The Bitunix card is a virtual Visa that spends your USDT. Here is how the fees, limits and KYC rules actually work.
The Bitunix card is a virtual Visa debit card built for people who already keep USDT on the Bitunix exchange and want to spend that balance in the real world without first cashing out to a bank. It launched on 16 July 2026 as a virtual-only product, with a physical card planned for a later phase. At launch, USDT is the only cryptocurrency the card supports, the conversion to USD happens at a 1:1 rate on the card, and spending draws from a separate Card Account inside the Bitunix app.
This review looks at what the card actually costs to use, who can sign up, how the top-up flow works, and where it falls short. The verdict up front: it is a narrow tool aimed at a specific audience, and outside that audience the same money probably buys a more useful card.
Conditions on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The Bitunix card earns 5.3 out of 10. That score reflects a product that is genuinely free to issue and has no monthly or annual fee, but is held back by a single funding source, the lack of a physical card or ATM access, a relatively unknown card issuer, and exchange-level trust signals that are mixed rather than reassuring. It is a reasonable choice if you already trade on Bitunix, hold your funds in USDT there, and mostly spend online; it is a poor choice if you want a general-purpose payment card.

Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Covering 80 listed countries (and not exhaustive), but excludes the US, Canada, France, Turkey, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Brazil and others |
| Cost | 6 / 10 | No issuance, monthly or annual fee, but 1.5% FX markup, 0.5% cross-border fee and a USD 1 inactivity charge after 12 months |
| Top-up options | 3 / 10 | Only USDT from Spot, Futures or Earn; no direct blockchain deposits and no bank transfer |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer unnamed, licences not stated; Bitunix exchange has 3.7/5 on Trustpilot with reports of account freezes and regulatory attention |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa only at launch, ATM not supported, but mobile wallets (Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay) and major regional wallets (WeChat Pay, Alipay, PayPal, LINE Pay, GrabPay) are listed |
For Bitunix exchange users who already hold USDT and want to spend it online, the card is worth a serious look. For anyone else, the funding limitations and the absence of a physical card make it a side option rather than a primary one.
Will they give you the card
The card is governed by Bitunix’s “Restricted Jurisdictions” list, which the help center describes as not exhaustive and which may include additional countries. The list names around 80 countries and regions. The headline names to know are the United States, Canada, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Cyprus, Serbia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Brazil, Israel, the Russian Federation and Belarus. Because the list is explicitly not closed, an application from a country that is not on the list can still be rejected.

The rule is by residence rather than by nationality. That is the standard approach for a regulated card programme, and it is the reason the help center repeatedly emphasises where you live rather than what passport you hold. If you move to a restricted country, the existing card may stop working or become unusable for new top-ups.
Beyond the country check, the card sits behind Bitunix’s standard identity verification. You will need to complete KYC and confirm a residential address before you can apply. The exact documents the card application asks for, the age floor, the card-specific verification levels, the processing time, and the reasons an application might be refused are not stated on the card pages, so the only safe assumption is that the exchange’s existing KYC rules apply and that the card adds a second check on top.
The audience Bitunix has in mind is clear from the funding model. This is a card for existing Bitunix users, not a general-purpose crypto card pitched at the wider public. If you do not already have a verified Bitunix account, the card is not a reason to open one on its own.
How to get it
The application flow is the standard exchange-plus-card pattern: sign up on Bitunix, complete identity verification including a residential address, then apply for the card from inside the app. On approval, a virtual card is issued and the card details appear in Card Management.
There is no separate card app; the card lives inside the Bitunix app you already use for trading. That keeps the setup simple, but it also means card support runs through the same channels as exchange support, which is part of the reliability story covered later.
At launch only a virtual card exists. Bitunix describes a physical card as “Phase Two” and says applications for it are not yet open. When the physical card does become available, the help center gives an expected delivery window of 7 to 20 business days, with fees that depend on the delivery location. The fees themselves are not yet published because the programme is not open for physical applications.
Virtual card issuance is free, and so is replacement of the virtual card. Card cancellation is also free. There is no charge for closing the card in Card Management.
Card currency is not stated. The card’s behaviour is clearly USD: USDT converts to USD at 1:1 on the card, so the card balance sits in USD, and the FX markup is quoted as a percentage on top of the Visa rate. What this means is that for non-USD spending, the card converts USD into the merchant’s currency, and the 1.5% FX markup applies on top of that second conversion. The card does not appear to let you hold or spend in any fiat currency other than USD.
What it really costs
Issuance is free, the monthly fee is 0, and the annual fee is 0. That is the easy part. The harder part is the per-transaction cost, which is where a “free” card can become a quietly expensive one.
The crypto conversion fee is 0: USDT converts to USD on the card at 1:1, with no spread disclosed for that internal step. The headline FX markup is 1.5% on top of the Visa rate, and a cross-border fee of 0.5% applies on USD spending outside the US. Two regional payment methods carry their own surcharge: WeChat Pay and Alipay both add 3% on transactions over 200 CNY. For settlements under 10 USD, a small service fee of 0.3 USD per transaction applies, though the first three such transactions each month are waived. After 12 months of inactivity, the card charges USD 1 per month until it is used again.
The network fee, which is the on-chain cost of moving USDT from your Spot, Futures or Earn account to the Card Account, is charged by the blockchain, not by Bitunix. The exact network is not stated on the card pages, so the practical implication is that you pay whatever the chosen chain costs at the time, and you do not get to pick.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | 0 |
| Monthly fee | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 |
| Crypto conversion (USDT to USD) | 0 |
| FX markup (on top of Visa rate) | 1.5% |
| Cross-border fee on USD spending | 0.5% |
| WeChat Pay / Alipay surcharge | 3% on transactions over 200 CNY |
| Small-transaction service fee | 0.3 USD per transaction under 10 USD (first 3 per month waived) |
| Inactivity fee | 1 USD per month after 12 months of no transactions |
| Card replacement | 0 |
| Card cancellation | 0 |
| ATM withdrawals | Not supported in the current version |
The most common everyday cost, and the one most people will pay without noticing, is the FX markup combined with the cross-border fee. For a USD 100 purchase from a European merchant, the math looks like 100 USD converted to euros at the Visa rate, then 1.5% on top, plus 0.5% cross-border, for a combined 2% on the original dollar amount. That is a normal mark-up for a crypto card, not a competitive one.
The Alipay and WeChat Pay surcharge is the single largest variable cost on the card and the easiest one to miss. If you intend to use the card in mainland China through those two wallets, 3% on every transaction over 200 CNY will dominate everything else in your fee stack.
How to top it up
Top-up is the part of the card that most clearly narrows its audience. The only way to fund the card is to move USDT from your Bitunix Spot account, Futures account or Earn account into a separate Card Account inside the app. That is the entire funding flow.
There is no way to deposit directly from an external blockchain wallet. The card does not expose a deposit address, and the help center is explicit that external blockchain deposits are not supported. There is no bank transfer top-up either, and no option to use a different cryptocurrency. If your funds are sitting in BTC, ETH or anything other than USDT, you have to convert to USDT on the exchange first, then transfer internally to the Card Account.
The minimum top-up is not stated. The maximums line up with the card’s spending limits: USD 10,000 per transaction, USD 10,000 per day and USD 50,000 per month, and these can be adjusted in Card Management.
The practical effect is that the card is, in funding terms, a closed loop. It exists to spend USDT you already hold on Bitunix. If that description does not match your situation, this card is the wrong tool.
Withdrawing what is left on the card
The documented withdrawal path is for cashback and referral rewards, not for the main balance. The help center says you can transfer cashback from the Card Account back to your Spot account and then withdraw it. Moving the general card balance back to a withdrawable form is not described, and that omission matters if you load the card and then change your mind.
You can close the card at any time from Card Management with no fee. The terms say a positive balance will be returned under applicable law and internal procedures, which may require further identity verification, and that the funds may be held for a reasonable period to cover chargebacks. “Reasonable period” is not defined, which is the kind of phrase worth noting before you load a large amount.
Paying with it every day
Because the card is virtual-only at launch, everyday use means online and in-store contactless payments through a phone wallet, plus payments inside apps that accept Visa. The card is compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, WeChat Pay, Alipay, PayPal, LINE Pay and GrabPay, subject to each platform’s terms and regional availability. Cashback is paid in USDT to the Card Account after each transaction is settled, and the rate depends on your Bitunix VIP level.
The headline reward figure comes from a company press release distributed on 16 July 2026 (via Chainwire and reported on by Decrypt and others): up to 8% cashback on eligible spending, capped at 1,000 USDT per month, plus up to 11.6% annual yield on the balance. This is unofficial and has not been confirmed by the card’s own help pages, where the cashback tier table is left blank. The official help center does confirm the tier ladder: VIP 1 earns 1%, VIP 2 to 3 earn 2%, VIP 4 to 5 earn 4%, VIP 6 to 7 earn 6%, and VIP 8 earns 8%, with the cashback offsetting both the FX markup and the cross-border fee. The actual cashback rate, the eligible MCCs and the excluded transaction types are not detailed on the card pages, and the cap is not confirmed by the help center. Treat the headline percentages as promotional, not contractual.
The help center does say some merchant categories and cash-like transactions are excluded from cashback, but the blocked-MCC list is not published. That is a common gap in this category, and it is the reason cashback rates on crypto cards should always be read as a ceiling, not a floor.
Disputes and chargebacks
Filing a dispute is free. A formal Visa chargeback costs USD 50 per case according to the FAQ, though a separate fees article describes the same charge as per transaction. The investigation can run “several weeks and, in some cases, up to 90 days”. Unauthorised transactions have to be reported within 14 days of the transaction or posting date. Merchant refunds typically take 5 to 14 business days, and the help center recommends contacting the merchant first. The card explicitly does not guarantee chargeback rights, and cash-like transactions may be ineligible.
The 14-day reporting window is shorter than what many bank-issued cards offer, and it is worth setting a calendar reminder if you do use the card in higher-risk settings.
What can go wrong
The first thing to flag is that the card issuer is not named. The card terms call it “the Issuer” without identifying the bank or e-money institution behind the programme, and the licences that institution holds are not stated. The company name that does appear is Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., which is the entity behind Bitunix.com and which is named in the card agreement. The card agreement’s “Last updated” line shows 2026-07-22, while a separate text reference says 11 March 2026, and the restricted-jurisdictions page was updated on 8 October 2026. None of that fills in the issuer gap.
The second thing is the trust signal from the exchange itself. Bitunix’s Trustpilot profile (for the exchange, not the card) reads 3.7 stars from 819 reviews as of 20 October 2026, with 546 of those in the last 12 months. The visual star bar shows about 3.5. Common themes in reviews are slow or unhelpful customer service, a clunky mobile interface, and account freezes that require additional verification, including a report from October 2026 of about USD 440 frozen for three months. There are also October 2026 reports of withdrawal delays and disputes over forced liquidations. None of the reviews reviewed here mention the card specifically, because the card is new. The Trustpilot profile also notes that the company “has received regulatory attention”, without further detail.
The third thing is the custody model. The card terms state that “no entity assumes custody of fiat funds on behalf of users”, and that card funds are not bank deposits and are not deposit-insured. Translated: if Bitunix or the unnamed issuer fails, the money on your Card Account is not protected the way a bank balance is, and the standard safeguard of deposit insurance does not apply. The 1:1 USDT-to-USD conversion happens on the card, but the USD balance still sits at the card programme, not at a bank you have a direct relationship with.
Other security features are in line with the category. You can freeze and unfreeze the card in Card Management and the app. Spending limits are adjustable. Transactions of USD 200 or more trigger an email alert. Two-factor authentication is recommended. The card supports up to 15 third-party wallets, which is on the high side and worth keeping in mind if you care about the blast radius of a compromised phone.
Support runs through the Bitunix app (upper-right corner), the Help Center, the Contact Support form, and the Bitunix Telegram and Discord communities. There is no dedicated card support line.
What to take instead
The Bitunix card is one of several ways to spend a crypto balance through a Visa or Mastercard. Three alternatives come up most often.
| Card | Score | Funding | Headline strengths | Headline weaknesses |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bitunix | 5.3 / 10 | USDT from Bitunix Spot, Futures or Earn | Zero issuance, 0% crypto conversion, 1:1 USDT-to-USD on the card | Virtual-only at launch, single funding source, unnamed issuer |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | Bank transfer or crypto held on Coinbase | Available in all US states except Hawaii, can spend cash or crypto, optional crypto rewards on every purchase | US only, conversion spread applies on crypto-to-USD |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay | EEA coverage, euro-denominated, no OKX transaction or FX fee, up to 5% cashback on USDG | Requires a euro-denominated balance, USDC earns no cashback, monthly caps apply |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Crypto from a Young Platform account | Cashback paid in YNG tokens, tiered by Club level | Card availability, fees and limits not officially stated for the card itself |
Coinbase Card is the most useful comparison if you live in the US. It is a Visa prepaid debit card available in every US state except Hawaii, with no Coinbase transaction fees and no annual fee, and a spread applied at the moment of conversion if you choose to spend crypto. You fund it from a linked bank account or a Coinbase balance, and optional crypto rewards can be turned on in the app. The catch is that the card is US-only.
OKX is the better reference point if you are in the EEA. It launched in the EU plus Norway on 28 January 2026 (Iceland and Liechtenstein are excluded in the launch materials, even though the explainer refers to “the entire EEA”), runs on a Mastercard programme through an unnamed European licensed payment provider, and uses USDC or USDG in OKX Pay as the funding source. The explainer puts the conversion spread at 0.1% as of May 2026, although the launch press release quoted 0.4%, which is a useful reminder that fees on newer programmes can move. OKX pays cashback only on USDG spending, with monthly caps that vary by VIP level.
Young Card is a useful illustration of the same problem Bitunix has, just in a different place. Cashback is paid in YNG tokens at rates tied to Young Platform Club tiers (Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%), but card availability, fees and limits are not officially stated on the card pages, which makes a side-by-side comparison harder than it should be.
The point of the table is not that one of these cards is universally better. The point is that the question “which crypto card should I get?” turns almost entirely on where you live, which exchange you already use, and which stablecoin you hold. Bitunix wins the third of those questions only if the answer is “USDT, on Bitunix, and I live somewhere it is available”.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitunix card to an existing Bitunix user who holds most of their balance in USDT, mostly buys things online in USD or through WeChat Pay or Alipay, is comfortable with a virtual-only card, and does not need cash from an ATM. For that person, the card removes a step from the trading flow: instead of selling USDT, withdrawing to a bank, waiting for the bank transfer and then spending, the funds can be loaded and spent inside the same app, with a free virtual card and a fee structure that is at least transparent.
I would not recommend it as a primary payment card for someone who does not already use Bitunix. The funding model assumes the exchange is your home for USDT, the issuer is unnamed, the card is virtual-only, ATM access is not available in the first version, and the exchange’s Trustpilot profile is mixed. A more general-purpose crypto card, or a regular bank card funded by selling crypto, will be a better fit outside that narrow audience.
A few specific cases where the card does not fit:
- If you want to hold or spend in euros or pounds, the card balance is in USD and the FX markup will apply on every non-USD transaction.
- If you rely on ATM withdrawals, the card does not support them at launch, and the planned ATM terms (2% per transaction above a USD 100 monthly waiver, with a USD 1,500 daily and USD 15,000 monthly limit) are tied to a physical card that does not yet exist.
- If your crypto lives on a non-Bitunix wallet, you cannot deposit it directly to the card; you would have to sell or transfer to Bitunix first, which adds custody risk and time.
- If a named, regulated issuer matters to you, the card programme does not currently provide one.
For everyone else, the card is a perfectly competent tool with a very specific job, and it is best judged on how well it does that job.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitunix card?
The Bitunix card is a virtual Visa debit card issued for Bitunix exchange users. It launched on 16 July 2026 and lets you spend a balance funded by USDT held on the exchange. The card converts USDT to USD at 1:1 on the card, so the card balance sits in USD, and a physical card is planned for a later phase.
How does the Bitunix card work?
You move USDT from your Bitunix Spot, Futures or Earn account into a separate Card Account inside the Bitunix app. When you pay, the card draws on that USD balance. The card is virtual-only at launch, and it is accepted wherever Visa is accepted online and through supported mobile wallets.
Is Bitunix a bank?
No. Bitunix is a cryptocurrency exchange, and the card terms state that card funds are not bank deposits and are not deposit-insured. The card issuer is referred to as “the Issuer” and is not named on the public pages. The named company behind Bitunix.com is Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd.
Who owns Bitunix?
The public-facing company is Blue Rock Management Pte. Ltd., which is named in the card agreement. The beneficial ownership and the regulatory licences held by the company and the card issuer are not stated on the card pages.
Is the Bitunix card available in my country?
The card is available in around 80 listed countries, with the help center noting the list is not exhaustive. The US, Canada, France, Turkey, Ukraine, Singapore, Hong Kong, China, India, the UAE, Cyprus, Serbia, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Brazil, Israel, Russia and Belarus are excluded. Eligibility is based on your country of residence, not your citizenship.
How do I apply for the Bitunix card?
Sign up on Bitunix, complete identity verification including a residential address, then apply for the card from inside the app. On approval, a virtual card is issued and the card details appear in Card Management. The exact documents the card application asks for, the processing time and the rejection criteria are not stated on the card pages.
Does the Bitunix card require KYC?
Yes. KYC and a confirmed residential address are required before you can apply for the card. Card-specific verification levels, processing times and the documents that count are not stated on the public pages, so the safe assumption is that the exchange’s existing KYC rules apply, with a second check before the card is issued.
How do I add the Bitunix card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card is listed as compatible with Apple Pay, Google Pay, Samsung Pay, WeChat Pay, Alipay, PayPal, LINE Pay and GrabPay, subject to each platform’s terms. The card lives inside the Bitunix app rather than a separate card app, so the usual tokenisation flow from the Bitunix app should apply once the card is active. The exact steps vary by wallet and by region.
Is the Bitunix card free?
Issuance, replacement and cancellation are free, and there is no monthly or annual fee. The card does charge 1.5% on top of the Visa FX rate, 0.5% cross-border on USD spending, a 0.3 USD small-transaction service fee under 10 USD (first 3 per month waived), a 3% surcharge on WeChat Pay and Alipay transactions over 200 CNY, and USD 1 per month after 12 months of inactivity. Network fees for moving USDT on-chain are charged by the blockchain, not by Bitunix.
Is the Bitunix card safe?
The card uses standard safeguards: freeze and unfreeze in Card Management, adjustable spending limits, email alerts for transactions of USD 200 or more, optional two-factor authentication, and support for up to 15 third-party wallets. The card terms say funds are not bank deposits and not deposit-insured, and the issuer is not named. Bitunix’s Trustpilot profile for the exchange is mixed, and the company notes it has received regulatory attention. Safety here is a function of the exchange and the unnamed issuer, not of a deposit guarantee.
Exchange card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
