A euro IBAN and a Mastercard, wrapped in crypto card convenience — with complaints that make me hesitate
The Blackcatcard is one of those crypto cards that tries to be two things at once: a way to spend crypto, and a plain euro bank account with an IBAN. On paper, that combination is genuinely appealing. You get a Mastercard for everyday spending, a euro-denominated account with an IBAN so you can receive SEPA transfers like a normal bank customer, and a built-in crypto service for turning BTC, ETH, or USDT into spendable balance without leaving the app. Registration is reportedly open worldwide at 16 and over, and the first card costs nothing. That is the pitch, and for a lot of people it sounds like the answer to “I want a normal card but with crypto.”
But here is where I have to stop being the salesman. My overall score for Blackcatcard is 4.3 out of 10. The number is not close to a recommendation, and I want to explain exactly why before you decide it does or does not suit you. It comes down to two things: a cluster of complaints that I could not ignore, and a fee picture where the most important number — what it costs to convert your crypto — is not published at all.
Who is this for? The card suits someone in the EEA who needs a euro IBAN, is comfortable holding crypto with a provider rather than in their own wallet, and can tolerate some uncertainty. It does not suit someone whose peace of mind depends on published, fixed fees, or anyone who has been burned by a frozen withdrawal and wants certainty that it will not happen again. Let me walk you through it section by section, the same way I checked it.
*The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.*
The score at a glance
Here is how the ten points break down, with the reasoning behind each mark.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Euro IBAN account reportedly available worldwide after registration, 16+; the card itself is aimed at EEA residents |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Opening and first card are free; card top-up is 3%, a dormant-account fee of €15/month kicks in from the 7th month, but the crypto conversion fee is not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | BTC, ETH, USDT buyable for euros in-app; SEPA in is free with no stated cap, but the networks used are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | Papaya Ltd. in Malta with a named MFSA licence, yet Trustpilot sits at 1.9/5 across 744 reviews — payments blocked after funding, withdrawals suspended |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card instantly, physical card available; ATM withdrawals free in the EU up to €200/month then 1%; Apple Pay and Google Pay support not disclosed |
Adding those up gives the total: 4.3 / 10. The two pillars holding it up are everyday use and accessibility; the one dragging it down hard is reliability.
Will they give you the card?
The short answer: probably yes, but the fine print distinguishes between the account and the card, and that distinction matters more than it first appears.
Here is what I could confirm from the card’s own pages. There is no country list on the site. The personal IBAN account is described as “available straight after the successful registration,” and business accounts are offered “from most jurisdictions.” The card file distinguishes between the account and the card: the account is aimed at a global audience aged 16 and over, while the card itself is positioned for residents of the EEA (the European Economic Area). That parenthesised note about the account being global at 16+ was not confirmed on the pages I read, so treat it with a little caution.
So the practical picture is this: you can open the euro account essentially anywhere, but the actual Mastercard — the thing that lets you tap at a shop — is framed as an EEA product. If you are reading this outside the EEA, the account part may still be for you while the card part is less certain. That is one of the reasons this lands at a 5 rather than higher.
One more thing I could not find stated: what verification tier, if any, is attached to different balances. The public pages did not spell out KYC levels, which is a gap I will come back to in the risks section.
How to get it
The process itself sounds simple, but it is thinner than most card sign-ups because several important details are simply not published.
The card is a Mastercard — the pages advertise a “Free Mastercard.” Virtual cards are issued instantly. The account and IBAN are euro-denominated. If you want plastic, delivery is covered by the fee table, which confirms a physical option exists. On the identity side, though, the pages I read do not state what verification is required: the KYC position is not stated, and verification levels per balance tier are not stated either. That is worth pausing on, because EU rules normally require an e-money institution to complete customer due diligence before a customer can use the service, and the standard checks in the EU cover name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If Blackcatcard runs that process, expect to upload documents; if the public pages do not describe it, you will only find out by going through it.
On delivery, regular mail is free and takes 15–20 business days; express is 1–5 business days with the fee calculated individually. If you need a replacement card, the reissue fee is listed as either €7 or €12 — the card’s own tables disagree on which, so check at the point of ordering. Note that the €12 figure also appears elsewhere as the price of an additional card with a nickname, which may explain the discrepancy, but I could not confirm that.
The onboarding app is “Blackcatcard – My prepaid card” for iOS (id1449352913). I did not read its rating. Given the score reliability section, I would treat the app’s store presence as necessary but not sufficient.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the section where Blackcatcard asks for the most trust, because the number you most want is the one it does not publish. Let me give you every figure that is stated, then be blunt about the gap.

Here is the cost and limit table, built only from what the card discloses:
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Account opening | Free |
| First card | Free |
| Monthly maintenance | Free with one card; €2/month with additional cards |
| Additional card | €7 (€12 with a nickname) |
| Dormancy fee | €15/month from the 7th month of inactivity |
| Card top-up and card transfers | 3% |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated (“lowest fees on the market,” no figures) |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM, EU | Free up to €200/month, then 1% |
| ATM, outside EU | 1%, minimum €1.50 |
| Cash withdrawal limit | €5,000 daily, €10,000 monthly |
| Spend limits | Not stated |
| Minimum crypto purchase | 5 EUR |
| Withdrawals out (SEPA) | 5 free per month, then €0.20 |
| Account closure | Free; €50/month fee on closed accounts still holding funds |
Two lines deserve your attention. First, the dormancy fee: €15 per month from the seventh month of inactivity, on an account that also charges €50 per month if you close it while funds remain. Neither is a scam, but both are the kind of thing that quietly drains an abandoned account, so if you stop using it, close it and withdraw the balance rather than leaving it to sit.
Second, and more importantly: the crypto conversion fee and the foreign-exchange fee are both not stated. The pages say “lowest fees on the market” without a single figure. For a card whose entire purpose is converting crypto into fiat spend, that is a strange thing to leave blank. It means you cannot know, before you convert, what the conversion will cost you. Everything else in this table I can hold the card to; this I cannot, and neither, I suspect, can you.
Now let me walk through three ordinary payments to show which of these fees actually bite in daily life. These are illustrative of where the charges come from, not promises of what your own spend will cost.
- Buying a coffee in your home currency from a euro balance. If the balance is already in euros, there is no conversion and no FX line. The card simply spends the stored balance. This is the cleanest case.
- Paying for something priced in dollars while you hold euros. Here the missing FX fee comes into play. The card does not publish what it charges for currency conversion, so you are converting at a rate and markup the public pages do not disclose. This is the scenario where the cost is least predictable.
- Converting crypto to top the card up, then spending it. The card’s own 3% applies to card top-up and card transfers, and separately the undisclosed crypto conversion fee would apply to turning BTC, ETH, or USDT into euros. Because neither the conversion fee nor the exact figure is published, you could be paying two percentages you have never been shown, stacked. That is precisely why this lands at 4/10 for cost and why I did not score it higher.
Top up: how the money gets in
Topping up is where Blackcatcard is at its most flexible, and also where a careful reader needs to slow down and check the network before sending anything.

The card supports several routes. SEPA transfers into the account are free with no stated amount limit, and internal transfers in are also free with no limit. You can buy BTC, ETH, or USDT for euros through an integrated crypto service — per the card file, this runs through a partner, Manerio UAB — and the minimum crypto purchase is 5 EUR.
Here is the practical summary of the top-up routes:
- SEPA bank transfer in — free, no amount limit stated. The normal route.
- Internal transfer in — free, no limit stated.
- Buy BTC, ETH, or USDT with euros — via the integrated service, minimum 5 EUR.
But the honest note: the specific blockchain networks for crypto deposits are not stated. That sounds like a small detail until you consider what happens if you get it wrong. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. This is not a Blackcatcard quirk; it is how crypto transfers work everywhere. But because Blackcatcard does not publish which networks it accepts, you cannot verify your choice before sending. My advice, and it is not advice to break any rule: before your first crypto deposit, confirm the supported network and address with support in the app. Do not assume the network a token is usually issued on is the one this card accepts — for example, Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a given native option even though USDT has been issued on Tron.
One more cost note: network fees (gas, bandwidth) for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card, so they sit outside this card’s fee table entirely.
Getting money back out follows a similar shape. SEPA withdrawals out are 5 free per month, then €0.20 each. Closing the account is free, but a closed account that still holds funds carries the €50 monthly fee listed above. Crypto withdrawal fees are not stated.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is Blackcatcard’s strongest suit, and the 7/10 here is deserved. The virtual card is instant, so you can be paying within minutes of registering. The Mastercard network means it works wherever Mastercard is accepted. ATM withdrawals are generous in the EU — free up to €200 a month, then 1% — and outside the EU it is 1% with a €1.50 minimum. Cash withdrawal limits are €5,000 daily and €10,000 monthly.
Two things you should know before you picture yourself tapping all day. First, spend limits are not stated. Cash withdrawal caps are published; the ceiling on card purchases is not. Second, Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed, and for many people tokenised mobile wallets are how a card actually lives day to day. I could not confirm either, so if wallet support is important to you, ask.
The card does advertise some rewards: “up to 5% cashback,” an “Up to 4% p.a. reward,” and “2% cashback on Amazon.” But the paid-in currency and the conditions attached to these offers are not stated, so treat the headline percentages as a ceiling with conditions attached rather than a guaranteed return.
There is also a dispute mechanism, with a “Transaction claim without grounds” fee of €10. The time frames for making a claim are not stated. In the EU, a chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer to settle a dispute, and reason codes include fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. But a €10 fee for an unjustified claim, and no published clock on how long you have, are worth remembering if a payment goes wrong.
Which crypto assets and networks the card supports, and whether wallets are involved, is not stated — so the daily mechanics are simpler than the crypto side, which is largely hidden behind the integrated service.
What can go wrong
This is where I have to be most direct, and where the 2/10 reliability score comes from.
The core of the concern is the volume and consistency of complaints. Reading user reports on Trustpilot as of 2026-10-21, the TrustScore is 1.9 out of 5 across 744 reviews, with 56% one-star. The recurring themes: payments and outgoing transfers being blocked or cancelled shortly after the account is funded (examples cited span May through October 2026), withdrawals being suspended, problems closing accounts, and generic support replies. A separate user report lists specific dates — 8 May, 27 June, 28 July, 4 September, 25 September, 2 October 2026 — on which outgoing transfers and card payments were declined or cancelled after money arrived, alongside suspended withdrawals, account closures, and scam allegations. I found no official incident notice to place alongside these. I am presenting these as user reports, not as verified institutional findings, but a 1.9 across 744 reviews is not a rounding error I can hand-wave.
Some of that may be unavoidable when anti-money-laundering and sanctions screening are running in the background. Under EU rules, if customer due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. So a blocked payment is not automatically evidence of wrongdoing; it can be compliance working as intended, or it can be friction, and from the outside those two look identical. That does not make the experience acceptable, but it does mean you should not assume the worst about any single block — and equally, you should not assume it will resolve quickly.
Now the counterparty and custody side. The provider is Papaya Ltd., 31 Sliema Road, Gzira GZR 1637, Malta, authorised and regulated as an Electronic Money Institution by the MFSA, registration number C55146. That is a real, named regulator, which is the single most reassuring fact in this review. But two caveats ride with it. First, the funds are not covered by the Depositor Compensation Scheme — e-money is not a bank deposit, and even though an EMI must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, that safeguarding is not the same as deposit guarantee. Second, the wallet model is custodial: your funds sit in an e-money account, and the private keys are held by “a licensed institution” rather than by you. With a custodial wallet, whoever holds the key controls the crypto, so you must trust the provider completely. Crypto transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery path. Custodial platforms have a real history of loss — Mt. Gox (roughly US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022) — so holding funds with a custodian carries real counterparty and hack risk.
The rest of the risk picture is more ordinary. Support is “24/7 Live customer support” via chat, and PIN recovery is through that in-app support. On the payments side, note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to 7. And on regulatory timing, the MiCA transitional period means providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — so this card’s regulatory footing is in a period of transition you may want to track. There is no way for me to tell you where Blackcatcard stands in that transition from the pages I read; the authorisation status is not something I confirmed. If it matters to you, ESMA maintains an interim public register of authorised crypto-asset service providers that you can check.
One everyday safety point I will add, because it applies to any card with a published foreign-issued BIN: merchants can look up the issuer country from the card number, and some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright, or apply extra scrutiny. So even a fully funded, in-limit card can fail at a terminal for reasons that have nothing to do with your balance.
Alternatives worth comparing
Before you settle on Blackcatcard, it is fair to look at what else is out there, because the 4.3 is not the only score in the category. Three comparators, all with euro or USD accounts and crypto or stablecoin funding, come out ahead on my scale. Here they are with their scores:
| Card | Score | Key strengths | Key caveats |
|---|---|---|---|
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Zero FX fees/markups, self-custodial wallet, free USDC/USDG/EURC on Solana, Visa, “over 140 countries” | Eligibility by residence not citizenship; fully virtual for now; card “available only in certain countries” (list not published) |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | Visa, deposits of any kind free, no maintenance on Classic, explicit 2% FX fee, wide deposit rails (USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow) | Long exclusion list (Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam); physical card “coming soon” |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | No annual fee, no foreign-transaction fee, live OTC rates, Mastercard, “up to 3%” spend-to-earn | Eligibility not stated; physical/virtual and top-up details not stated |
Where each of these beats Blackcatcard is specific, and worth naming so you can weigh them honestly.
Morse (7.5) is the one I would look at first if transparency and self-custody matter to you. It charges “zero foreign exchange fees or markups” at the real Visa rate, spends are free online and contactless, and the wallet is self-custodial — which reverses Blackcatcard’s biggest structural weakness. USDC, USDG, and EURC transfers on Solana are free; other tokens and chains carry a fee. Its trade-off is eligibility: it works by residence, requires you to be 18+ and resident in a supported country, and cannot serve customers under US, UK, EU, or UN sanctions. It also cannot serve anyone subject to those sanctions, and a list of closed-beta countries need an invite code.
International Visa Card (6.7) at least publishes its FX fee — “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” — which is exactly the clarity Blackcatcard withholds. It is a US-issued Platinum Visa (virtual, pays in USD; physical “coming soon”), issuance is $5 once, Classic has no maintenance fee, and deposits of any kind are free. The catch is a long exclusion list of countries for residents and registrants, and purchases are blocked in several of them. So it is a strong, transparent option inside its footprint and closed outside it.
UNi Card (6.1) is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global balance, with “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee,” assets converted at live OTC rates and “no hidden exchange fees,” plus “up to 3%” spend-to-earn rewards. Its eligibility, top-up methods, and physical/virtual format are not stated, which is why it sits below the other two despite attractive fee language.
I will not pretend these are interchangeable — eligibility rules differ sharply — but the comparison is the point: Blackcatcard’s fee opacity and custodial model are not forced on you by the category.
Who I would recommend it to
Coming back to the bottom line. Blackcatcard suits a specific person: someone in the EEA who wants a euro IBAN and a Mastercard in one place, is buying modest amounts of BTC, ETH, or USDT rather than managing a large crypto position, is comfortable with a custodial wallet and with published support via chat, and can live with a conversion fee they learn about only at the point of conversion. For that person, the free first card, free SEPA in, 3% top-up, and €200/month free EU ATM withdrawals add up to a workable everyday card.
I would not recommend it to you if any of the following are true. You are trying to move meaningful sums and a blocked withdrawal would hurt you. You need published, fixed costs — this card does not publish its crypto conversion fee or its FX fee, and that is disqualifying if you budget. You hold crypto you cannot afford to lose and want self-custody, because this wallet is custodial and the deposits go to a Malta e-money institution, not to your own keys. You depend on Apple Pay or Google Pay, which are not disclosed. Or you have been burned before by a frozen withdrawal and need certainty — because a 1.9 Trustpilot score across 744 reviews, dominated by exactly that complaint, is the opposite of certainty.
The honest summary: the card’s convenience is real, the account-plus-card idea is genuinely useful, and the regulated Maltese provider is a plus. But the two things you would want most before committing — what conversion really costs, and whether your money will move when you need it — are exactly the two Blackcatcard has not answered. At 4.3 / 10, I would call it interesting rather than advisable, and if I were choosing today I would spend my first ten minutes on Morse and the International Visa Card instead, purely to see a card that publishes its FX fee.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Blackcatcard card?
It is a prepaid Mastercard paired with a euro-denominated account that has an IBAN. You get a virtual card instantly and can order a physical one. The account can reportedly receive SEPA transfers like an ordinary bank account, and the app includes a service to buy BTC, ETH, or USDT with euros and load them as spendable balance.
How does Blackcatcard actually work day to day?
It works like a prepaid card. You top up the balance by SEPA transfer, internal transfer, or by buying crypto in-app, and the card spends only that stored balance. Because it draws on a pre-loaded balance, the card cannot overdraw — but each conversion or currency exchange may carry a fee, and the crypto conversion fee is not published.
Is Blackcatcard a bank, and who owns it?
No, it is not a bank. It is issued by Papaya Ltd., registered at 31 Sliema Road, Gzira GZR 1637, Malta, authorised and regulated as an Electronic Money Institution by the MFSA under registration number C55146. Funds are held in e-money accounts and are not covered by the Depositor Compensation Scheme, so they are not protected as bank deposits would be.
Who can get the card, and does it need KYC?
The euro IBAN account is described as available worldwide after successful registration, 16+, while the card itself is aimed at EEA residents. The card’s public pages do not state what identity verification is required or what verification levels apply, although EU rules normally require e-money institutions to complete customer due diligence, including identity documents and a sanctions check, before you can use the service.
What does Blackcatcard cost to use?
Opening the account and the first card are free. Card top-up and card transfers are 3%. ATM withdrawals are free in the EU up to €200 a month, then 1%, and 1% elsewhere with a €1.50 minimum. Critically, the crypto conversion fee and the foreign-exchange fee are not stated, so the true cost of converting crypto or spending in another currency is not something the card publishes.
How do I add money, and what about crypto networks?
You can receive SEPA transfers and internal transfers free with no stated limit, or buy BTC, ETH, or USDT for euros in-app with a 5 EUR minimum. The specific blockchain networks for crypto deposits are not stated, which matters because transfers are irreversible — sending on an unsupported network or to the wrong address can mean the funds are lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.
Is Blackcatcard safe, and can I use Apple Pay?
The provider is a regulated Malta e-money institution, which is reassuring, but the wallet is custodial: a licensed institution holds the private keys, and the funds sit in an e-money account with no deposit guarantee, so you are trusting the provider rather than holding your own keys. On mobile wallets, Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed, so confirm before relying on it.
Why do reviews mention blocked payments and frozen withdrawals?
The dominant complaint on Trustpilot is a TrustScore of 1.9 out of 5 across 744 reviews, 56% one-star, with users reporting payments and transfers blocked after funding, suspended withdrawals, and account-closure problems across May–October 2026. Some blocking can be normal compliance screening, but the volume and consistency of the reports are why I scored reliability so low.
Is the card worth it, and how are the rewards?
For someone in the EEA who wants a euro IBAN with a Mastercard and modest crypto spending, the free first card and free SEPA deposits make it usable. The advertised rewards — “up to 5% cashback,” “Up to 4% p.a. reward,” and “2% cashback on Amazon” — come with conditions and a paid-in currency that are not stated, so treat them as a conditional ceiling rather than a guaranteed return.
What should I check before deciding?
Check three things: the supported crypto deposit networks, because they are not published and mistakes are irreversible; the current FX and conversion cost, because neither is disclosed; and whether payments you rely on will clear, given the pattern of user complaints. If any of those three is unresolved for you, one of the alternatives that publishes its fees outright is the safer place to start.
App and neobank card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
