The Krak card in 2026: fees, limits and the fine print
Krak is the crypto card from Kraken, and after spending time with its terms, its fee pages and the record of complaints around it, my verdict is a solid 7.1 out of 10. That is a good card, not a flawless one. It asks nothing to order, nothing to keep, and nothing to spend, and it converts your crypto spending into an ordinary Mastercard payment without drama. What holds it back is not the price but the perimeter: a limited set of countries, a spread nobody publishes, spending limits you can only see inside the app, and a support reputation that drags when something goes wrong. If you are a UK or EU resident holding crypto and you want it to behave like a normal debit card without the drama of converting it yourself, Krak is one of the better options. If you are anywhere else, you cannot have it. If you want a card that publishes every number it charges, or one whose custody arrangement leaves your coins in your own hands, this is the wrong card for you, and I explain why further down.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who the Krak card suits, and who it does not
The Krak card suits UK and EU residents who want cashback and a card that spends a crypto balance, with no order fee or monthly fee. It does not suit residents of any other country, nor anyone who wants published limits, a published spread, or self-custody.
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Available to residents of the UK and the EU, with more countries coming soon |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Free to order, no monthly or annual fee, no transaction, FX or ATM fees; card replacement $4.99; a variable spread applies when you pay with crypto |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Spends the Krak Everyday balance, drawdown order set in the app, 600+ assets offered but not all usable on the card; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issued by Monavate (UK, FCA FRN 901097) and Monavate UAB (Lithuania, licence no. 92); Trustpilot readings of krak.app disagree (3.8 from 34 reviews or 1.9 from 126), with reports of accounts restricted after a transfer |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card straight away, physical and metal options, Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay, Krak charges nothing at ATMs in 190+ countries |
| Total | 7.1 / 10 | Strong on everyday spending, held back by eligibility and by the unpublished details |
The two ends of that table tell the story. Everyday use is a perfect ten because the mechanics of paying are simple and well covered: a virtual card you can hold in minutes, a physical card shipped free, a metal card for large holders, and no fee from Krak on ATM withdrawals in over 190 countries. Cost is a nine because the number of things you pay nothing for is unusual. But who can get it is only a five, and that is a structural limit, not a bug: the card is currently available to residents of the UK and the EU, with more countries coming soon, and residency is what the card page states, not nationality. Reliability and complaints is also a five, and that is where the care goes.
Let me be precise about the two eligibility wordings, because they are not identical and the difference matters if you live in, say, Switzerland or the US. The card page says the card is currently available to residents of the UK and the EU, with more countries coming soon, and it footnotes that geographic restrictions apply. A Krak help article goes slightly further, saying personal accounts are for UK, EEA and US residents. The wordings differ. If you are in the US you fall into the gap between them: the card page does not offer you the card, while the help article implies a personal account is possible. I would not read that as a promise of a card. Ask support and get the answer in writing before you plan around it.
Will they give you the card?
You need a verified Krak account with completed identity verification, you must be at least 18, and Monavate has to verify your identity before it issues anything. Availability is residency-based: UK and EU today.
The card page puts it as: you must have a verified Krak account with completed KYC (identity verification). The help material adds the two details the card page leaves out: the applicant must be at least 18, and Monavate must verify your identity. That second point is the one people miss. Krak is not the issuer. Monavate is, and Monavate runs its own checks and can refuse. A verified Krak account gets you into the queue, not into the card.
What the public pages do not say: which documents you will be asked for, what age proof looks like, how long verification takes, or what the verification levels are. The card does not state a document list, an age rule beyond the 18 minimum, or a proof-of-address requirement; the verification article behind the “how to get verified on Krak” link was not read for this review, so treat the levels and any timing as open questions rather than facts. If you need a card on a specific date, build in slack and ask.
There is also a practical reason the answer is residency-based rather than citizenship-based. Residence is what the card page uses, and it is what the delivery countries follow too: physical cards ship to the UK and the EEA. So the practical test for you is simpler than the legal one: can you prove where you live, in a country where the card ships. That is also why the KYC step is not optional. It is the mechanism by which residence gets established at all.
How to get it
Order a virtual card in minutes or a physical one, either way from the app after your Krak account is verified.
The path is short and there is not much to it. Verify the Krak account. Complete KYC. Then order. The virtual card is available within minutes. The physical card ships free, and you choose orange or black. Above that sits the metal card: stainless steel, 16g, and it is not free — it requires an average of GBP/EUR 50,000 in combined assets across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro to qualify. That same holding is what drives the cashback rate, which we will come to.
On delivery, the card page says the physical card is free and ships to the UK and the EEA. It does not say how long delivery takes. An unofficial third-party source, CryptoCardHub, dated 11 August 2026, says plastic cards normally arrive within fourteen business days, and quotes GBP/EUR 60 for a replacement metal card. Treat both as unofficial and not confirmed by Krak. Replacement of an ordinary card is the one number that is official, and it is not the 60: the card terms say Monavate charges a fee of $4.99, or the equivalent in the card currency, for a replacement.
One structural detail to know before you order two of everything: the virtual and physical cards are cancelled separately. Cancelling one does not cancel the other. If you are tidying up, cancel both.
What it really costs: the Fees breakdown
Ordering is free, there is no monthly or annual fee, and Krak charges no transaction, FX or ATM fees. What is not free is the spread when you pay with crypto, and a replacement card costs $4.99.
Here is every cost and limit the card’s own pages state, with values exactly as published.

| Fee or limit | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Free to order; no monthly or annual fees |
| Transaction fees | Zero transaction fees on your spend |
| FX fees | Zero FX fees; FX is passed through at the Mastercard rate with no markup |
| ATM withdrawal fees | Krak charges none; third-party ATM operators may charge a fee shown before you withdraw |
| Crypto conversion | A variable spread applies when spending across assets; its size is not stated |
| Card replacement | $4.99, or the equivalent in the card currency, charged by Monavate |
| Metal card | Requires an average of GBP/EUR 50,000 in combined assets across Krak, Kraken, Kraken Pro |
| Card currency | GBP for UK cards, EUR for EEA cards; payments settle in the primary currency |
| Spending | In 600+ currencies |
| Limits | Daily, weekly and monthly limits apply to both card spending and ATM withdrawals; they vary by region and are shown in the app |
Three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each. Take a coffee in a London café and pay by card: no transaction fee, no FX fee, because both sides of the trade are pounds, and no spread if you are spending a fiat balance. Then take the same coffee in a Budapest café with a EUR card: again no Krak FX fee, because foreign exchange is passed through at the Mastercard rate with no markup, but the Mastercard rate is not a zero, it is simply not marked up by Krak. Then buy something online with crypto held in your Krak Everyday balance: still no transaction fee, and still no Krak FX fee, but now the variable spread on the sell side applies, and its size is the one number on this page the card does not publish.
That last case is where the cost lives, and it is worth sitting with. The card’s promise is zero fees, and it keeps that promise on everything it controls. The conversion of crypto to fiat at the moment of payment is a market trade, and the card’s own wording for it is a variable spread of unstated size. Nobody at Krak is cheating you by it; you simply cannot look up in advance what you will pay. If you want to know what a purchase costs before you make it, you have to check the app at that moment, and that is the honest answer.
On limits, the terms are honest too in an unhelpful way. Daily, weekly and monthly limits apply to card spending and ATM withdrawals, they vary by region, and they are shown in the app. The card’s terms also say counts and amounts may be limited, and that hotels and car rentals may hold an extra 10 to 20 percent, with the unused portion taking up up to seven days to clear. That last clause catches people out: an incidental hold at a hotel is not money you still owe, it is money frozen, and it can take a week to come back. Budget for it.
Two more numbers, both unofficial, from the same third-party source: contactless thresholds before a PIN is requested of GBP 300 in the UK and a cumulative EUR 150 in the EEA, and a cap of two active virtual and two active physical cards, with virtual card creation limited to three per rolling thirty days. Krak publishes no universal limit table. Confirm these before you rely on them.
How to Top up Krak
You deposit into the Krak Everyday account in the app at any time, and the card spends that balance — multi-currency balances are drawn down in the order you set in the app.
The mechanism is worth understanding because it decides everything about how the card feels. The card does not have its own money. It spends your Krak Everyday balance, and when you hold several currencies in that balance, the app’s Spend Order decides which is drawn first and in what sequence. You can also spend fiat balances, not only crypto. The app offers 600+ assets, but not all of them are available for card use — the ones that are not show as “Unavailable” — and you can block currencies from being spent through the same Spend Order. So the top-up question is really a spend-order question: what is in the balance, and in what order does it get used.

What the pages do not state is the part most people arrive asking about. Specific coins and networks are not named on the card pages I read, and neither the deposit fee nor a minimum deposit is stated there. Two help articles exist for funding by fiat, one for Plaid covering EUR and GBP and one for PayPal, so bank-transfer and wallet funding are real routes. Some deposit methods carry a three-day withdrawal hold, which is the practical thing to plan around: if you fund with a method that holds, you are not spending today.
The unofficial picture is a fast lane rather than a basic one. CryptoCardHub, dated 11 August 2026, describes near-instant card deposits of GBP or EUR for 0.25 plus 3.75 percent. That is a specific price for a specific product and it is not confirmed by the card, so treat it as a reason to look rather than as a number to budget with.
Withdrawing is the other half of topping up and it is thinner still. The card FAQ does not describe how to withdraw a card balance to a bank account or to crypto. To cancel, you contact Krak Support. A fee may apply if the agreement ends within six months, and closing the Kraken E-Wallet terminates the Monavate agreement with it — that is the coupling to watch, because the card and the wallet are not separable at the end even if they feel separate day to day. Redemption is governed by Kraken’s terms, which I did not read for this review.
Paying with it every day
Paying is the easy part: Mastercard, virtual or physical, Apple Pay and Google Pay, 24/7 in-app support, and up to 2% cashback in cash or crypto depending on what you hold.
The rewards are the headline and they are tied to your balance, not to your spend alone. Up to 2% cashback in cash or crypto, depending on average assets held with Krak, Kraken or Kraken Pro, and up to 4% on travel booked via Krak Concierge. That is the same holding threshold that gates the metal card, scaled into a rate. If you are near the top of the range, your average balance across those three places is doing double duty: it sets your cashback and it decides whether you qualify for stainless steel.
Apple Pay is supported and Google Pay is mentioned on the material about adding to wallets, so both mobile wallets work. Whether any merchant categories are blocked is not stated — and this is one of those gaps where a crypto card’s behaviour differs from a bank’s card, so it is worth checking rather than assuming. What you can control is your own currencies, through the Spend Order.
When something goes wrong with a payment, the route is in the app: open the transaction and tap “Get help with this transaction”. Refunds come back to the Everyday account in the card’s primary currency, and crypto is not converted back automatically. Read that twice if you are paying with crypto: a refunded purchase does not necessarily hand you back the token you spent. On complaints, UK users get an acknowledgement within 24 hours and a final response within 15 business days, extendable by 20; EEA users get 15 business days, or 35 if delayed; there is a 14-day cooling-off refund of fees. A Kraken help article says disputes may take 45 to 60 days, which is the number that should set your expectations. A UK cardholder reported terminals asking for a signature instead of a PIN, and a delayed refund on the same account.
What can go wrong
The card itself has no official incidents on record. The risks sit in account restriction, in an unpublished spread, in custody, and in the gap between what the card page and the help articles say.
Take these in order of how likely they are to touch you.
- Account restriction after a transfer. This is the most repeated theme in what users report. The recurring account is of accounts being restricted after a bank transfer or a deposit, and funds becoming inaccessible. An unofficial aggregator also reports automatic freezes after small transfers from sanctioned addresses. Nobody should be surprised that a crypto platform screens for sanctions; what hurts is doing it after your money has arrived.
- Payment outages. The same unofficial source reports card payments failing in the UK and EEA. Unofficial and unverified, but outages of that shape are the reason to keep a second card.
- An unpublished spread. If you pay with crypto you pay a variable spread whose size the card does not state. That is the single financial term you cannot evaluate in advance.
- Custody. The crypto sits with Kraken or Krak, not with you. A seed phrase is 12 to 24 words in an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery. The history is not theoretical: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. An unofficial source adds that UK e-money is not covered by FSCS and the EEA wallet carries no deposit-guarantee coverage.
- A supervisor’s action against the issuer. The same unofficial, unverified aggregator reports a Bank of Lithuania fine or warning for Monavate UAB over AML and safeguarding. It is not confirmed by the card and I could not verify it, but it concerns the entity that actually issues your card.
- A platform-wide freeze. In July 2026 a Reddit report described an 11-day security review suspending deposits, withdrawals and card use across the platform; Kraken support later said it had dropped the ball. One report, but it shows what a single event can do to your access.
- Merchant declines. Some shops refuse prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer’s country. Address verification is offered mainly in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.
- Holds that linger. Hotels and car rentals may hold 10 to 20 percent extra for up to seven days. Declined authorisations can also leave a hold for several days.
Two of the structural facts are worth holding on to as you weigh all of this. The wallet is an e-money account issued by Kraken, not by Monavate, and the card terms do not cover safeguarding. The card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, which is why a card like this depends on two licences. You are trusting the app, the issuer and the exchange together.
What to take instead
If Krak does not fit — wrong country, custody on show, or you want published numbers — the alternatives score lower overall but suit narrower needs. Here they are against Krak’s 7.1.
| Card | Score | Who it is for | What stands out |
|---|---|---|---|
| Krak | 7.1 / 10 | UK and EU residents | No fees, cashback, but eligibility is narrow and the spread is unpublished |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | All US states except Hawaii | Zero spending fees, no annual fee; crypto converted to US dollars |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU plus Norway; Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded | Euro Mastercard virtual card; conversion spread quoted at 0.1% |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated | Cashback paid in YNG tokens, rate by Club tier |
Coinbase Card is the one to look at if you are in the United States, since Krak will not have you. It is a Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical, available in all US states except Hawaii, with account opening under the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules. Zero spending fees and no annual fees, and all fees are disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement — a real contrast to an unpublished spread. Fund it by linking a bank account or by depositing part of a paycheck into Coinbase at zero fees, and spend a crypto balance, which is converted to US dollars. There is no Coinbase transaction fee, but a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades. Rewards are optional, US-only, variable, shown in the app, chosen from rotating crypto options. For a US reader it is the plainest choice here.
OKX is the European comparison. It covers the EU plus Norway from its 28 January 2026 launch, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded, and it is governed by the rule that applies to EEA users of OKX Europe Ltd., the MiCAR-licensed entity. The card is a euro-denominated virtual Mastercard debit linked to OKX Pay, issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider; a physical card is not mentioned. No transaction fee and no OKX FX fee, and the conversion spread is the interesting number: the explainer quotes 0.1% as of May 2026 while the launch press release said 0.4% market spread, and the newer figure is the one to lean on. It spends USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first, there is no auto top-up, and a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback is on USDG purchases only — USDC earns none — with monthly caps in euro from 2% capped at 10 for Regular up to 10% capped at 1,000 for VIP4+, though the text and table disagree on the top end.
Young Card is last and lightest on evidence. Its eligibility, card terms, fees and funding are not stated officially, which is itself a reason to look elsewhere. What is stated is the reward shape: cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by your Club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%, with Bronze and Silver not stated. Being paid in a platform token is a different proposition from being paid in cash or in a stablecoin.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Krak to a UK or EU resident who already holds assets on Kraken, spends most of the card in their own currency, and does not mind checking the app before a large crypto-funded purchase.
The reasoning is short. If you are already on Kraken, the holding threshold that drives both the cashback and the metal card is already in reach, and the Everyday balance is one balance rather than two accounts you have to reconcile. If you spend mostly in pounds or euros, the fee picture is genuinely excellent: no transaction fee, no FX markup on top of the Mastercard rate, no Krak ATM fee, and a virtual card in minutes. And if you accept that the conversion spread is a market cost you check at the moment of payment, then there is very little here to complain about on price.
I would not recommend it to a US resident, or to anyone in a country the card does not ship to, because it is simply not available. I would not recommend it to someone who wants their crypto in their own wallet, because the money is custodial with Kraken and Krak and, as an unofficial source puts it, fiat sits in segregated accounts at regulated institutions without deposit-guarantee coverage. And I would be careful recommending it to anyone whose income depends on moving money into the platform, because restricted accounts are the loudest complaint theme in the record — including reports of accounts restricted after a bank transfer or a deposit, with funds inaccessible.
Two habits would make this card work well for you. Keep a second card for the outages. And read the app before you travel or check in at a hotel, because of the 10 to 20 percent incidental hold and the seven days it can take to clear.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Krak card?
Krak is a payment card from Kraken, the crypto exchange. It spends your Krak Everyday account balance rather than a bank account: crypto and fiat sit in the Everyday balance, and the card draws down that balance when you pay. It is a Mastercard debit, available as a virtual card within minutes or as a physical card shipped free in orange or black. A stainless steel metal card sits above them, requiring an average of GBP/EUR 50,000 in combined assets across Krak, Kraken and Kraken Pro.
Is Krak a bank, and who owns it?
No — Krak is Kraken’s app, not a bank. The card itself is issued by Monavate in the UK, FCA FRN 901097, company number 12472532, and in the EEA by Monavate UAB, authorised in Lithuania under licence no. 92. The balance you spend from is an e-money account issued by Kraken, not by Monavate. So your card depends on Monavate while your balance depends on Kraken, and the card terms do not cover safeguarding.
Is the Krak card free?
The card is free to order and there are no monthly or annual fees. Krak states zero transaction fees, zero FX fees and zero ATM withdrawal fees on your spend, and passes foreign exchange through at the Mastercard rate with no markup. Two things are not free: replacing a card costs $4.99 or the equivalent, charged by Monavate, and spending crypto applies a variable spread whose size the card does not publish.
Which countries can get the Krak card?
The card is currently available to residents of the UK and the EU, with more countries coming soon, and geographic restrictions apply. A help article goes slightly further and names UK, EEA and US residents for personal accounts, so the two wordings differ. Physical cards ship to the UK and the EEA. If you are in the US, ask support directly before planning around the card.
Does the Krak card require KYC?
Yes. You must have a verified Krak account with completed KYC, you must be at least 18, and Monavate must verify your identity before issuing. The public pages do not state which documents are needed, whether proof of address is required, or how long verification takes, so treat those as open questions and build in slack if you need the card on a particular date.
How do I top up the Krak card?
You deposit into the Krak Everyday account in the app at any time, then the card spends that balance. Funding articles exist for Plaid in EUR and GBP and for PayPal, and some deposit methods carry a three-day withdrawal hold. The app offers 600+ assets but not all are available for card use, and you set the order in which balances are drawn down in the app, including blocking currencies from being spent.
Is the Krak card safe for my money?
It depends what you mean by safe. The card has strong everyday controls: instant freeze, unfreeze and replacement in the app, real-time transaction monitoring, data encryption, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and tokenisation through mobile wallets. But the crypto is custodial with Kraken or Krak, so you trust the provider completely rather than holding a key, and a seed phrase in unencrypted form is enough to lose everything irreversibly. Unofficial sources say UK e-money is not FSCS-covered and the EEA wallet has no deposit-guarantee coverage.
Where can I use the card, and does it work abroad?
Krak says ATMs work in over 190 countries with no Krak withdrawal fee, though a third-party ATM operator may charge a fee shown before you withdraw. The card spends in 600+ currencies. The card currency is GBP for UK cards and EUR for EEA cards, and foreign exchange comes through at the Mastercard rate without a Krak markup. Note that some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards.
What are the Krak card’s limits?
Daily, weekly and monthly limits apply to both card spending and ATM withdrawals, and they vary by region — the card shows them in the app rather than publishing a table, so check before a large payment. The terms also say counts and amounts may be limited, and that hotels and car rentals may hold an extra 10 to 20 percent, with the unused portion taking up to seven days to clear.
Why was my Krak account or card restricted?
This is the most common complaint theme, and the card does not explain it, because the public pages do not describe it. Users report accounts being restricted after a bank transfer or a deposit, with funds inaccessible, and an unofficial aggregator reports automatic freezes after small transfers from sanctioned addresses. Anti-money-laundering rules require ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting, and if due diligence cannot be completed the institution must hold back or end the relationship — which is why accounts get frozen pending documents.
Exchange card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
