Keytom is a working USDC-to-USD card, priced higher than it needs to be
Keytom is a crypto card that spends a USDC balance through a Visa number. It works, and if your money already sits in USDC it removes the awkward step of converting to a bank account first. But the pricing is not gentle: 1% on USD payments, 2.35% on anything else, 10 USDC a month, and 50 USDC for the physical card. I scored it 6.0 out of 10.
The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: a card that works, at a price you have to look at twice
The short answer: 6.0 out of 10. It does the basic job cleanly — a virtual Visa you can hold in a phone wallet, a USDC balance behind it, no loan, no credit line, no interest. What holds it back is cost. The percentage fees are not the cheapest in the category, the monthly fee is charged whether you use the card or not, and Apple Pay is missing, which is a genuine everyday inconvenience rather than a cosmetic one.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Stated availability in “150+ countries”; prohibited jurisdictions include Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda, Iran and others |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Virtual issuance free, physical delivery 50 USDC, monthly fee 10 USDC; USD payments 1%, other currencies 2.35%, ATM 2% |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDC balance; top up by card via Visa Direct or directly in USDC; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian MSB registered with FINTRAC M21788474, issuer not named; Trustpilot 4.3 from 37 reviews, with complaints about a delayed referral reward |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay and PayPal, ATM up to USD 3,000 a day; no Apple Pay yet |
Who this suits: someone who holds USDC, spends it through the card, and mostly pays in US dollars — a person who values not having to cash out to a bank first, and who is comfortable with a custodial balance held by the company rather than their own wallet.
Who it does not suit: someone paying in their local currency regularly, who will eat 2.35% every time; someone who needs Apple Pay; someone who wants rewards or cashback; and anyone who wants their crypto in their own keys rather than with a provider.
Will they give you the card
Yes for most of the world — and no, firmly, for a defined list.
Keytom says residents of “150+ countries” can apply, and adds that availability may be subject to residency restrictions. The Customer Acceptance Policy sets out prohibited jurisdictions. Russia and Belarus are on that list, and so are Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran, among others. The rule is not just about where you live: clients with direct or indirect links, including ultimate beneficial owners who reside in or hold citizenship of a prohibited jurisdiction, cannot be onboarded.
One nuance matters and it is often misread. Place of birth or former citizenship, on its own, does not disqualify you, if you hold a valid residence permit or citizenship in an eligible jurisdiction and go through enhanced due diligence. In other words, a Russian-born person legally resident and eligible in an allowed country is a different case from a Russian citizen resident in Russia. That policy page is written for corporate clients, but the reasoning is the same logic.
So the honest summary: broad in principle, restricted in fact. If you are in one of the named jurisdictions, no amount of cleverness changes the answer, and I am not going to describe ways around that.
How to get it
The application is a normal sign-up flow in the Keytom app, which exists for iOS and Android. Whether you get a virtual card, a physical card, or both depends on what you qualify for after registration — and the card page does not spell out the tiers, documents or approval sequence in detail.
What the card page does not say is worth knowing too. It does not use the words “KYC” for individuals, does not list required documents, proof of address, or an age requirement. It does say that Keytom runs two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and AML procedures, and under its AML Policy may request verification information from you. There are no defined KYC tiers: the card may “sometimes ask about a transaction” or request verification for unusual activity. Stated processing times and official rejection reasons are not stated.
Third-party sites describe the individual application as asking for a passport, national ID or residence permit, a selfie or liveness check, proof of address, and source-of-funds evidence when requested, with applicants 18 and over. That is unofficial — the card’s own public pages do not lay this out — so treat it as a picture of what to expect prepared, not a confirmed checklist.
On the card itself: it is Visa, available virtual and physical. It behaves like a prepaid card drawing on your own balance rather than a loan — the BIN is a credit BIN, but it spends your funds, and there is nothing to repay. Currency is USD only and cannot be changed. Validity runs up to five years. You may hold at most two cards, one virtual and one physical. Contactless is supported. The physical card takes about 14 days and costs 50 USDC; the card page does not list delivery countries, and its FAQ warns that issuance, delivery and payments may be limited or unavailable in some jurisdictions. The cost of a replacement card is not stated.
Fees and what they add up to on an ordinary day
This is where the card earns its 3 out of 10. Here is the full published schedule.

| Fee or limit | Keytom’s stated figure |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card delivery | 50 USDC, about 14 days |
| Monthly card fee | 10 USDC per card; USD 20 with both cards |
| Card payment in USD | 1%, minimum 0.66 USDC |
| Card payment in other currencies | 2.35%, minimum 0.66 USDC |
| Crypto-to-USD conversion | Weighted average of the top 5 exchanges (per FAQ) |
| ATM withdrawal, USD | 2%, minimum 0.66 USDC |
| ATM withdrawal, other currencies | 3.35%, minimum 0.66 USDC |
| ATM limits | Up to USD 3,000 a day, USD 10,000 a month, 3 a day, 30 a month, USD 100,000 a year |
| Soft limit per transaction | About USD 150,000 |
| Number of transactions / monthly spend | No fixed cap (per FAQ) |
Three everyday payments show how the percentages work.
A USD 30 subscription in US dollars. You pay 1%, so 0.30 USDC in fees, subject to the 0.66 USDC minimum. If the subscription is small enough that 1% falls below that minimum, the fee is floored at 0.66 USDC. Minimums bite hardest on small transactions, and this is the first thing to model for yourself. Add the 10 USDC monthly card fee and the first month’s real cost is dominated by fixed charges, not percentages.
A USD 40 purchase priced in euros. The merchant’s local price converts, and the rate plus the 2.35% currency fee applies, minimum 0.66 USDC. Here you are paying the conversion spread twice over: the conversion itself uses a weighted average of the top five exchanges, and then the card adds its percentage on top of the non-USD amount. On a card that can only hold and spend USD, any currency mismatch is priced in.
A USD 200 cash withdrawal at an ATM. 2% for USD, or 3.35% if the ATM dispenses another currency, minimum 0.66 USDC, and the ATM operator may add fees of their own. Within the daily cap of USD 3,000 and the three-a-day limit. The virtual card works only at contactless ATMs.
Note the monthly fee is charged when the balance covers it — so a card left idle can still come with a 10 USDC charge, and one with two cards, 20 USDC. There is also a single-tier structure: no cashback, no perks tier, no premium option. Whatever you get, you get.
How to Top up the card
The card spends a USDC balance, so topping up means getting USDC into Keytom. Three routes are published: by card via Visa Direct, by direct USDC top-up, or by converting euros or crypto you already hold in Keytom into USDC. No top-up fee is listed on the card page.

What is missing is exactly what you would want to know first. Networks for the USDC transfer are not named. The minimum top-up is not stated. Who pays the network fee is not stated — and that is not a small thing, because on-chain fees are charged by the blockchain rather than by the card company, and an unsupported network or a wrong address can mean lost funds with no guarantee of recovery. Transfers are irreversible.
One point worth dwelling on, because it changes how you read everything else: USDC is not the same token on every network. It is issued natively on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. If the Keytom page does not name the networks it accepts, you should confirm that in the app before sending anything, rather than after.
Third-party sites describe further account-level pricing — SEPA incoming at 0.5% plus EUR 0.25, outgoing 1% plus EUR 0.25, minimum EUR 2.75 each, and EUR-to-crypto at 1.5%, with crypto withdrawal at 0.1% plus network fee. All of that is unofficial and not confirmed by Keytom’s public pages. Separately, the card page describes no way to withdraw the balance to a bank account or to crypto at all; what that means for getting money back out is not stated. A Deletion Policy is linked from the site; its content was not read for this review.
Paying with it every day
In practice, the everyday mechanics are fine. The virtual card can be added to Google Pay or PayPal, and the physical card works as an ordinary contactless Visa in shops. Apple Pay is “not available yet” per the FAQ, and a user complaint from October 2026 says the same, with a company reply that Apple Pay is “being brought back” — which implies it existed before and is not currently there.
Some merchants will not work with the card at all. Fuel pumps, gambling and a few other categories are not supported, and some platforms block in-game purchases. That last point is not always the issuer’s doing: a merchant category code is a four-digit classification assigned by a business when it starts accepting cards, and an issuer may block specific codes by policy rather than by law, with the list differing from issuer to issuer. Gambling code 7995 is the classic example. So the honest framing is that the card’s own exclusions and the merchant’s own rules are two separate walls, and you can hit either.
What you will not find: cashback or purchase rewards. The card page says nothing of the kind, and third-party sources say the same. No app store rating is stated for iOS or Android, so I cannot give you a sense of how people rate the software itself.
Refunds work the way most card refunds work, with a sting. A refund goes back through the merchant and usually takes 2 to 15 days, but the original payment fee is not returned, so your refund can come back slightly lower than what you paid — there is no extra refund fee on top. Hotels and airlines can hold funds for up to 30 days. Chargebacks are not mentioned at all, which means I would not assume you have that route if a merchant refuses to refund.
A general card fact worth carrying, because it applies here: declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
The practical risks, in descending order of how likely they are to matter to you.
The fees. Already covered, but it is the honest headline risk. A person paying mostly in local currency pays 2.35% every time, on top of a currency conversion, on top of a monthly fee.
The balance is held by Keytom, not by you. Custody is the quiet structural fact underneath everything. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; here that is the provider, so you must trust them completely. The stated safeguards are real but they are the provider’s: two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, AML procedures, card freeze from the dashboard, segregated client accounts, and crypto described in the FAQ as “insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks”. Withdrawals can be paused on suspicious activity. Segregated client account funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. The history of custodial platforms is not encouraging: Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network are the standard reference points.
Apple Pay is missing, with a company saying it is being brought back.
The company. KEYTOM SERVICES LTD is a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC, MSB M21788474. The issuing bank is not named. MSB registration is a money-transmitting registration; it is not the same thing as a bank licence.
User complaints. On Trustpilot, read on 2026-10-20: 4.3 out of 5 from 37 reviews in the last 12 months, 81% five-star and 14% one-star. Themes were fees seen as high compared with alternatives (29 January, 9 and 29 September 2026), a referral reward withheld alongside an account closure (January 2026, with a company reply on 12 October 2026 saying rewards can be withheld where abuse is suspected), and Apple Pay missing (6 October 2026). A caveat on reading these: only about 10 of the 37 reviews were visible.
Programme risk, as category background. Card programmes close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. The usual shape of a closure is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then a request to withdraw remaining balances.
Tax. I am not giving tax advice and you should not treat this as advice, but the mechanical fact is worth knowing: in the US the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. For personal holdings that is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the transaction date. Read that as: each card payment funded from crypto may be its own disposal event, and each has its own cost base. What that means for you depends entirely on your jurisdiction and your situation.
What to take instead
Three alternatives in the same broad space, on their published terms.
| Keytom | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Morse | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.0 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 7.5 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual and physical Visa, USD only | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Mastercard network, multicurrency | Fully virtual Visa prepaid, spends in any currency |
| Issuance | Virtual free; physical 50 USDC | USD 5 one-time; plans Classic free, Pro USD 9/month, Max USD 19/month | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | 10 USDC per card (20 with both) | No maintenance fee | “No annual fee” | Not stated |
| USD payments | 1% | Free on all plans | Not stated | Free online and contactless |
| Foreign currency | 2.35% | Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee | “No foreign transaction fee” | “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, real-time Visa rate |
| Rewards | None stated | No cashback stated | Spend-to-Earn up to 3% | Not stated on card pages |
| Top up | USDC balance; card via Visa Direct; direct USDC; convert held euros/crypto | USDC or USDT free at 1:1; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Not stated | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, account details (USD, EUR, MXN, COP; BRL needs Brazilian CPF) |
Reading across the row, the differences are narrow but they land on different people.
If you mostly pay in US dollars, an International Visa Card is the sharpest comparison: USD card use is free on every plan, against Keytom’s 1%. Its deposit side is also broad — USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow — and its 2% foreign-currency fee beats Keytom’s 2.35%. Against that, it blocks residents and registrants of a long list including Belarus, mainland China, India, Iran, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and others, judged by residence or registration rather than citizenship, and purchases are blocked in a further set of countries including Russia, Ukraine and Iran. FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. It is virtual only, with physical “coming soon”.
If you want rewards, UNi Card is the only one of the four advertising any: Spend-to-Earn up to 3%. It is a multicurrency Mastercard spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, converting at live over-the-counter rates. Its eligibility, physical or virtual format, top-up methods and fee schedule beyond what is quoted are simply not stated, which is itself a reason to pause.
If you want fees near zero, Morse scores highest of the four at 7.5. It is fully virtual for now, a Visa prepaid debit spending from a Morse Balance in any currency, with zero foreign-exchange fees or markups at the real-time Visa rate and free online and contactless payments. Its wallet is self-custodial, which is the structural difference from Keytom. It supports deposits by debit card, stablecoin transfer and account details in USD, EUR, MXN and COP (BRL needs a Brazilian CPF); USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free while other tokens and blockchains carry a fee. Eligibility is by residence, not citizenship: at least 18 and resident in a supported country, the app available in over 140 countries, local add and withdraw in over 70. It cannot serve customers subject to US sanctions (also UK, EU, UN). A dozen-plus countries including the United Kingdom, Australia, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, Türkiye, Serbia, Hong Kong SAR China, New Zealand and others are in closed beta and need an invite code. Its issuance and monthly fees are not stated; the card page says fees may apply and points to a Cardholder Agreement.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Keytom to one specific person: someone who already holds USDC, wants to spend it without first converting to a bank balance, is comfortable paying 1% on US-dollar purchases, and does not need Apple Pay. For that person it is a competent, honest product with a real Canadian MSB registration behind it and a straightforward virtual-then-physical path.
For everyone else I would look elsewhere first. Pay in local currency often, and the 2.35% plus conversion will cost you more than the card saves you. Need Apple Pay, wait or pick another. Want cashback, there is none. Want your own keys, this is a custodial balance and the alternatives include self-custodial designs. And if you are in a prohibited jurisdiction, the answer is no.
One last thing to check yourself before depositing anything: which networks Keytom accepts for USDC, and the replacement cost for a lost physical card. Neither is stated on the public pages. Ask support before you send funds, not after.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Keytom card?
It is a Visa payment card, available virtual and physical, that spends a USDC balance you hold with Keytom. Despite the credit BIN, it behaves like a prepaid card drawing on your own money, not a loan, so there is nothing to repay and it cannot overdraw. The card is USD only and that cannot be changed, it is contactless, valid up to five years, and you may hold at most two cards: one virtual and one physical.
How does the Keytom card work?
You hold USDC with Keytom, the card converts and spends it, and merchants see an ordinary Visa payment. Payments in US dollars cost 1%, and payments in any other currency cost 2.35%, both with a minimum of 0.66 USDC. Crypto-to-USD conversion uses a weighted average of the top five exchanges. The balance is held by Keytom rather than by you, which is the single most important thing to understand before funding it.
Is Keytom a bank, and who is behind it?
No, not a bank. KEYTOM SERVICES LTD is a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC under MSB M21788474. That is a money-transmitting registration, not a banking licence, and the card page does not name the issuing bank. The card’s public pages also point to a Deletion Policy and describe custody safeguards including segregated client accounts and crypto insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks.
Who can get the Keytom card?
Keytom says residents of “150+ countries”, subject to residency restrictions. The Customer Acceptance Policy prohibits onboarding clients with direct or indirect links to prohibited jurisdictions, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda and Iran. Place of birth or former citizenship alone is not disqualifying if you hold a valid residence permit or citizenship in an eligible jurisdiction and pass enhanced due diligence.
Does the Keytom card require KYC?
The card page does not use the word KYC and does not list required documents, proof of address or an age threshold for individuals. It does confirm two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and AML procedures, and that Keytom may request verification information. There are no defined KYC tiers; the card may ask about a transaction or request verification for unusual activity. Third-party sites describe passport or ID, a selfie or liveness check and proof of address, but that is unofficial.
How do I top up the Keytom card?
Three published ways: by card via Visa Direct, by direct USDC top-up, or by converting euros or crypto you already hold with Keytom into USDC. No top-up fee is listed. Networks are not named, the minimum top-up is not stated, and it is not stated who pays the on-chain network fee. Confirm the supported network inside the app before sending, because transfers are irreversible and USDC is a different token on different networks.
How much does the Keytom card cost?
Virtual issuance is free; the physical card costs 50 USDC for delivery in about 14 days. The monthly card fee is 10 USDC per card, or USD 20 if you hold both, charged when the balance covers it. Payments cost 1% in USD and 2.35% in other currencies, with a 0.66 USDC minimum each. ATM withdrawals are 2% in USD or 3.35% in other currencies, with the same minimum, plus any operator fee.
Can I use the Keytom card in Apple Wallet?
Not at present. Apple Pay is listed as “not available yet” in the FAQ, and an October 2026 user complaint reports the same, with a company reply of 6–12 October 2026 saying Apple Pay is “being brought back”. The virtual card does work in Google Pay and PayPal. Fuel pumps, gambling and a few other categories are not supported, and some platforms block in-game purchases.
Is the Keytom card safe?
It uses the safeguards you would expect from a regulated provider: two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, AML procedures, card freeze in the dashboard, segregated client accounts, and the ability to pause withdrawals on suspicious activity. Against that, your balance is custodial, which means you trust Keytom with it, and crypto transfers are irreversible. On Trustpilot, read on 2026-10-20, the card sat at 4.3 out of 5 from 37 reviews.
Is the Keytom card worth it?
For someone already holding USDC who spends mostly in US dollars and does not need Apple Pay, yes — it removes the step of cashing out to a bank, and 1% per payment is a known, calculable price. If you pay in local currency often, want cashback, want Apple Pay, or want to hold your own keys, the answer is no. At 10 USDC a month the card also carries a fixed cost that a low-spending holder will never earn back.
App and neobank card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
