read. Unofficial reporting names BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks as custody providers (per cryptocards.so, 2026). What matters is not which providers appear but who holds the credentials: with a custodial wallet the provider holds them, so you must trust the provider completely, and custodial platforms have a record of it — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).
Finally, support. Chat and email at [email protected], 24/7, “any time — day or night”. Twenty-four-hour support is worth something. It is worth less to you than it is worth saying when a card and a balance are already frozen, which is precisely the situation one of the reports describes. I am not going to speculate about what a support team can do with a frozen balance; I will say that a domain change is the moment when you most need a route to your money, and Ultimo publishes no account-deletion process and, per the report above, one user could not get theirs deleted.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison, and each is honest about itself in a way Ultimo is not. Scores are my own, out of 10.
| Ultimo | Young Card | Coinbase Card | OKX | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 3.7 | 5.7 | 6.4 | 6.2 |
| Who can get it | Not stated officially | Not stated | All US states except Hawaii | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded |
| Card | Visa Platinum debit, linked to Ultimo balance | Not stated officially | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical | Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit, via OKX Pay |
| Cost | Not stated officially; $450 issuance unofficial | Not stated officially | Zero spending fees, no annual fees | No card fee (as of May 2026) |
| Main fee | 1.5% all-in buy & sell | Not stated | Spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades | No transaction fee, no OKX FX fee; conversion spread 0.1% per explainer vs 0.4% per launch release |
| Funding | BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT over 9 networks | Not stated for the card | Bank account link, paycheck deposit, or crypto balance | USDC or USDG in OKX Pay; other coins converted first |
| Rewards | Not stated; no cashback listed | Cashback in YNG tokens by tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% | Optional crypto rewards, US users only, variable rate | Cashback on USDG only, tiered, capped in EUR |
Coinbase Card is the clearest of the three, and it wins on disclosure rather than on features. It names its country — all US states except Hawaii — its identity rules, its fees (“zero spending fees and no annual fees”, with everything else in the cardholder agreement), and its funding routes. It is also a prepaid Visa that converts crypto to US dollars at the moment of purchase, so the spread, not a card fee, is the number to watch. For a US reader with a Coinbase account, this is the least guessing involved.
OKX Card is the strongest for a European reader, and the one I would point an EEA reader towards first. It launched 28 January 2026 for the EU plus Norway, works for an EEA user of OKX Europe Ltd. under the MiCAR-licensed entity, and issues a Mastercard virtual debit card in euro through an unnamed European licensed payment provider. Iceland and Liechtenstein are excluded, and one source’s claim of “entire EEA” is inconsistent with that. Note the conflict in its own numbers: the conversion spread is 0.1% per the May 2026 explainer against 0.4% market spread in the launch release, and the explainer is the newer. Cashback is USDG-only, which is a small trap: USDC earns none. It is virtual only, which no source contradicts.
Young Card I would flag rather than recommend, and the reason is information, not principle. Countries, card, costs, fees and card-specific funding are all not stated officially. What is published is a cashback structure in YNG tokens with tier rates — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% — which tells you what the business wants you to hold. Its 5.7 sits above Ultimo’s because at least something is documented.
The pattern across all three is the one worth taking away. Coinbase and OKX both name a jurisdiction and an issuing partner; Ultimo names neither. MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities — you can check a provider there, and the fact that you would want to is itself the point. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and a card is regulated separately as a payment service, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. Ultimo lists no licences.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend it to someone specific, and I would not be comfortable recommending it to anyone else. That person already holds crypto, already uses offshore platforms without friction, already understands that a stablecoin balance is not a bank deposit, and already knows that leaving a balance with a provider means trusting a provider. They want a card that spends a crypto balance across nine networks, they do not care about Apple Pay, they can absorb an exchange fee of 1.5% all-in on every buy and sell, and they can live without knowing the FX fee because they mostly spend in one currency. Crucially, they would keep a small balance there — spending money, not savings — and they have checked that their country is served, which I cannot do for them.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, as a way to hold meaningful value, or to anyone whose country is under any question. I would not recommend it to anyone who plans to travel and spend in several currencies, since the FX fee is not stated and foreign-issued cards draw extra merchant scrutiny. And I would not recommend it to anyone who needs cash, since the ATM fee and allowance are unpublished, or to anyone who relies on a phone wallet.
What I would do first, whichever way you lean: ask support, in writing, which countries are served, what the card costs, what the FX and ATM fees are, and what the daily and monthly limits are — and keep the answers. Then check whether the operator appears on the ESMA interim register. Then put in a small amount and try the whole loop — top up, spend, withdraw — before you scale it. If the answers to the first four questions do not arrive, that is your answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is Ultimo card?
Ultimo is a Visa Platinum debit card that spends a crypto balance rather than a bank account. You top up a balance on the Ultimo platform and the card draws on it directly. Both a physical and a virtual card are offered, and the card currency is not stated. The brand describes itself as founded in 2026.
Is Ultimo a bank?
On the published material, no bank is identified. Ultimo describes the physical card as issued through an offshore bank it does not name, and lists no licences. Unofficial starting data names a company, Silver Capital Financial s.r.o. Separately, card networks like Visa license issuers rather than issuing these cards themselves.
Which countries can get the Ultimo card?
The official pages name none, so there is no published answer. Unofficial reporting says the older Ultimo Pay Platinum card was blocked in the EU and UK, with no country list published. Russia and Belarus are not mentioned either way. The only reliable source is Ultimo’s own support desk.
Does Ultimo require KYC?
Yes — an identity check is required to open an account and again before withdrawals. The official pages do not say which documents, or whether proof of address is among them. Unofficial accounts say email, phone and identity document, without proof of address or selfie. Treat that as reviewers’ description, not company terms.
How much does the Ultimo card cost?
The card page does not state card costs; its Fees section covers exchange fees only. Unofficial reporting gives $450 issuance, $600 total including a $150 deposit, and elsewhere $550–$600. The exchange fee that is published is 1.5% all-in on buy and sell, plus 0.05% maker or 0.10% taker spot fees.
How do I top up the Ultimo card?
You fund the Ultimo balance the card is linked to. The platform supports BTC, ETH, SOL, USDT and more across nine networks including Bitcoin, Ethereum, Solana, BNB Chain, Tron, Polygon, Arbitrum, Base and Avalanche. Unofficial reporting says top-up is free, with 1% for an immediate USD transfer versus free for 72 hours. Check the network before sending.
Can I add Ultimo to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Not according to unofficial reporting, which lists Apple Pay and Google Pay as unsupported. The official pages do not address mobile wallets, and the platform is a web app at app.ultimox.io. App store listings and ratings are not stated either. If a phone wallet is essential to you, this rules the card out.
Is the Ultimo card safe?
There is no security guarantee here, only a set of facts to weigh. The custody model is not stated; unofficial reporting names BitGo, Shiftmarket and Fireblocks. The issuing bank and registration country are not named, no licences are listed, and a Trustpilot review from August 2026 reports cards and funds locked after a move to ultimox.io. Custody also carries the category’s known counterparty risk.
Can I use the Ultimo card in my country?
That depends on where you are and on facts Ultimo does not publish. A card issued in one country can look foreign to merchants elsewhere and may be declined, since some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards after a BIN lookup. Address verification is also generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. Ask support which countries are served before you plan a budget.
Is the Ultimo card worth it?
On the evidence I found, not as a first crypto card or a place to hold meaningful value — 3.7 out of 10. It may be worth it as a spending tool for someone already comfortable with offshore crypto platforms, who accepts the 1.5% all-in exchange fee and does not need a phone wallet. Start small, test the full loop, and keep the balance low.
Exchange card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
