A virtual card that spends gold, with most of the numbers missing

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have been turned down for an ordinary bank card, or you would rather not hand over bank details to spend money, a virtual crypto card looks like a way out. Kinesis is one of the names in that space, and its pitch is different from most: instead of promising cashback in dollars, it promises cashback in gold. That is either the point or the obstacle, depending on why you want the card. I went through the company’s own pages, then the numbers other people have published, then the reviews people actually leave. This is what I found.

Kinesis works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for Kinesis: 4.8 / 10. That is not a verdict on the company or on gold. It is a verdict on the card as it is documented today: a virtual product, with no published fees, no named card issuer, no stated availability list, and no reviews that mention the card at all.

Verdict: 4.8 out of 10, and it is only worth your time if you already hold metals

Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion, with the reasoning as I found it:

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 No eligible-country list on the page I read. Starting data says United States, Latin America and the Caribbean. General availability unclear; the site shows pre-registration.
Cost 6 / 10 Not disclosed officially. Unofficial sources: no monthly fee and no sign-up fee, a 1.95% fee on one page, 0.22% conversion plus 0.45% per transaction in another source.
Top-up options 5 / 10 Instant conversion of gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto and C1USD from the Kinesis account. Networks not named.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Card issuer and licences not named. Trustpilot for Kinesis Money: 2.4 out of 5 from 750 reviews, with withdrawal delays of about 40 days, fee complaints and liquidity concerns.
Everyday use 3 / 10 Virtual only. Apple Pay and Google Pay not mentioned. No ATM.
Total 4.8 / 10 A promising idea, thinly documented, and thin on the practical details that decide whether a card works.

Who this suits: someone who already holds gold or silver through Kinesis, already understands what KAU and KAG are, and is comfortable with a card that spends from a crypto-linked balance rather than from a bank account. For that person the 2% cashback paid in gold is a genuine reward rather than a gimmick, because it keeps adding to a position they already hold.

Who this does not suit: anyone who needs a card tomorrow. Everyday use scored 3 out of 10 and that is the number to weigh most heavily, because it is the one that reflects physical reality. The card is virtual only. No ATM is mentioned. Neither Apple Pay nor Google Pay is mentioned. If your week involves tapping a terminal at a shop, handing a card to a waiter, or paying somewhere that insists on a physical card, this is not that.

There is also a mismatch worth naming before you fall for the gold angle. The audience here is gold and silver holders earning 2% cashback in gold. If you are not already in that world, the reward is not cash — it is more of an asset you now have to think about, store, insure and sell. A 2% return in a thing that can halve in price is not obviously better than 2% in dollars, and for many readers it is plainly worse once you count the work.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: the card’s own page does not say who is eligible, so you cannot answer this from the company’s documentation. The starting data points at the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean, but general availability is unclear and the site presents pre-registration rather than an open application.

That is the honest position. There is no country list, no “available in” tool, and no statement of citizenship rules on what I read. If your country is not obviously in that region, assume nothing until you have seen written confirmation for your own country.

The KYC position is the same shape. Whether the card itself requires identity verification is not stated. The site does link to a KYC verification guide, which tells you the company cares about the topic, but I did not read its contents and the page does not tie it to the card. No tier levels are stated either.

So the two questions that decide whether this is even an option for you — *can I open an account where I live*, and *what documents will I have to hand over* — are both unanswered in public. Before you spend an evening on this, ask support directly and get the answer in writing. That is not a trick to bypass anything; it is the ordinary way to avoid wasting a night on an application that will be declined at the last step.

One thing to keep in mind as a general rule, because it explains why these questions get answered so vaguely: a crypto card is not one institution. A card number starting with an issuer identification number (the BIN, six or eight digits) names the institution that issued the card. The crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets the card. When a website does not say who issued the card, it may simply be describing a different entity from the one that actually holds your money.

How to get it

The card is virtual. That is stated, and it is the main fact about the process: there is no plastic to wait for and no delivery to track. What is not stated is the network it runs on and the currency it is denominated in.

On the network, unofficial reporting says it runs on Mastercard and is operated by BAANX. I want to be careful here: that is third-party reporting, not the company’s own statement, and I could not confirm it from Kinesis’s public pages. The physical Visa card in the United States, from 2021, is a separate product under Brave New Coin and Substack coverage from 2026 — do not assume the physical Visa card tells you anything about this virtual one.

There is not much else to the process, because most of it is not published. How to activate the virtual card, whether activation is instant or involves a wait, whether there are tiers: not stated. Activation is one of those steps that sounds trivial until you are staring at a card number that declines, so I would ask about it rather than discover it.

Practical sequence, then, is short: register, work through whatever verification the account turns out to require, and expect a virtual card rather than a physical one. Everything beyond that — eligibility, documents, timing — you have to ask.

Fees: what it really costs, and why the published numbers disagree

The costs table first, because this is where the card is weakest. Almost every figure here is marked unofficial, and that is not me being cautious out of habit. The card’s own pages do not state the numbers.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Kinesis payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says What third parties say
Sign-up fee Not stated No sign-up fee
Monthly fee Not stated No monthly fee
Conversion fee Not stated 0.22%
Transaction fee Not stated 1.95% or 0.45% per transaction
ATM Not stated No ATM mentioned
Daily limit Not stated Unofficial: up to $15,000 daily
Monthly limit Not stated Unofficial: over $400,000 monthly
Card currency Not stated Not stated
Tiers Not stated Single card

Look at the transaction fee row again, because it is the whole problem. One source says 1.95%. Another says 0.22% conversion plus 0.45% per transaction. Those are not small differences; the higher 1.95% rate is substantially more costly than the alternative. You cannot decide which one you would pay, and neither figure comes from the company.

Why does this matter so much for a card that spends gold? Because gold is not a spending currency. Every purchase is a conversion out of your metal balance into whatever the merchant wants, and the fee attaches to that act. A card whose entire appeal is “spend your metals anywhere” is the card where conversion cost is not a footnote. It is the product.

The site does link a general fees page. I did not read it, so I will not pretend to know what is on it — but I would read it before you read anything I have written, because if the real numbers are published there, they beat every unofficial figure in the table.

Now three everyday payments, to see what a fee like this would do to real spending:

One more cost that never shows up in a fee table: gas. Network fees for your own deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. If you are topping up from a self-custodied wallet, that cost is on top of everything above.

There are no tiers, because there is one card. That is not necessarily a criticism — a single product is simpler — but it does mean there is no published upgrade path and no published reason the fee might be lower for you personally.

Top up: conversion, not transfer, and the network question you must ask

Here is how money reaches the card, as the card describes it: you convert gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto and C1USD instantly, at the point of sale, from your Kinesis account, and spending draws from that account balance. The page says spending converts from the balance. Networks are not named.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Kinesis starts with a transfer to the right network

The page also says you can buy gold and crypto with your card or a bank transfer. A card-specific top-up fee and a minimum top-up are not stated.

That “networks not named” line is the one to take seriously rather than skim. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of getting them back. Before you send a single meaningful amount, ask which networks are supported and get it in writing. If the answer is vague, that is your answer.

There are practical traps that have nothing to do with Kinesis. On Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding a stablecoin with no ETH left in it cannot send. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And USDC over TRC20 is not a native option, because Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. Each of those has cost somebody money. None of them is a Kinesis design flaw; all of them are things you can avoid by checking first.

The honest summary on top-ups is this: the conversion side of funding is well described and, if true, fast. The deposit side is where the detail is missing. If you already hold everything inside the Kinesis account, the network question may never apply to you. If you plan to move funds in from a wallet you control, it is the first thing to settle.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card does three things well and leaves the rest unaddressed.

What is there:

What is not there, and all of it is not stated rather than confirmed absent:

That last point is the one to sit with. A card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and some merchants treat that as a reason to decline. With no published card currency and no published issuer, I cannot tell you which way this cuts for you.

Rewards work like this: you get 2% back in gold, and the cashback plan is free for six months from launch. Gold is the reward, so your reward moves with the metal price. If gold falls, so does what your cashback was worth on the day you receive it.

What can go wrong

Two layers of risk here: what can go wrong with the card, and what can go wrong with the company that stands behind it.

On the card itself: nothing is on record, and that is not the same as nothing going wrong. I found no official card incidents. But none of the reviews I sampled mention the card at all — so there is no body of user experience to draw conclusions from. This card is either too new or too small to have a track record, and either way you are an early user without a track record to lean on.

On the platform: the complaints are real and they are about money coming out. On Trustpilot, Kinesis Money scores 2.4 out of 5 from 750 reviews, with 115 in the last 12 months as I read them. The themes in the reports are delayed or frozen withdrawals — some about 40 days — poor communication, template support replies, complaints about fee disclosure, liquidity concerns, and CIMA complaints mentioned in October 2026.

Read that list carefully in the context of a card. A card turns your account balance into spending power. Withdrawal delays do not just mean waiting; they mean a balance you can see and not reach. If the account you are spending from is the same account people are reporting frozen, the risk sits directly underneath the product.

The company behind it is not fully named on the page. Kinesis Money, with Kinesis Cayman per the starting data. KMS Labs is described as the issuer of the ERC-20 gold (KAU) and silver (KAG) tokens. The card issuer and its licences are not stated. A crypto card often depends on two licences — the crypto side under something like MiCA, the card itself as a payment service under e-money or payments law. I cannot tell you from the page which licences apply here.

On custody and security, the page says “your assets are in safe hands” and links independent audits and monthly attestations. That is a claim, not a mechanism. The custody model, two-factor authentication and whether you can freeze the card are not stated. And here is the general point that matters regardless of company: control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is the unencrypted form of that key, and anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no recovery.

History is relevant context, not an accusation. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Card programmes have been switched off too. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its programmes closed. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances.

One further asymmetry: stablecoins are not censorship-proof. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.

Support. A support centre, a contact form and a community forum are linked. Languages and hours are not stated.

Status. The site offers pre-registration for the virtual card with a six-month free cashback plan “from launch”. Third-party coverage says the virtual card is live, though I could not confirm the date. So the launch framing and the live framing are both in circulation. Worth one careful check of your own account rather than either.

What to take instead

If the idea of spending metal is what draws you, there are three names I looked at. Here is how they compare, and honestly, none of them is a complete answer either — this whole category is thin on published detail right now.

Kinesis GoMining Card Greencart Young Card
My score 4.8 / 10 6.6 / 10 6.9 / 10 5.7 / 10
Card Virtual; network not stated officially; card currency not stated Virtual now, physical “coming soon”; network and currency not stated Visa card powered by Gnosis Pay; virtual free, physical may carry a one-off admin fee Not stated officially
Fees Not stated officially; unofficial 1.95% or 0.22% plus 0.45% Not stated No hidden, monthly or annual fees; no fees for withdrawals, transfers, deposits or FX Not stated
Optional subscription None stated None stated Greencart+ at USD $7.99 monthly (or 4.99 dollars for the first 2 months) or USD $79.99 yearly; App Store lists Greencart Max at $350.00 None stated
Funding Instant conversion of gold, silver, crypto and C1USD from the account; networks not named BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins Bank account or crypto wallet, fiat or crypto; spends from a self-custodial Gnosis Pay Safe Not stated for the card
Rewards 2% cashback in gold, six months free from launch Cashback in mining power, rate rises with VIP level, “up to 5% cashback” Guaranteed floor 0.5% in B3TR per purchase, rising with staked B3TR and Greencart+ up to a 4% ceiling; cap $40 per transaction and $40 per month; 48 categories earn none; App Store text says “up to 8% cashback” and partner purchases up to 15%, which differs from the site Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%; Bronze and Silver not stated
Who can get it Not stated on the page read; starting data says United States, Latin America and the Caribbean Not listed; products “may not be available in your jurisdiction”, subject to eligibility and regional availability EEA countries plus Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico per Gnosis Pay’s list; contracting entity depends on residence; 18+; not on sanctions lists and cannot be located in, controlled from, or be a national or resident of sanctioned countries Not stated

Greencart scores highest at 6.9 and is the only one of the four that publishes a real fee position: no hidden, monthly or annual fees, and no fees for withdrawals, transfers, deposits or FX. It also publishes an eligibility list tied to Gnosis Pay, and it spends from a self-custodial Safe, so your funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. Its trade-off is complexity and its reward token: the 0.5% floor rises with staked B3TR and the subscription up to a 4% ceiling, with caps of $40 per transaction and $40 per month, and 48 categories that earn nothing at all. Note also that its App Store text says “up to 8% cashback” and partner purchases up to 15%, which does not match the site — the kind of mismatch that suggests you should work from the site’s terms.

GoMining Card at 6.6 is interesting for a different reason: opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner, and cashback is paid in mining power whose rate rises with your VIP level, up to 5%. That is a reward tied to mining, not to your spending. Its physical card is “coming soon”, which means it is in the same virtual-only position Kinesis is in today.

Young Card at 5.7 has the least published information of the three, and its cashback is in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. If you are comparing purely on documentation, it is the thinnest.

Two things worth knowing about this whole category before you compare names. First, the card network does not issue these cards to consumers. Visa and Mastercard license issuers and can suspend a programme — the FTX and WaveCrest examples above both ended that way. Second, in the EU an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and it must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them; those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. If you are in the EU and want to know whether a provider is properly authorised, ESMA keeps a public interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers that you can check.

Who I would recommend it to

Three groups, and not many more.

If you already hold gold or silver through Kinesis and you have decided that is where your savings sit, this card makes sense as a spending companion. The 2% cashback in gold compounds the position you wanted anyway, the funding is instant from the account you already have, and you are not asking the card to introduce you to anything. This is the intended user and the group I would point at the product first.

If you cannot get an ordinary bank card and you accept the constraints, it may be worth a look — with eyes open. Read this as a description of what you would be opting into: virtual only, no ATM, no mobile wallet mentioned, fees not published, card issuer not named, and the platform it sits on carrying a 2.4 out of 5 rating from 750 reviews with withdrawal delays of about 40 days in the reports. If your priority is simply having a spendable balance, that trade may be acceptable to you. Just make it deliberately.

If you want to spend money normally, this is the wrong card. Everyday use scored 3 out of 10, and that is the number that will decide your week.

For everyone else, my order would be: establish what your country is allowed to do and what the official fee is, because those two answers likely end the investigation one way or the other. If Kinesis cannot give you both in writing, that is a complete answer too.

And a word on what not to do with any of these cards. None of this is a route around identity checks, sanctions screening or country rules — those exist for good reason and they are not obstacles to engineer around. If verification is required, complete it. If your country is not eligible, the right response is a different card, not a workaround.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Kinesis card?

The Kinesis card is a virtual payment card tied to a Kinesis account rather than to a bank account. You spend from that balance, and the balance is funded by instantly converting gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto or C1USD at the point of sale. It is virtual only — no physical card, no ATM mentioned, and Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned. Unofficially it is reported to run on Mastercard operated by BAANX, which the company does not confirm on its pages.

How does the Kinesis card work in practice?

You convert part of your Kinesis balance into spendable value, then pay with the virtual card number at checkout. Spending converts from the account balance, so in the pre-loaded model the card cannot overdraw — it can only spend what has been loaded. Rewards are 2% cashback in gold, with the cashback plan described as six months free from launch. The card currency and the networks used for funding are not stated.

Is Kinesis a bank?

No — the card’s own pages do not describe it as a bank. The company is Kinesis Money, with Kinesis Cayman per the starting data, and KMS Labs is described as the issuer of the ERC-20 gold (KAU) and silver (KAG) tokens. The card issuer and its licences are not stated on the page. That matters, because with a crypto card the brand is often only a programme manager while a licensed institution actually issues the card.

Who owns Kinesis?

Ownership is not something the card page spells out. What is stated or reported: Kinesis Money is the brand, Kinesis Cayman appears in the starting data, and KMS Labs is described as the issuer of the KAU and KAG tokens. Anyone who tells you they know the exact ownership structure from the card website is going beyond what is published. If ownership matters to your decision, ask the company directly and check the regulator’s register in your own country.

Can I use the Kinesis card in my country?

I cannot tell you, and neither can the card’s public pages. There is no stated eligible-country list, no card-availability tool and no citizenship rule on what I read. The starting data points at the United States, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the site shows pre-registration rather than open applications, so general availability is unclear. The realistic approach is to ask support about your specific country and get the answer in writing before you invest an evening in an application.

Does the Kinesis card require KYC?

Whether the card itself requires identity verification is not stated. The site links to a KYC verification guide, but I did not read its contents and the page does not tie it to the card; no verification tiers are described either. For context, in the EU customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person status, and the institution must refuse the relationship if it cannot complete the checks.

How much does the Kinesis card cost?

Officially, nothing is stated — no sign-up fee, no monthly fee, no conversion or transaction fee, and no limits. Unofficial sources disagree sharply: one promotional page shows a 1.95% transaction fee, another source gives 0.22% conversion plus 0.45% per transaction, another says no monthly or sign-up fees, and unofficial limit figures are $15,000 daily and over $400,000 monthly in one source and 15,000 euro daily in another. The site links a fees page I did not read; that is the one to read.

Is the Kinesis card safe?

There is no official record of card incidents, and no reviews mention the card at all — so there is simply no track record either way. What I can tell you is what surrounds it: Kinesis Money scores 2.4 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 750 reviews, with reports of delayed or frozen withdrawals including some about 40 days, poor communication, fee-disclosure complaints and liquidity concerns. The card issuer and licences are not named, and the custody model, two-factor authentication and card freeze are not stated.

Can I add the Kinesis card to Apple Wallet?

Apple Pay is not mentioned anywhere on the card’s pages, so I cannot tell you that it works. It is worth understanding what the feature would involve: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. Even with support, issuers can restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use. Ask support before you rely on it.

Is the Kinesis card worth it?

It depends entirely on one question: do you already hold gold? If you do, 2% cashback in gold is a real reward on a position you already want, and instant conversion from your account is genuinely convenient. If you do not, you are being paid in an asset you now have to store, insure and sell, and a 2% reward can lose much of its value with the metal price. Add virtual-only, no ATM, no mobile wallet and unpublished fees, and my 4.8 out of 10 stands.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team