The Kazakhstan crypto card that spends tenge from USDT — and nothing more
The #CryptoPay card is a digital Mastercard World Black Edition debit card issued by the Kazakh bank Bank CenterCredit (BCC) and tied to an ATAIX Eurasia exchange account. It lets you pay offline at POS terminals in tenge, drawing on USDT you hold on the exchange. It is not a general-purpose travel card, and it is not available to just anyone: the card is for Kazakhstan residents who already hold “Investor” or “Premium” status on ATAIX Eurasia.
I score it 5.0 out of 10. That is not a polite number, but it is not a hostile one either. The card does one narrow thing — turning USDT into everyday tenge purchases at a shop till — and in that narrow lane it is unusually clean: the crypto-to-fiat exchange fee is 0%, top-ups from your exchange wallet carry no fee, and the bank behind it is a licensed Kazakh bank with a general banking licence. What drags the score down is everything around that lane. Issuance and servicing are not free, cash withdrawals are not available at all, online payments are not available, transfers between banks are not available, and the whole product only exists for one asset on three networks for one country of residents.
Who does it suit? A Kazakhstan resident whose money already lives in USDT on ATAIX Eurasia and who wants to spend it at physical tills — a café, a supermarket, a pharmacy — without first converting it by hand at some exchange booth. Who does it suit less? Anyone who needs cash, anyone who pays online, anyone who holds anything other than USDT, anyone who is not a Kazakhstan resident, and anyone who does not already have an ATAIX account with a qualifying status. If you fall into the second group, this card is not for you and no fee will change that.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.0 out of 10
Here is where the score comes from, criterion by criterion, with the reason I gave for each mark.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Issuance is 10,000 ₸ for Kazakhstan residents, and it needs an ATAIX Eurasia account with “Investor” or “Premium” status |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Issuance 10,000 ₸, servicing 5,000 ₸; crypto-to-fiat exchange 0%, top-up without commission; FX fee not stated |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Only USDT, on the BSC, ETH and TRON networks, deposit fee 0.00, minimum 0.01 USDT |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Issuer is Bank CenterCredit, banking licence 1.1.856.145; the exchange ATAIX Eurasia holds AFSA-A-LA-2025-0022; no complaint pages found |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Only a digital Mastercard World Black, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay; no ATM, no online payment, POS only |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A narrow, well-backed card for one audience |
The 9 out of 10 for reliability is worth pausing on, because it is the highest mark on the sheet and it is not about comfort. It rests on who stands behind the card: BCC holds a general banking licence, and ATAIX Eurasia holds an AFSA licence. The 2 out of 10 for eligibility is the mirror image: the gate is narrow, and it is gated behind another company’s account. A card many people cannot get scores badly on access even if the card itself is fine.
The audience note in plain terms: this is for Kazakhstan residents paying offline, in tenge, out of a USDT balance. If that sentence is not a description of your life, stop reading — the rest of this page will only confirm that.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, if you are a Kazakhstan resident with the right exchange status. No, if you are anywhere else.
The bank tariff table lists card issue as “10 000 ₸ for Kazakhstan residents” — 10,000 ₸ for residents of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The card is opened in the bcc.kz app, and it needs an ATAIX Eurasia account holding “Investor” or “Premium” status. The citizenship rule is not stated on the pages I read. That gap matters, and I will come back to it, because what is unstated is often decided quietly.
There is a second condition that is easy to miss. The card is not issued by the exchange, and it is not issued on your exchange account alone — it needs a status on that account. What each of those statuses requires, how long approval takes, and on what grounds an application can be refused: not stated. So when you apply, you are entering a process whose rules you cannot read in advance.
How to get it
The path is short on paper — four steps — and every step sits on top of an account you may not have.
- Register on ATAIX Eurasia and pass identification (KYC) to get “Investor” or “Premium” status.
- Install the bcc.kz app, then “New product or account” → #CryptoPay → “Open card”.
- Confirm the card by the e-mail sent to the address you used at ATAIX (within 2 hours, per the ATAIX page).
- Add the card to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay.
Documents, proof of address and age are not stated on the pages I read. That is worth noting against the general pattern rather than against this card alone: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults (18+), and KYC in regulated businesses normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, with a sanctions check. This card does not publish its own list.
What you get at the end of those steps is a digital (virtual) Mastercard — the bank’s wording is “Mastercard World Black Edition debit card”. The card’s base currency is the tenge (KZT), and its validity is 8 years. A plastic card “ordered by the client in advance” — ordered by the client in advance — can be collected or reissued by power of attorney (notarised, valid up to 3 years). Delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost: not stated.
What “Investor” status actually unlocks
The “Investor” status is not a formality; it is where the money is. Confirming it raises the monthly limit from 500,000 ₸ to 45,000,000 ₸. That is the difference between a card that covers a month of ordinary spending and a card that covers a large one. If you are opening this card for anything beyond everyday tills, this status is the number that decides whether it works.
One unofficial figure, for context only and not confirmed by the card: a 2023 news summary put ATAIX withdrawal limits without KYC at 20,000 USDT/day and 100,000 USDT/month, with KYC level 1 at 1 million USDT/day and level 2 at 2 million USDT/day. Those figures are undated and came from a secondary source, so I would not plan around them.
What it really costs
The headline numbers are an issuance fee, a monthly servicing fee, and a conversion line that reads 0%. Here is everything the pages state, and then I will walk three ordinary payments through it, because that is where the shape of the cost becomes clear.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Card issue | 10,000 ₸ (for Kazakhstan residents) |
| Card servicing | 5,000 ₸ (the ATAIX page says “5,000 tenge / month”; the bank table says only “Card servicing 5 000 ₸”) |
| Crypto–fiat exchange fee | 0% |
| Top-up of the crypto wallet and payment | without commission (no fee) |
| USDT conversion | to KZT at the exchange rate when paying |
| FX fee | not stated |
| ATM cash withdrawal | not available — “No, cash withdrawal at ATMs is unavailable” |
| Monthly limit | base 500,000 ₸; raised to 45,000,000 ₸ on confirming “Investor” |
| Transfers inside the bank and to other banks | unavailable |
It is a single card with no tiers. The limits depend on your ATAIX status (Investor/Premium), not on separate card levels. The account is in KZT: “Debit happens in tenge (KZT)”, and USDT is converted to KZT automatically at the exchange rate. No multi-currency balance is stated. So this is not a card that holds several currencies — it is one card, in one currency, fed by one asset.
Now three everyday payments, at an ordinary till in Kazakhstan, to see which lines actually bite.
Buying coffee. You tap in Apple Pay, the price is in tenge, and USDT is converted to KZT at the exchange rate when paying. The crypto–fiat exchange fee is 0% and payment carries no commission. This is the case the card was built for and it is clean.
Buying groceries for the week. Same mechanics, same 0% exchange fee, but the monthly limit now matters. On the base 500,000 ₸ limit this is unremarkable; the limit becomes the binding constraint only if you have not confirmed “Investor”, which would move you to 45,000,000 ₸.
Trying to pay online or take out cash. Neither works. Online payment is not available — only offline purchases at POS terminals — and cash withdrawal at ATMs is unavailable. Transfers inside the bank and to other banks are unavailable too. So if any part of your normal life involves paying a bill online or getting cash from a machine, this card simply does not cover it, and the 0% fee is irrelevant to that.
The honest read on cost: the recurring and one-off fees are modest and clearly stated, and the conversion fee of 0% is genuinely attractive. What is missing is any FX fee line and any statement of what happens on the network side, so I cannot give you a complete cost of a foreign purchase — because this card does not appear to offer one. One clarification that belongs with the fees rather than with the crypto: on-chain network fees (gas, bandwidth) for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, which is why they show up as “not stated for the sender” even though the ATAIX deposit fee is 0.00.
How to Top up the card
The card is funded only in USDT, at present, and that single fact drives everything about how you top it up. There is no “add a bank card and go” path here.

You top up from the ATAIX wallet balance. That balance can be filled in three ways: with crypto, or with a fiat transfer that you then convert to USDT, or through the “Cryptocurrency” section of the bcc.kz app. ATAIX lists USDT on the networks BSC, ETH and TRON, with a deposit fee of 0.00 and a minimum deposit of 0.01 USDT. Wallet top-up and payment are both without commission, per the bank statement.
The minimum is 0.01 USDT. That is a low bar, which is the one genuinely good thing about the top-up side — there is no meaningful floor to clear.
The networks are the part to be careful with, and this is a general property of stablecoin transfers rather than a quirk of this card. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — but ATAIX supports BSC, ETH and TRON, so a USDT you hold on Solana or Polygon is not directly a USDT you can drop in here. If your crypto sits elsewhere, you are looking at a transfer, a network fee and the risk of getting the network wrong.
A stablecoin is meant to hold a steady value against a fiat currency, but as the BIS put it, they are not necessarily stable. USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. So “stablecoin” describes the intention, not a guarantee, and the value you spend at the till is whatever the market says that day.
What happens to refunds and to money you want back out: refunds are credited to the crypto wallet, where you can then convert to USDT in the ATAIX app or on the website. Withdrawal to bank or ATM is not available, and the balance on closing an account is not stated. So refunds land back in crypto, and there is no stated route from this card to a bank account.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is a tap-and-pay card for physical tills, and that is genuinely all it is. Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay are supported (“Yes, #CryptoPay supports linking”). Online payment is not available — only offline purchases at POS terminals. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated.
Two things shape the feel of using it in a shop. First, how the shop’s terminal sees the card: a card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that names the issuing institution and country, and a merchant can look it up and apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Second, how your phone handles it: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. That is the good part of the design and it is the part you get for free.
A note on declines you may or may not meet: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address verification — comparing the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with issuer records — is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines. And a declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can stay for several days, typically up to 7. None of this is specific to #CryptoPay, and none of it is documented on this card’s pages, which is the honest state of things.
The rewards are modest and one line is oddly specific. Basic cashback is 0.5% on all purchases, capped at 20,000 ₸ per month (per the ATAIX page); the cashback currency is not stated. On top of that sit the Mastercard World Black perks per the bank page: up to 10 Lounge Key visits per year, up to 10 Fast Track passes, and travel insurance up to $1.5 million. For a card that cannot be used online or at an ATM, the lounge and travel insurance are aspirational rather than practical — though if you do fly, they are not nothing.
If a purchase goes wrong, refunds go to the crypto wallet. The dispute or chargeback procedure and time frames: not stated. That is a real gap. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received; the specifics of prepaid-card coverage vary and should not be assumed. Here, you have neither the procedure nor the timeframe written down.
The apps: the bank side is the bcc.kz app (App Store/Google Play rating not read). The exchange side is the ATAIX Eurasia app, which in the Kazakhstan App Store showed 3.5 from 8 ratings when I read it on 2026-10-21. A rating from eight people is barely a rating, but it is what is there.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone publicly wrong with this card that I could find — and the reason is worth naming. Searches for reviews of CryptoPay and ATAIX returned no Trustpilot or Reddit pages, and there are no official incident notices. No complaint page for ATAIX or CryptoPay was found in two searches. The absence of complaints on a young product is weak evidence of quality, not strong; it is also what a quiet problem looks like.
Who you are trusting, concretely: the card is issued by Bank CenterCredit (BCC), Kazakhstan, under general banking licence No. 1.1.856.145 dated 05.08.2026 from the Agency of the Republic of Kazakhstan for Regulation and Development of the Financial Market. The exchange side is ATAIX Eurasia Ltd., Astana (Mangilik El 55/17), under AFSA licence AFSA-A-LA-2025-0022 dated 15 October 2025, covering digital asset trading facility, custody, and dealing in digital assets as principal and agent. Both names on the licence look right on paper.
The custody point is the one to sit with. Crypto stays in your ATAIX Eurasia wallet, and ATAIX is licensed to provide custody — custodial custody, meaning the provider holds the credentials. So the crypto leg is not self-custody. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds it, so you must trust the provider completely. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is the unencrypted private key itself; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, and because blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no recovery, the network cannot freeze or return the funds. You do not hold that key here.
The card side is a bank card managed through the bank’s online banking, and for that the usual safeguards are app-based 2FA, instant card freeze, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets. For this product specifically: card freeze, 2FA and safeguarding are not stated on the pages I read. So do not assume them — check them in the app after you open the card.
The wider pattern is the reason the reliability mark is not an automatic 10. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances — and this card cannot withdraw to a bank or ATM, which is the sharpest version of that risk for #CryptoPay specifically. If the programme ever wound down, your route out is the crypto wallet, not a bank transfer.
Support, for completeness: the bank has a 24-hour line 505 for individuals, a Telegram chat, [email protected] and branches. ATAIX has a support page, Telegram at t.me/ataixeurasia, and phone +7 (727) 356 11 70. The bank site runs in Russian, Kazakh and English; Russian is supported.
What to take instead
If #CryptoPay is not for you, it is usually because of eligibility, of cash, or of online payments. Here are three alternatives and the reason each might fit better — with the same caveat that their public pages leave gaps too.
| Alternative | Score | Who it is for | Card and cost | Top-up | Fees and rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Club-tier users earning in YNG tokens | Not stated officially | Not stated for the card itself | Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | US residents (all states except Hawaii) | Visa prepaid debit card, virtual or physical; all crypto converted to US dollars | Link a bank account or deposit part of a paycheck into Coinbase (zero fees) | “Zero spending fees and no annual fees”; a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades; optional crypto rewards, US only, variable rate |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway, launched 28 January 2026; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded | Mastercard, euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay; no physical card mentioned | USDC or USDG in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first; no auto top-up | No transaction fee, no OKX FX fee; conversion spread 0.1% per the explainer (May 2026) vs 0.4% in the launch release; cashback on USDG only, tiered |
Where each one wins:
- Coinbase Card if you are in the United States. Its eligibility is the cleanest of the three to understand (all US states except Hawaii, identity rules under the USA PATRIOT Act: name, address, date of birth, ID), and it costs “zero spending fees and no annual fees”. Its catch is that all crypto is converted to US dollars, and a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades — so the conversion is not free in the way #CryptoPay’s 0% exchange fee is.
- OKX if you are in the EU or Norway and can live inside its own rules. It is a virtual euro card tied to OKX Pay, funded in USDC or USDG, with cashback on USDG purchases and monthly caps in EUR by tier (Regular 2% cap 10; VIP1 4% cap 300; VIP2 4.5% cap 450; VIP3 5% cap 1,000; VIP4+ 10% cap 1,000 — the text says 2–5% while the table says 10%, so treat the top tier with care). Two things to weigh: its conversion spread is quoted as 0.1% in the explainer (May 2026) against 0.4% in the launch release, and the explainer’s own conclusion on coverage is inconsistent — it says “entire EEA” while the launch excludes Iceland and Liechtenstein.
- Young Card if your loyalty runs through YNG tokens rather than through a bank or an exchange. Its numbers are stated in the one place that matters to it — cashback in YNG by Club tier — but eligibility, card, cost and top-up for the card itself are not stated officially.
What none of these papers over: #CryptoPay has the lowest top-up friction of the three for someone already holding USDT, and it is the only one of the three I can tie to a Kazakh bank licence and a specific monthly limit. The others have wider geography; this one has narrower and better-documented mechanics, for the audience it was built for.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the #CryptoPay card to a Kazakhstan resident whose money already sits in USDT on ATAIX Eurasia, who holds Investor or Premium status or can get it, and who spends at physical tills — cafés, supermarkets, pharmacies — and is content to have no cash, no online payments and no other asset behind the card. For that person it is a clean, cheap way to convert at 0% and pay in tenge from a phone.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs cash from an ATM, pays anything online, holds coins other than USDT, lives outside Kazakhstan, or does not already have an ATAIX account. Nor would I recommend it as a general spending card for anyone, including the people it does suit — it is a specialist tool, and it should be treated as one.
Before you commit, three things to check first, in this order: whether your ATAIX account is open and holds Investor or Premium status today; whether the “Investor” confirmation and its 500,000 ₸ to 45,000,000 ₸ limit change are available to you; and whether 2FA and card freeze are actually enabled in the apps, since the pages do not say. The card has real licences behind it and a 0% exchange fee on its one designed use — that is a genuine card. It is just a narrow one, and it will be narrow for you too.
Frequently asked questions
What is the #CryptoPay card?
The #CryptoPay card is a digital Mastercard World Black Edition debit card issued by the Kazakh bank Bank CenterCredit and linked to an ATAIX Eurasia exchange account. You pay at physical POS terminals in tenge, and USDT on ATAIX is converted to tenge at the exchange rate when you pay. The card’s base currency is KZT and its validity is 8 years. It is aimed at Kazakhstan residents, not at a general international audience.
How does the #CryptoPay card work?
You keep crypto in your ATAIX Eurasia wallet and the card draws on it, converting USDT to KZT automatically at the exchange rate each time you pay. Top-ups come from the wallet balance, filled by crypto, by a fiat transfer you convert to USDT, or through the “Cryptocurrency” section of the bcc.kz app. Refunds land back in the crypto wallet. Only USDT is available for card payment at present.
Is #CryptoPay a bank?
Not exactly — it is a card from a bank wrapped around an exchange account. The card is issued by Bank CenterCredit, a Kazakh bank with general banking licence No. 1.1.856.145. The crypto side is ATAIX Eurasia Ltd. in Astana, under AFSA licence AFSA-A-LA-2025-0022 covering trading, custody and dealing in digital assets. So a card payment is a bank payment, but the funds behind it sit with a licensed exchange, custodially.
Who owns #CryptoPay?
Two companies sit behind it rather than one. Bank CenterCredit owns and issues the card; ATAIX Eurasia owns the wallet and the crypto. Neither is described on the pages I read as owning the other, and no parent-company relationship is stated. Forbes Kazakhstan reported on 3 March 2026 that BCC had launched the first premium crypto card with ATAIX Eurasia.
Is the #CryptoPay card available in my country?
The card is for Kazakhstan residents only — the bank tariff table lists issue as “10 000 ₸ for Kazakhstan residents”. The citizenship rule is not stated. If you are not a Kazakhstan resident, this card is not for you.
How do I get and activate the #CryptoPay card?
Register on ATAIX Eurasia and pass KYC to reach “Investor” or “Premium” status, install the bcc.kz app, choose “New product or account” → #CryptoPay → “Open card”, confirm via the e-mail sent to your ATAIX address within 2 hours, then add the card to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay. What documents, proof of address and age are required is not stated on the pages I read.
How do I top up the #CryptoPay card?
Only in USDT, from your ATAIX wallet balance. You can fund that with crypto, or with a fiat transfer to the exchange that you then convert to USDT, or through the bcc.kz app’s cryptocurrency section. ATAIX supports USDT on the BSC, ETH and TRON networks, with a deposit fee of 0.00 and a minimum deposit of 0.01 USDT. The network you send on matters: a transfer on an unsupported network can be lost.
Can I withdraw cash or pay online with #CryptoPay?
No to both, and this is the card’s main limitation. Cash withdrawal at ATMs is not available, and online payment is not available — only offline purchases at POS terminals. Transfers inside the bank and to other banks are unavailable as well. Refunds go back to the crypto wallet, and the balance on account closure is not stated. Plan around POS taps in shops and nothing else.
Is the #CryptoPay card free?
Not quite. Card issue is 10,000 ₸ for Kazakhstan residents, and card servicing is 5,000 ₸ per month. What is free is the part people care about: the crypto-to-fiat exchange fee is 0%, and top-up of the crypto wallet and payment carry no commission. The FX fee is not stated, so I cannot tell you what a foreign-currency purchase would cost — and the card does not appear to offer one.
Is the #CryptoPay card safe and worth it?
The bank and exchange licences are real, and I found no complaint pages or incident notices — though a young product with no complaints is weak evidence either way. Your crypto is held custodially by ATAIX rather than in your own wallet, so you are trusting a provider, and 2FA, card freeze and safeguarding for this product are not stated on the pages I read. Worth it mainly if you are already in USDT on ATAIX and shop in person; not worth it if you need cash, online payments or other coins.
Exchange card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
