A cheap virtual USD card for dollar earners, thin on detail and thin on plastic
The Cleva card is a virtual Visa card you load from a crypto or dollar balance and spend online. On paper it is one of the plainer cards in this category: $3 to create it, no monthly fee, $0.80 per authorisation, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a stated 2% plus $0.80 on international payments. The catch is not the price list — it is how little the public pages say. There is no published country list, no ATM, no physical card, and no named card issuer. If you are a freelancer in Nigeria or the US paid in dollars, the arithmetic works and the card does its job. If you are anywhere else and you are trying to work out whether you qualify before you spend half an hour on identity documents, you will finish this page less certain than you started.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 out of 10
I scored this one at 5.8 out of 10. That is a middling number, and it is worth being precise about where it comes from: the price list is genuinely good, the reliability signals are strong, and the everyday-use story is thin. The reason it is not a seven is the gaps. A card that will not tell you which countries it serves, that has no ATM and no physical card, that does not state its daily limits, and that charges a flat $2 for a stablecoin deposit, is a tool for a specific person rather than a general-purpose card.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | No country list published; KYC guides only for Nigeria and the US; earlier checks mentioned Africa and the US |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Card creation $3, no subscription, international transaction 2% + $0.80, card funding $0 |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USD wallet: USDT/USDC deposit $2.00, US debit card free, ACH, wire; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Licensed US partners, MSB registration with FinCEN; Trustpilot 4.7/5 from 126 reviews; App Store 4.7/5 from 1.5K ratings |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual USD only; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no ATM |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | Strong on price and stability, thin on coverage and detail |
The audience this suits is narrow and clear: freelancers in Nigeria and the US who get paid in dollars and want a virtual card number to spend that money on subscriptions and websites without opening a US bank account. The audience it does not suit is anyone outside those two countries hoping the card will work anyway, anyone who needs cash from an ATM, anyone who wants a physical card in the post, and anyone who plans to convert large amounts of crypto frequently.
Two things to weigh before you read on. First, this is a custodial product: your balance sits with licensed US-based financial partners, not in a wallet you control. That is the ordinary model for this category and it has trade-offs, which I cover in the risks section. Second, the $2 flat deposit fee on stablecoins is the single number most likely to surprise you. If you were planning to move money in ten small amounts, that structure is expensive. If you move it once and spend it down, it is irrelevant.
Will they give you the card?
Not stated — and this is the honest answer rather than a hedge. Cleva does not publish a country list. The help centre carries KYC guides for Nigeria and the United States only. An earlier check I did pointed at Africa, including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda and Kenya, plus the US, but the current pages do not repeat that.
So how do you actually read that? Two ways. The site says accounts can receive USD, GBP and EUR “regardless of where you’re based”, which sounds wider than the documentation supports. That line describes the currency side of the account, not the eligibility side. My reading, and it is only a reading: if you are not in Nigeria or the United States, the documentation will not tell you what to send, the billing-address rules differ or are unknown, and you may burn a verification attempt on documents the system will not accept. Verification here is single-step with published rejection reasons, so a wrong document type is a real cost.
What differs by country is the address, and that turns out to matter more than it sounds:
- Nigeria. The billing address comes from your verified KYC data — you do not type it in yourself.
- United States. The billing address is provided by Cleva, not by you.
That asymmetry is unusual and worth knowing before you start. It also means the card is closer to a US-market product with a Nigeria track record bolted on than a global one.
There is one further note on the regulatory side, and I would treat it as informal: Cleva states it holds an IMTO licence from the Central Bank of Nigeria, in a blog post of no stated date. Stated by the company, undated, and I could not confirm it from an independent source in what I read.
How to get it
Identity verification is required to open the USD account. There is one verification step, no tiers published. The sequence is: sign up by email, verify your identity, open the USD account, create the card for a $3 fee.
Documents per country, as the card states them:
- Nigeria. International passport, voter’s card, driver’s licence or NIN number, the original physical ID, plus a live selfie.
- United States. International passport, ID card, driver’s licence or residence permit, SSN, an address that must match your ID including the unit number, a Stripe Link connection, plus a live selfie.
Separate proof-of-address documents and an age check: not stated. That gap is worth noticing. Address verification in the US KYC flow runs through the ID document itself, so you may not be asked for a separate bill — but you should not assume it, and if the app asks, expect to send it.
Rejected for what? The published reasons are: details that do not match your ID; a blurry, cropped or unreadable image; an unsupported ID type or format, specifically expired, photocopied, screenshotted, scanned or digital documents; and a failed facial check. That last list is the one to read twice. A scan of a passport photographed on a screen will be refused, which catches people out.
Timing is unevenly reported. For the US, verification is said to take “only a few minutes”. For Nigeria, no timeframe is stated.
The card itself
Virtual, multiple cards allowed, design customisable, currency USD, one card type called “Classic”. Visa acceptance is stated as “150 million+ merchants worldwide where Visa is accepted” — which is Visa’s own reach rather than a promise about your particular subscription. Delivery is not applicable; this card does not exist in plastic.
The limits that are published: a per-transaction spending limit you set yourself, from $1 to $3,000, and up to 3 cards within 90 days. Daily and monthly limits are not stated. There is a card security behaviour you should know: the card may be closed after 15 consecutive declines for insufficient funds, and a successful spend of $0.5 or more resets that counter after 24 hours. In practice that means a subscription that retries a few times a month is not the danger; a card with a genuinely empty balance and several renewals queued is.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the strongest part of the card. Card creation is $3, there is no monthly fee listed, and one card type exists, so there is no upsell to resist. Note once and for all: where the card’s public pages do not state something — ATM fees, crypto conversion rate on the card, daily and monthly limits — I say so rather than guess.

| Fee or limit | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Card creation | $3 |
| Monthly fee | None listed |
| Card authorisation | $0.80 per transaction |
| International transaction (non-US sites) | 2% + $0.80 |
| Card funding | $0 |
| Decline | $0 |
| ATM | Not stated (virtual card for online payments) |
| Per-transaction spending limit | $1 to $3,000, set by you |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated |
| Card dispute fee | $50 per card dispute |
Now three everyday payments, with the fees applied as stated:
A $30 subscription from a US site, monthly. Authorisation fee $0.80. Card funding $0. International fee does not apply, because the fee is on non-US sites. Total: $30.80.
A €40 purchase from a European site. International transaction: 2% plus $0.80 on the converted amount. The card does not state what rate it converts euros at, so the dollar total moves with the rate on the day — I cannot give you a figure, because the card does not give one. Roughly $0.80 of fixed fee plus the 2% on whatever the dollar amount turns out to be.
A $12 purchase from a merchant that declines the card first, then succeeds on retry. Decline $0. The $0.80 authorisation fee is charged per transaction, so the two attempts are two authorisations and two fees, unless the second attempt happens to be treated as the same one. This is the case that makes people think the fee is higher than it is: your monthly bill is not the sum of your shopping, it is the sum of your attempts.
The currency point is worth expanding once, because it is where the fee table ends and the app begins. The card is USD and spends from the USD wallet. Separately, the app notes say it works in multiple currencies — naira, dirhams, pounds, euros — with automatic conversion, and the account also offers USD, GBP and EUR accounts. So there are two layers: the card always spends dollars, and the app may convert into dollars for you. How the second layer is priced is not stated on the pages I read.
Top up: where the money comes from
The card spends directly from the Cleva USD wallet, so topping up is really funding that wallet. The routes and their stated prices:

| Top-up route | Fee as stated |
|---|---|
| USDT / USDC deposit | $2.00 flat, “regardless of amount”; payments under $2 are charged $1 |
| US debit card | Free |
| ACH and FedNow | 0.8%, minimum $2.00, maximum $5.00 |
| Wire | $10.00 |
| GBP / EUR deposit | 0.8%, minimum $2.00, maximum $10.00, auto-converted to USD |
| Upwork deposits | Free |
The stablecoin deposit is changing to a “$2 flat fee, regardless of amount”. Note what that means: it is flat per deposit, not a percentage. A payment under $2 is charged $1 instead. Minimum deposit is not stated, and neither is who pays the on-chain network fee — that one is easy to miss, because the blockchain charges it separately from the card provider. Networks for USDT and USDC are not named on the card’s pages, and that is the single most important practical omission in this section. Sending on the wrong network is how funds go missing in this category: transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or sent to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Before you send anything, check the network inside the app against the network your exchange is about to send on. Take the screenshot.
The bank routes are the better deal for larger sums: ACH and FedNow cap at $5.00 however much you send, and a US debit card costs nothing. The wire at $10.00 is the expensive door and, for most people, an unnecessary one.
On the way out, the card has an FAQ entry for a fee to convert from USD and pay out, but the amount is not readable where I looked. Transfers to local bank accounts are advertised as free, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated.
Paying with it every day
Two or three things define the daily experience, and none of them is glamorous.
It goes into your phone. The card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which for a virtual card is the difference between usable and not. The number is replaced by a device-specific token stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. If you lose the card, freezing it in the app is the first move.
Some merchants will not take it. Some merchant categories are unsupported by merchant category code, and the list is not given. Examples of merchants stated as working include Amazon, Upwork, PayPal, Claude, OpenAI, TikTok and Meta. The mechanism behind the refusals is the one that catches everyone: a merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued the card, and apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common cause of declines. That is a general feature of how cards work, not a defect of this one, but it lands harder on a virtual card with no US billing address.
There are no rewards on the card. No card cashback is stated. Cleva Points, which are cashback on transactions redeemable for USD, and USD Savings up to 3% per year, are account features rather than card rewards — a distinction worth keeping in mind if a comparison puts them next to a card’s own cashback.
The app exists on iOS and Android. App Store rating 4.7 out of 5 from 1.5K ratings, read on 2026-10-21; the Google Play rating I did not read. Support is described as a 24/7 team, reachable by in-app chat and at [email protected], with a help centre at help.getcleva.com.
If something goes wrong with a payment, the dispute fee is $50 per card dispute. The chargeback process and time frames are not stated. That is a large number relative to a $3 card creation fee, and it is the number I would most want a straight answer on before disputing anything.
What can go wrong
No official incidents came up in what I checked. That is worth saying, because in this category the opposite is usually true — a card programme suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, an exchange collapse ending a card programme in November 2022.
On the company’s structure. The App Store seller is Cleva Technologies, Inc. The site says funds are “securely processed by our licensed U.S-based financial partners” — those partners are not named — and that it is registered as a Money Service Business with FinCEN, which is the US registration for money transmitters. The card issuer is not named. In practice a crypto card sits on top of somebody else’s licence: the network routes the payments, a licensed issuer holds the card programme, and the brand is often only the front end. You are trusting a company you cannot fully see through, and it is fair to be clear-eyed about that rather than pretend the MSB registration settles it.
On custody. Your balance is held with licensed US partners, not by you. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials — so you must trust the provider completely. The reason this matters is history: custodial platforms have failed repeatedly, and blockchain transfers have no built-in recovery. If you are moving money you cannot afford to lose, the self-custody route, where funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, is a different risk profile — you accept key-loss and phishing risk in exchange.
On freezes and reversals. The app lets you freeze and unfreeze the card, with unfreezing requiring a security PIN or authentication code; a user-set spending limit gives you a ceiling; and the failed-transaction limit before termination was raised from 3 to 10 in app version 2.3.0. Two-factor authentication is not stated on the pages I read. On reversals, a declined authorisation can leave a hold that stays for several days, typically up to 7 — so a failed payment may still tie up money that you have already counted as spent elsewhere. And frozen accounts are not unusual in this category: if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require an institution to hold off, and where necessary end, the relationship.
On complaints. Trustpilot shows 4.7 out of 5 from 126 reviews, 124 of them in the last 12 months, read on 2026-10-21, with 5% one-star. These are user reports, not audited data, and the themes are worth weighing because they are specific: fees too high (13 October 2026), verification described as thorough or challenging (27 September 2026), and resolution time by support (14 October 2026, minor). The page’s AI summary also mentions balance discrepancies and slow resolution without a date, and cites a user saying an account was closed without reason, also undated. Taken together: people like the reliability of the platform and dislike the price of moving money and the strictness of verification. That matches what the fee table shows you.
On pricing changes. New ACH and FedNow pricing applies from 7 August 2026, and the stablecoin deposit fee is moving to $2 flat. Neither is alarming, but both are examples of the number you check today not being the number you keep.
On where you stand with tax. Not advice, just the structural point: digital assets are treated as property by the IRS, and gain is measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal with its own result. I am not qualified to tell you what that means for you — take it to an accountant.
What to take instead
Three alternatives I looked at, with their own scores. None is a clear substitute for Cleva; they trade different things.
International Visa Card — 6.7 out of 10. A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card “coming soon”. $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance fee, plans from Classic free to Pro $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency is charged at the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee; deposits of any kind are free. Its advantage over Cleva is a published country list and a published restriction list — the account and card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases blocked in seven of those. Note that the rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. If your problem is “can I be certain about my own eligibility”, this is the card that answers it.
Morse — 7.5 out of 10. The strongest of the three on the numbers. Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from the balance in any currency. Zero foreign exchange fees or markups at the real-time Visa rate, and paying with the card online and contactless is free. Deposits by debit card, stablecoin transfer or bank details; USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free while other tokens and blockchains carry a fee; and the wallet is self-custodial, which removes the counterparty risk that sits under a custodial card. The catch is that eligibility is by residence and the card is available only in certain countries, with the list not published on the card page — you check in the app. It is in closed beta in some countries needing an invite code, including Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye and the United Kingdom. Issuance and monthly fees are not stated; the card page simply says fees may apply. The self-custody point is the reason I would not dismiss it despite the missing list.
UNi Card — 6.1 out 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converted at live OTC rates and, it says, no hidden exchange fees. Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% with the card. Eligibility, funding routes and physical-versus-virtual are not stated.
| Cleva | International Visa Card | Morse | UNi Card | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.8 | 6.7 | 7.5 | 6.1 |
| Card type | Virtual Visa, USD | Virtual U.S. Platinum Visa | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit | Multicurrency Mastercard |
| Card creation | $3 | $5 one-time | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | None listed | None (tiered plans) | Not stated | No annual fee |
| Foreign payment | 2% + $0.80 | Visa rate + 2% FX | Zero FX, real Visa rate | No FX fee, live OTC rate |
| Rewards | None on the card | None stated | Not stated | Up to 3% |
| Custody | Custodial, US partners | Not stated | Self-custodial | Not stated |
| Eligibility clarity | No country list published | Published list and blocklist | By residence, list not published | Not stated |
The pattern: Cleva is the cheapest to open and among the cheapest to use, with the least information published. Morse scores highest and is the only one of the four whose custody model puts your funds in your own wallet.
Who I would recommend it to
To a freelancer in Nigeria or the US, paid in dollars, paying for software and online services: yes, with the $2 deposit in mind. Create the card once, add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, fund it through ACH or a US debit card where you can, and treat the stablecoin route as the option for when the money genuinely arrives as stablecoins.
To someone outside those two countries: not yet. Check with support before you send documents, because the country list is not published and a failed verification costs you more than an email.
To someone who needs cash, a physical card, a cheap dispute, or frequent small top-ups: no. There is no ATM, no physical card, the dispute fee is $50, and a $2 flat fee per stablecoin deposit punishes exactly that pattern.
And to anyone who wants their own keys: this is not that card. It is custodial, and there are alternatives that are not.
Frequently asked questions
What is Cleva?
Cleva is a virtual Visa card that spends from a USD wallet you top up with stablecoins, bank transfers or a US debit card. There is no physical card — you get a card number you add to Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card currency is USD, and Cleva also offers GBP and EUR accounts alongside it. Card creation is $3 with no monthly fee.
Is Cleva a bank?
No — and the distinction is worth keeping clear. Cleva Technologies, Inc. is the company behind the app, and the site says funds are processed by licensed U.S.-based financial partners, though it does not name them. Cleva states it is registered as a Money Service Business with FinCEN. The card issuer is not named, so treat it as a card programme run on top of someone else’s licence.
Who owns Cleva?
The App Store lists the seller as Cleva Technologies, Inc. Beyond that, the public pages do not set out ownership, funding or the identity of the card issuer, and the financial partners holding the funds are not named either. If ownership structure matters to your decision, that is a question to put to support directly before you fund the account.
Which countries is the Cleva card available in?
Not stated — Cleva does not publish a country list. The help centre has KYC guides for Nigeria and the United States only, and an earlier check I did mentioned Africa, including Nigeria, Ghana, Uganda and Kenya, plus the US. The site says accounts can receive USD, GBP and EUR “regardless of where you’re based”, but that describes the currency, not eligibility.
Does the Cleva card require KYC?
Yes. Opening the USD account requires identity verification with a live selfie and an original physical ID. Nigeria accepts an international passport, voter’s card, driver’s licence or NIN number; the US accepts a passport, ID card, driver’s licence or residence permit plus SSN and a matching address. Expired, photocopied, screenshotted, scanned and digital documents are refused, as are images that are blurry or cropped.
How do I top up the Cleva card?
The card spends from the USD wallet, so you fund the wallet. Options are a USDT or USDC deposit at $2.00 flat, a US debit card free, ACH or FedNow at 0.8% with a $2.00 minimum and $5.00 maximum, a wire at $10.00, and GBP or EUR at 0.8% with a $2.00 minimum and $10.00 maximum, auto-converted to USD. Upwork deposits are free.
How much does a Cleva card cost to use?
Card creation is $3 with no monthly fee, and each authorisation costs $0.80. Funding the card itself is $0 and a decline is $0. International transactions on non-US sites add 2% plus $0.80. There is no card cashback stated. One cost to watch is the dispute fee of $50 per card dispute, with the process and time frames not stated.
Is the Cleva card safe?
There are real safeguards: licensed US-based partners, MSB registration with FinCEN, instant freeze and unfreeze in the app, a user-set spending limit, and a raised failed-transaction tolerance. But the balance is custodial — the provider holds the credentials, so you trust them completely — and I found no official incidents. Trustpilot shows 4.7 out of 5 from 126 reviews, with reports about fees, strict verification and support resolution time.
Can I add the Cleva card to Apple Wallet?
Yes. The card can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which for a virtual card is the practical way to use it. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific token in the phone’s Secure Element and uses a one-time dynamic code per payment. Some merchants are declined regardless — a category list is not published, and foreign-issued cards commonly fail address verification.
Is the Cleva card worth it?
For a dollar-earning freelancer in Nigeria or the US paying subscriptions, yes: $3 to open, $0.80 per authorisation, free ACH and debit-card funding, and no monthly fee. If you top up often in small stablecoin amounts, the $2 flat deposit makes it poor value, and outside those two countries you are guessing about eligibility because no country list is published.
App and neobank card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
