CryptoCourse: free card, closed border
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
CryptoCourse is a crypto card that Belarusians can use to turn crypto into ordinary spending money in Belarusian roubles, US dollars or euros. The card is issued by BSB Bank, the Belarusian-Swiss bank, and the crypto side runs through the Whitebird exchange. The app works worldwide; the card does not. That single fact decides most of what follows, because if you are not a citizen of Belarus, this is not your card no matter how well the app loads on your phone.
I scored it 4.6 out of 10. That is not a bad score for a narrow product — it is a bad score for a general one. For a Belarusian who already holds crypto and wants a Visa card that spends it in roubles, the fee profile is genuinely good: no annual fee, free top-ups, free withdrawals at BSB’s own ATMs. Against that, three things hold it down. The card’s public pages do not tell you what the crypto exchange charges, only that the figure lives inside the app. The wallet keys sit with a third-party guarantor, so this is custody, not self-custody. And the only user signal I could find anywhere is an App Store rating of 2.8 out of 5 from 32 ratings, which is thin and angry, and thin and angry is not nothing.
So read this as a review of a Belarusian product, not a review of crypto cards in general. Below I walk through who gets the card, what the sign-up asks of you, what each payment really costs, how the top-up works, what goes wrong, and what I would tell a friend to pick instead.
Who the card is for, and who it will not be issued to
The card is for citizens of Belarus. The Terms of Use describe bank identification only for “citizens of the Republic of Belarus”, carried out through the Interbank Identification System (MSI), a shared identification mechanism between Belarusian banks. The app itself may be used “on the territory of all countries in the world” — anywhere in the world — but that sentence covers the app, not the card. The card is the part that requires the bank identification, and that identification is described only for Belarusian citizens.

One unofficial detail circulates in the other direction of the same claim. Product pages on myfin.by say the card is only for citizens of Belarus holding a Belarusian passport. Those pages are undated and are not the card’s own pages, so treat the passport wording as unofficial and unconfirmed by the issuer.
What this means in practice: a Belarusian citizen living in Warsaw, Lisbon or elsewhere may be able to open the app and hold crypto in it, but the card route runs through MSI identification with a Belarusian bank. For anyone who is not a Belarusian citizen, reading the rest of this page is still worth it — the shape of the product is recognisable, and the alternatives section is relevant.
There is also a question of who you are to the exchange and the bank once you are in. The Terms reserve the right for BSB Bank and the exchange to request additional data and to refuse service. Nothing in the pages I read says when they would do so or what happens next.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 1 / 10 | Issued by BSB Bank to citizens of Belarus via MSI identification; the app works worldwide but the card does not |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No annual fee, no card service fee in the CryptoCourse column, free top-ups; other-bank ATMs 2% (min 2 BYN) on the BYN card, 2.50% on USD and EUR; exchange fees visible only in the app |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Crypto is sold on the Whitebird exchange and paid to a BSB account: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20, Tron. No direct spending from a wallet |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | BSB Bank and Whitebird are named legal entities; licence numbers are not stated. Key custody sits with a guarantor. App Store 2.8 out of 32 ratings |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual Visa in BYN, USD, EUR and ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay not indicated; unofficial sources say a plastic card can be ordered |
| Total | 4.6 / 10 | A narrow product with a good fee profile and thin public information |
How to get the card
Registration itself is light. You need an email address, a mobile number, a verification code, and a password of ten Latin characters with upper and lower case plus digits. That gives you an account and a session key. That account is not yet a card account.
Full function requires three more things. There is a crypto knowledge test, the “crypto knowledge test”. There is bank identification through MSI, using your passport ID number, phone and email plus an MSI password. And there is a code word used for bank-account operations. The card is a bank product, and the bank part of the onboarding is the part that actually gates the card.
The card you get at the end of that is virtual: a Visa, listed in the BSB tariff as “Visa CryptoCourse Digital”. The Google Play description states the available currencies as BYN, EUR and USD. Age requirements and any proof-of-address requirement are not stated on the pages I read, so I cannot tell you what the bank will ask for if your file does not match its records. The bank may also simply decline.
There are two levels of access, and this matters more than it sounds. Without identification you get limited functions: create wallets, receive and send crypto, news. After identification you get the full set: quotes, opening a BSB account and card, buying, selling and exchanging on Whitebird, payment history and limits. So an unidentified account is a crypto wallet with no card attached. How long identification takes, and on what grounds a request is refused, is not stated.
One practical note on plastic. The official pages I read do not describe how a physical card is issued, nor how it is delivered. Unofficial sources say a plastic card can be ordered with free delivery, and that the virtual Visa is valid for three years in BYN, USD or EUR — all from myfin.by, undated, so unofficial and unconfirmed by the card. In the BSB tariff, rows 7.2 and 7.3 cover reissue on expiry or compromise and show “Free”, free; that is about reissue, not first delivery, and the CryptoCourse card’s own delivery terms are not stated.
What it really costs
The headline cost story is good, and then it stops being public. Let me take the costs in the order you would meet them.
Issuance and servicing: the Google Play listing says “No Annual Fee”. In the BSB tariff, row 7.1 — card service for non-residents who ordered after 19.06.2023, priced at 100 BYN / 50 USD / 50 EUR for other cards — shows “Not applied” in the CryptoCourse column, not applied. For residents it is free. The issuance fee itself does not appear in the official tariff row. Unofficial sources say issue and servicing are free; I would call that likely but unconfirmed.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | No Annual Fee |
| Card service, non-residents ordering after 19.06.2023 | Not applied in the CryptoCourse column; free for residents |
| Issuance fee | Not shown in the official tariff row |
| Crypto buy / sell / exchange | Rates and fees shown only inside the app, under “Fees” |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated |
| Other-bank ATM, BYN card | 2% of amount, min 2 BYN |
| Other-bank ATM, USD and EUR cards | 2.50% of amount |
| BSB ATMs and partner-bank (Alfa-Bank) ATMs | Row shows Free and 0,5% of the issued amount; which column each applies to is unclear in the PDF text |
| Cash at a BSB cashier on an expense order | Up to 999.99 BYN equivalent: fixed 5 BYN; 1,000 to 9,999.99 BYN: 50 BYN; from 10,000 BYN: 100 BYN |
| Transfer out via a third-party P2P service | 0.5% plus that service’s own fee |
| Unfounded dispute charged to the cardholder | 37 BYN if it ends at Retrieval Request / Fulfillment; 47 BYN at Chargeback / Representment; 47 BYN plus 10% of the disputed amount at later stages |
| Top-up in BSB mobile bank, internet bank, app, third-party P2P | Free |
| Top-up via ERIP | Free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month, then 0.5% of the amount |
| Top-up at the bank cashier | Free |
| Minimum top-up | Not stated |
| Network fees for crypto deposits | Not stated |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated officially; unofficial figures say about $3,000 per day, possibly raisable to $10,000 |
Now three everyday payments, to see which of those numbers actually bites.
Paying for coffee in Minsk on the BYN card. If you withdrew cash at an ATM belonging to another bank, you pay 2% of the amount with a 2 BYN floor, on top of whatever that ATM’s owner charges. If you tap at the terminal instead, you are inside the network and the conversion question disappears — the card is already in BYN. This is the cheapest way to use the card and the reason the BYN version exists.
Paying online in euros from the USD card. The card has to convert. The tariff note says fees on foreign-currency cards are taken at the National Bank of Belarus rate, but the card’s own FX fee is not stated, so the true cost of this payment is something you can only learn in the app. Anyone evaluating this card should open the app and read the “Fees” section before committing, because that screen is the only place the number exists.
Converting crypto before you spend it. This is the one that should make you pause. Crypto buy, sell and exchange runs through Whitebird, and the partners’ fees follow their tariffs, which are shown only inside the app. Percentages are not published on the site. Every purchase you make from crypto is therefore priced by a number I cannot quote to you — and neither, apparently, can the marketing pages.
What I like here is the shape of the product: one product, one column in the tariff, three currencies. There are no tiers to choose between and no upsell path. What I dislike is the opacity of the one number that decides whether this card is cheap or expensive for you.
How to top up
There is no direct spending from a wallet. This is the single most important thing to understand about the card, and it is the thing the “crypto card” name does not suggest. You do not hand your card a private key and pay directly from BTC. You sell your crypto on the Whitebird exchange through the app, and the proceeds land in the BSB account linked to the card. The Play description puts it plainly: receive money from the sale of the crypto on your bank card.

So the top-up path is two steps: sell crypto on the exchange, then have the fiat arrive. The coins named in the Terms are Bitcoin (2 confirmations), Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20 (12 confirmations), and Tron. Google Play lists BTC, ETH, BCH and LTC. Note that these are two different lists, and if you hold an asset outside both, the Terms do not tell you what happens.
From fiat, the ways in are generous and mostly free. BSB mobile bank, the internet bank, the CryptoCourse app and third-party P2P services are all free. ERIP is free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month and 0.5% of the amount above that. The bank cashier is free. Network fees for a crypto deposit are not stated — those are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, but the card provider does not promise to absorb them either.
One place to look before you deposit crypto: the network. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the funds can be lost or may need manual recovery with no guarantee. If you hold USDT on Tron, that is the one network the Terms explicitly name; if you hold USDC over TRC20, note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so that pairing is not a native option.
Cash out works as you would expect from a bank account: crypto is sold to the linked account, and cash from the card at a BSB cashier is charged on an expense order — 5 BYN below 1,000 BYN equivalent, 50 BYN from 1,000, 100 BYN from 10,000. A transfer out via a third-party P2P service costs 0.5% plus that service’s fee. What happens to a remaining balance if you close the account is not stated.
Paying with it every day
The card is a virtual Visa in BYN, USD or EUR, and you can withdraw at ATMs around the world. Those two facts are the whole everyday story, and they are not much. There is one product, no tiers, no cashback or rewards scheme stated, no wallet features described beyond what the sign-up level lists, and no stated Apple Pay or Google Pay support. Those two wallets are not indicated in the pages I read, which for anyone who pays by phone is the most consequential gap.
Unofficial sources say a physical card can be ordered. That would change the daily experience more than any fee, because most of the friction in card payment comes from having no card in your hand.
Limits: official daily and monthly limits are not stated. You can set your own limits in the app — single transaction, total, and number per day — which is a genuinely useful feature and one I would use regardless of card. Unofficial figures put daily operations at up to about $3,000 equivalent, with another report saying it can be raised to $10,000 per day. Treat those as what they are.
If a payment goes wrong, the tariff is unusually specific. An unfounded dispute is charged to you: 37 BYN if it ends at Retrieval Request or Fulfillment, 47 BYN at Chargeback or Representment, and 47 BYN plus 10% of the disputed amount at later stages. That is a real number to know, because it tells you the cost of losing an argument with a merchant. How to file a dispute and within what time frame is not stated.
Two general payment mechanics worth carrying into any crypto card. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on your money for several days, typically up to seven. And merchants can look up the BIN to see which institution and country issued your card, so a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another — some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs for exactly that reason.
The apps: iOS in the Belarus storefront, rated 2.8 out of 5 from 32 ratings. Google Play at 5K+ downloads, updated Aug 17 2026, with the rating value not read. Two platforms, one thin signal, one unread.
What can go wrong
No official incident notices about this card surfaced in my checking, and no Trustpilot or Reddit pages for CryptoCourse turned up in two web searches. The absence of a review footprint is itself informative: there is no body of public complaint to read, which can mean few problems or simply few users.
The rating that does exist is 2.8 out of 5 from 32 ratings, read 2026-10-21. It is a user report with no themes shown, so I cannot tell you what people are angry about, and I will not invent a reason. Thirty-two ratings is too small a sample to weigh heavily, but it is the only signal available.
The structural risks are clearer than the reputation risk.
Custody is the big one. The wallet’s private keys are held by a guarantor named in the app’s terms, which makes this custodial in practice: you must trust that entity completely. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the key that anyone can use to restore the wallet and spend from it. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery path — the network cannot freeze or return funds. Card freeze and safeguarding of your funds are not stated.
Entity opacity is the second. The app’s rights holder is Swiss Investment Century SA in Switzerland. The bank is Belarusian-Swiss Bank BSB Bank in Belarus. The exchange is Whitebird in Belarus. Transaction scoring and AML work and the key-holding guarantor are third-party services. Licence numbers are not stated on the pages I read. On the exchange partner, unofficial sources disagree: one myfin.by piece names Whitebird, another names Currency.com. Unofficial, and contradictory.
Sanctions and compliance are the third. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Programmes like this can also simply end: Visa terminated its agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
On the tax side, I am not going to advise you. One thing is worth knowing as a fact rather than as advice: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the transaction date — which can make each card payment funded from crypto a separate disposal. Your own jurisdiction’s treatment is yours to check.
Security features that are stated are decent: password, session key, QR backup code, email and SMS confirmation codes for over-limit operations, device biometrics, and your own transaction limits. Support is [email protected], a Telegram news channel, and Instagram. Hours are not stated. The site is in English and Russian.
One last structural note. I found no official news announcements for this card — the BSB tariff editions I read are dated 01.10.2024, 14.04.2025 and 03.11.2025, and the Terms cite a Whitebird public offer of 07.2024. So the material in front of me is not very current by the standards of this page, and I would check the app’s fee section and terms before you rely on any figure I have given you.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up, and none of them is a like-for-like substitute: all three serve a much wider world and none of them requires Belarusian citizenship. Read them as “what the same need looks like for someone who is not behind the Belarusian border.”
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with the physical version listed as “Coming soon”. Not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list including Belarus, India, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and others; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. Note that the rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. Virtual card issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans run Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans, foreign currency carries “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”, and deposits are free. You fund it with USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow. No cashback stated.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance; physical or virtual not stated. “No annual fee”, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates, “No hidden exchange fees”. “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%. Eligibility is not stated, which is exactly why I cannot tell you whether it is open to you.
Morse — 7.5 / 10. The strongest of the three on fees: “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups” at the real-time Visa rate, conversions on Morse at the real rate with no markup, and paying online or contactless is free. It is fully virtual for now, a Visa prepaid debit spending from the Morse Balance in any currency. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship — at least 18 and resident in a supported country, app available in over 140 countries. It cannot serve customers subject to US, UK, EU or UN sanctions, and a set of closed-beta countries needs an invite code. What is missing: the card page says “Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement” without stating the issuance or monthly fee. In its favour, the Morse Wallet is self-custodial, and USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free to deposit.
| Alternative | Score | Card | Stated fees | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, USD | $5 issuance, no maintenance; Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month; USD free, foreign currency + 2% FX | USDC/USDT 1:1, or USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Mastercard, multicurrency, spends from account balance | No annual fee, no FX fee, live OTC rates | Not stated |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Visa prepaid debit, fully virtual | Zero FX fees or markups; online and contactless payment free; issuance/monthly not stated | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, USDC/USDG/EURC via Solana free; self-custodial wallet |
The pattern across all three is the same: they publish their fees. That, more than any single number, is what CryptoCourse’s missing fee screen costs it.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend CryptoCourse to one person: a Belarusian citizen who already holds Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether or Tron, is comfortable selling on an exchange before every purchase, and wants a no-annual-fee Visa in BYN, USD or EUR without setting up a separate traditional card relationship. For that person, free top-ups, free top-ups via ERIP up to 5,000 roubles a month, and free BSB ATM access are a good deal, and having a BYN card at all is the point.
I would not recommend it to anyone who holds crypto they intend to keep long-term, because the keys sit with a guarantor and that is a decision about custody you should make knowingly, not as a side effect of wanting a coffee card. I would not recommend it to anyone outside Belarus, because the card simply is not issued to them. And I would hesitate for anyone who plans to pay by phone, since Apple Pay and Google Pay are not indicated, and for anyone whose spending depends on knowing the exchange rate in advance, because the fee for converting your crypto is only visible inside the app.
My honest summary is that this is a competent little product with a citizenship condition attached. In its home market it is probably useful; outside it, it is a case study in how much a crypto card depends on what its issuer is willing to publish.
Frequently asked questions
What is CryptoCourse card?
CryptoCourse is a crypto payment card issued by BSB Bank, the Belarusian-Swiss bank, with crypto conversion running through the Whitebird exchange. You sell crypto in the app and the proceeds go to a BSB account, and the card spends from that account. It is a Visa — “Visa CryptoCourse Digital” in the bank’s tariff — available in BYN, USD and EUR. It is effectively a prepaid card with a crypto selling desk attached, not a card that spends directly from your wallet.
Who can actually get the CryptoCourse card?
Citizens of Belarus. The Terms of Use describe bank identification only for citizens of the Republic of Belarus, through the Interbank Identification System. The app itself may be used in any country, but the card route runs through that identification. Unofficial product pages on myfin.by add that a Belarusian passport is required; those pages are undated and are not the card’s own, so treat the passport wording as unofficial.
Does CryptoCourse card require KYC?
Yes, for anything useful. Registration with email, mobile number and password gives you a limited account: wallets, sending and receiving crypto, news. Full functions require a crypto knowledge test, bank identification through MSI, and a code word for bank operations. BSB Bank and the exchange may request extra data and may refuse service. Age requirements and proof of address are not stated on the pages I read.
What does CryptoCourse card cost?
No annual fee, and the CryptoCourse column in the bank’s tariff shows card service as not applied, free for residents. Top-ups in BSB’s mobile bank, internet bank, the app and third-party P2P services are free; ERIP is free up to 5,000 rubles per calendar month, then 0.5%. Other-bank ATMs charge 2% with a 2 BYN minimum on the BYN card and 2.50% on USD and EUR cards. The crypto exchange fee is shown only inside the app.
Can I pay online with CryptoCourse card?
Yes, it is a Visa and online payments go through the usual network. But a foreign-currency payment means a conversion, the card’s own FX fee is not stated, and tariff fees on foreign-currency cards are taken at the National Bank of Belarus rate. Note also that no official daily or monthly spending limits are published, that Apple Pay and Google Pay are not indicated, and that a declined authorisation can hold your funds for up to seven days.
How do I top up the CryptoCourse card?
You cannot spend straight from a wallet — that is the thing to understand. You sell crypto on Whitebird through the app and the money arrives in the linked BSB account. Coins named in the Terms are Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tether and other ERC-20, and Tron; Google Play lists BTC, ETH, BCH and LTC. From fiat, the BSB mobile bank, internet bank, app and third-party P2P top-ups are free, as is the bank cashier.
Is CryptoCourse card safe?
Custodial is the honest answer. The wallet’s private keys are held by a guarantor named in the terms, so control is not yours, and transfers are typically irreversible with no built-in recovery. Stated protections include password, session key, QR backup code, email and SMS codes for over-limit operations, device biometrics and your own spend limits. Card freeze and fund safeguarding are not stated, and the App Store rating is 2.8 out of 5 from 32 ratings.
Can I add CryptoCourse card to Apple Wallet?
I could not confirm that you can — Apple Pay and Google Pay are not indicated anywhere in the pages I read, and that is exactly why I would not recommend the card to anyone who pays by phone. What is described is a virtual Visa, with ATMs worldwide, and unofficial sources saying a plastic card can be ordered with free delivery. Those myfin.by pages are undated, so treat that as unofficial and check inside the app before planning around it.
Is CryptoCourse a bank, and who owns it?
No — the app is not a bank. The rights holder is Swiss Investment Century SA in Switzerland; the card issuer is Belarusian-Swiss Bank BSB Bank in Belarus; the exchange is Whitebird, also in Belarus. Licence numbers are not stated on the pages I read. Transaction scoring and AML and the key-holding guarantor are third-party services. If you need to know who stands behind your funds, that is the question to ask [email protected].
App and neobank card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
