A Visa card that spends your crypto, with fee numbers you cannot verify
Gleec is a Visa card that converts crypto into a spendable balance. That is the whole idea, and it is not a bad one: if you already hold bitcoin, tether or Gleec’s own coin and you want to pay for ordinary things without selling it first at an exchange, a card like this is convenient. The question is whether the card is any good at the part that matters after the sign-up screen — the fees, the limits, the eligibility rules and the name of the person who stands behind it. On that part, Gleec’s public pages are unusually quiet. The marketing says “Convenience without abusive fees” and “no hidden fees”. Neither phrase comes with a number attached. I scored this card 6.9 out of 10, and most of the reason sits in that silence rather than in anything wrong I could prove.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 6.9 out of 10
Gleec suits a fairly specific person: someone who already holds Gleec Coin or bitcoin, wants a Visa-branded card that draws on that balance, and is comfortable with a provider whose fee schedule is not published. If you spend crypto constantly and want card numbers rather than exchange withdrawals, the concept fits. It does not suit someone who needs to know exactly what a payment will cost, someone in a jurisdiction they would rather not disclose, or anyone for whom a named issuing bank and named regulator are part of the decision. The card is not a bank account, and it should not be treated as one.
Here is where the 6.9 comes from, criterion by criterion.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “Worldwide” for payments, but the eligibility side is thin: the terms bar residents of listed prohibited jurisdictions, and no list of issuing countries is published |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Officially “Convenience without abusive fees” and “no hidden fees”, with no figures; third-party reporting from 2022 says issuance is free apart from card delivery and foreign transaction fees were zero |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH, USDT and other coins converted in the app, but the networks and top-up charges are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | The company is Gleec-BTC OÜ in Estonia; the issuer and licences are unnamed; no complaints surfaced, and the iOS app holds 4 from 4 ratings |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Visa, plastic and virtual, ATM withdrawals, Apple Pay for the virtual card; Google Pay is not mentioned |
The pattern in that table is easy to read. Every category that depends on a number the company has not published scores a point or two lower than it might otherwise. Gleec is not obviously a bad card. It is a card described from the outside.
Who they will issue the card to
The short answer: the card’s public pages do not name a single country whose residents can be issued one. What they do say is that Gleec works “worldwide” — and that word is doing narrower work than it sounds. It refers to where the card can be *paid* with, not who can hold it. Those are two different questions, and plenty of card products answer the second one only after you have uploaded documents.
What the terms do settle is the negative side. Residents of listed prohibited jurisdictions are excluded, and the list includes: Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Yemen, Zimbabwe and other restricted regions. On top of that, Gleec reserves the right to restrict other regions at its own discretion. So the effective eligibility rule is “anywhere not on the list, unless we change our mind” — which is a discretionary rule, and discretionary rules can move.
The company behind the card is named in the terms: Gleec-BTC OÜ, registered in Estonia, registration number 14477970, registered office Tornimäe 5, 2nd floor, 10145 Tallinn. The terms were last updated on 6 June 2023, so they predate a lot of regulatory change in Europe — which I will come back to in the risks section.
Two conditions are stated and worth repeating because they are the ones that will decide your application: you must be 18 or older, and you must not appear on sanctions lists. That is the short list. The longer list lives in a separate KYC/AML policy the card’s terms point to but do not reproduce.
If you are reading this from a country the terms do not name, you are in the awkward middle. “Worldwide payments” is not a promise that you can be issued the card, and nobody will confirm that before you try.
How to get the card
The honest answer is that the card’s public pages do not describe the application process in steps. There is no stated list of documents, no stated review time, no stated rejection reasons. What you can assemble from what is published is thin but not empty.
What is published: the card is a Visa, in both a plastic and a virtual version. The App Store listing for the iOS app describes choosing between a physical card and a virtual card for Apple Pay. The card’s own currency is not stated.
What is not published: whether a physical card is delivered at all, and where. Delivery is not stated officially, and third-party reporting from a 2022 beta article suggests the plastic version carries a delivery fee. Treat that as unofficial and possibly out of date, because the card has been in the market for years since then and the arrangement may have changed.
On identity checks, the pattern is the same as on eligibility. The card’s own pages do not state what verification level applies. The terms refer you to a separate KYC/AML policy, and set the two baseline conditions — 18+, not sanctioned. Third-party reporting, again from the 2022 beta launch article, describes a short onboarding process that includes identity verification. One reading of that phrase is “light”, and another is “standard for a regulated product”. I would not build a plan around the first reading.
This is also the point to set expectations about what a crypto card can and cannot do about anonymity. It cannot be anonymous. Every card that touches a regulated payment network runs through a licensed institution that is required by law to identify its customers, screen them against sanctions lists, monitor transactions and report suspicious activity. If a card claims otherwise, that claim is either marketing or a warning sign. Gleec does not claim otherwise, and it does not publish the details either.
Fees and what a payment really costs
This is where I have the most to say, because this is where the card tells you least. Gleec’s own words are “Convenience without abusive fees” on the card page and “no hidden fees” in the App Store listing. Both are about as close to a fee schedule as you will find — and neither is a fee schedule.

The one thing the card is clear about is the mechanism: your crypto is converted to fiat in the app, and the card spends that converted balance. The conversion happens in front of you, which is better than a rate buried in terms. What is not clear is what that conversion takes, or what the card then charges on top.
| Fee or limit | What the card publishes |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated officially; third-party reporting (2022) says free apart from delivery of the physical card |
| Monthly fee | Not stated officially; third-party reporting (2022) says monthly fees are low |
| Crypto-to-fiat conversion | Not stated |
| Foreign transaction fee | Not stated officially; third-party reporting (2022) says zero |
| ATM withdrawal fee | Supported, per the App Store listing; fee and allowance not stated |
| Spending limits | “High spending limits”, per the App Store listing; no figures |
| Monthly spending cap | Not stated officially; third-party reporting (2022) says spending up to 10,000 EUR per month |
| Tier structure | Not stated; only Plastic and Virtual versions exist |
| Card currency | Not stated |
Two or three everyday payments, to make the shape of the problem concrete.
Paying for a standard coffee in a country that uses euros. If your crypto is already in euros, or in a stablecoin pegged to the euro and the app converts at a rate you see, the cost is whatever the conversion and any card charge turn out to be — and neither is published. Your exposure is the conversion rate itself, which moves.
Paying for a standard meal from a country whose currency is not the euro. Now you have two legs: crypto to your card’s currency, then your card’s currency to the merchant’s. If a foreign transaction fee exists and is not zero, this is where it lands. The 2022 reporting says zero. I cannot confirm that today, and a fee policy is exactly the sort of thing that changes quietly.
Withdrawing cash from an ATM. You have an ATM withdrawal fee that is not stated and an allowance that is not stated, on a card whose issuer is not named. Cash is also where prepaid-style cards historically get treated differently at the counter.
The practical takeaway is not “Gleec charges a lot”. It is that you cannot model your cost from the published information. Ask support directly, in writing, what the conversion charge is and what the foreign transaction fee is, before you commit money.
How to Top up the card
Topping up is where Gleec is most at home, and it is the clearest part of the product. You send crypto from a wallet to the card, and the app converts it to fiat balance. The card page says this happens “in seconds”. The App Store listing names the assets: Gleec Coin, bitcoin, ether and tether, alongside other digital currencies. The listing states in plain terms that the card is topped up with digital currencies.

What that leaves out is everything you would need to do it safely. The networks are not disclosed. The top-up fees are not disclosed. The minimum top-up is not disclosed. Those three gaps together are the whole risk of this section.
The network gap is not a technicality. Blockchain transfers are irreversible by design. If you send on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be gone and recovery may depend on a support ticket with no guarantee attached. This is true of every crypto card, not just Gleec’s, and it is the single most common way people lose money in this category. If the app shows you a deposit address and a network at the moment of transfer, follow those exactly, character by character.
The fee gap matters because network charges are not the provider’s to set. The blockchain charges its own fee for the deposit, deducted from what arrives. If you are on a chain that is expensive to transact on, your top-up costs more than the provider’s percentage would suggest. You cannot calculate this without knowing which network Gleec expects.
Cashing out works in the other direction and is described just as thinly: the App Store listing says crypto can be cashed out at any time, with funds sent to a bank “in seconds”. No fees are stated. “In seconds” is also a network-dependent claim in practice — a bank transfer is only as fast as the banks at both ends.
I would fund a Gleec card in small amounts first. Learn the top-up path, see what it costs, see how long it actually takes, then scale up.
Paying with it every day
The everyday shape of the card is unremarkable in a good way. It is a Visa, so it works wherever a Visa is accepted. There is a plastic version for the shops that still want to see a card and a virtual version for your phone. ATM withdrawals are supported. That is the practical minimum, and Gleec clears it.
The virtual card can be added to Apple Pay. That is the same mechanism as any other card in Apple Pay: the card number is replaced by a device-specific number held in the Secure Element, and each payment carries a one-time code, so the real number is not stored in the clear. Google Pay is not mentioned anywhere in what I found — not refused, just absent. If your phone is Android, treat mobile wallet support as unconfirmed and ask.
What is missing from the daily-use picture is as notable as what is present. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so you cannot know in advance whether gambling, crypto exchanges or prepaid gift cards will work. Rewards are not stated. Dispute handling is not stated — no explanation of how you would contest a charge, or what evidence is needed.
The app itself is thin evidence. The iOS listing is “Gleec Card Crypto-powered card”, free, version 34.8 dated 19 May 2026, with a rating of 4 from 4 ratings. Four ratings is not a track record; it tells you almost nothing about reliability at scale, and I would not read comfort into it. The listing is in English only. The listing’s chat advertises 24/7 customer support, and the support address is [email protected].
Two general realities apply to every card in this category, including this one. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, because the first six digits of a card number identify the issuing institution and its country, and a mismatch with your billing address can invite extra scrutiny. And a declined online payment can still leave a hold on your money for several days. Neither is Gleec-specific, and neither is something the card’s own pages warn you about.
What can go wrong
The first risk is structural, not behavioural. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. There is precedent: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. When a programme closes, the usual sequence is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. Gleec does not name its issuing bank or its licences, which means I cannot tell you how far up the chain the arrangement runs or how exposed it is to a network-level decision.
The second risk is that the legal framework around this card may have moved under it. Gleec’s terms date from 6 June 2023. The EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, MiCA, took legal effect in June 2023, with its rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, applying from 30 December 2024. Transitional arrangements run until 1 July 2026. A card is regulated as a payment service and separately from the crypto side, so a product like this typically rests on two licences — and Gleec’s public pages name neither.
The third risk is counterparty. Custodial platforms in crypto have a documented history of failure: Mt. Gox, with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Gleec is a custodial-style product in the sense that the card converts and holds your balance for you. How your funds are segregated, safeguarded or — in EU terms — whether they sit in accounts covered by safeguarding rules, is not stated on the card’s pages. Note that safeguarded e-money funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. If you are trusting a provider with money, that distinction is the difference between a recoverable loss and an unrecoverable one.
The fourth risk is the quietest and, in my view, the most likely to cost you something: the missing numbers. No conversion fee, no FX fee, no ATM fee, no limit figures, no tier table. You will find out at the point of spending.
Two smaller things. GleecDEX is a separate non-custodial wallet with its own security properties, separate from the card; third-party reporting from 2022 says that wallet uses two-factor authentication and encryption, which is unofficial and possibly out of date. And on stability: stablecoins are named after stability rather than backed by it. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. If your card balance derives from tether or USDC, that is a risk sitting underneath your spending balance, not in it.
What I could not find is worth stating plainly: no Trustpilot page for Gleec, no card reviews on Trustpilot or Reddit in searches on 21 and 22 October 2026, and no published incident reports. Absence of complaints from a small user base is weak reassurance, not strong. It tells me very little.
One last practical note. If you are in the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. Every card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — I am flagging that the tax question and the card question are the same question, and nobody on the card’s pages will answer the first one.
What to take instead
None of these are clearly better than Gleec for the person who already holds bitcoin and wants a card. They are better documented, which is a different thing and often more valuable.
CardFlow — scored 4.9 out of 10. Aims at Nigeria, describing itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” for “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions stated. A virtual USD Mastercard, created in a few minutes. Creating a virtual card is stated as completely free; monthly fee not stated. Top up with bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer; networks not stated. Fees not stated at all. It is a faster, cheaper-looking product, aimed at a different market, and its documentation is no more complete.
HyperCard — 4.7 out of 10. No country list on the official pages; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which describes acceptance, not eligibility — a distinction worth holding onto when reading any card’s country claims. A prepaid card, network not stated on the App Store page, balance in USD or EUR. Top up with USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated. No fees listed anywhere I could read.
Card.fi — 6.6 out of 10, and the most fully documented of the three. Cards ship to “200+ countries”; terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a stainless-steel metal version; every physical order includes a virtual card. One-time prices are published: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249, with physical and metal prices not listed, and no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Fees are stated too: top-up Classic 1.5% plus $1.00 and Premium 1%; FX fee Classic 3.5% and Premium 2.5%; the conversion fee is shown before each top-up. Thirty-two coins across five networks, converted at market rate on arrival, with the terms warning that the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Cashback on card spending only: Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT per month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% capped at 100 USDT per month and 5,000 USDT, or 2% capped at 250 USDT per month and 20,000 USDT, plus a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT per month, and interest on balances “up to 18%” on Metal, variable.
Here is the comparison in one view.
| Gleec | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.9 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Card | Visa, plastic and virtual | Virtual USD Mastercard | Prepaid, network not stated | Virtual and physical, Classic, Premium, Metal |
| Where it targets | Worldwide payments; issuing countries not named | Nigeria and global users | Not named; “176+ countries” acceptance | “200+ countries” shipping |
| Issuing cost | Not stated; unofficial: free plus delivery | Free to create virtual card | Not stated | $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium |
| Monthly fee | Not stated; unofficial: low | Not stated | Not stated | None |
| FX fee | Not stated; unofficial: zero | Not stated | Not stated | 3.5% Classic, 2.5% Premium |
| Top-up cost | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1.5% + $1.00 Classic, 1% Premium |
| Top-up assets | Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH, USDT and others | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira | USDT, BTC, ETH | 32 coins across 5 networks |
| Networks | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch |
The honest reading: Gleec beats all three on the card brand being unambiguously Visa, on the simplicity of a single concept, and on being aimed at whoever holds crypto rather than at one country. Card.fi beats it on every dimension of disclosure and adds a rewards structure. If what you want is to know what a payment costs before you make it, Card.fi is the more honest product, even though it costs more to open.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Gleec to someone who does three things before signing up. First, asks [email protected] in writing what the crypto-to-fiat conversion fee is, what the foreign transaction fee is, and what the ATM withdrawal fee and allowance are — and keeps the answer. Second, tops up with a small amount first and watches where it goes, checking that it arrives, and how fast. Third, keeps the balance on the card small enough that losing access to the card for a month would be an inconvenience rather than a crisis.
I would not recommend it to anyone whose financial life runs on precise costs, to anyone who needs a named regulator or a named issuing bank on the other end of the card, or to anyone in a country the terms leave ambiguous. And I would not use it as a primary card, whatever it turns out to cost, because the terms are three years old and the regulatory ground underneath it has moved considerably since.
The honest summary is this: Gleec does what it says it does, in the simplest possible way, and refuses to say how much it charges. For a holder of bitcoin who spends occasionally, that is an acceptable trade. For anyone else, the silence is the deal.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gleec card?
The Gleec card is a Visa payment card you fund with cryptocurrency. You send crypto such as bitcoin, ether, tether or Gleec’s own coin from a wallet, the app converts it into a spendable fiat balance, and the card pays for ordinary purchases from that balance. It exists in a plastic version and a virtual version for Apple Pay, and it works at ATMs.
Is Gleec a bank?
No, and I would not treat it as one. Gleec is issued by Gleec-BTC OÜ, a company registered in Estonia with registration number 14477970. The card’s public pages do not name the bank that issues the card, or which licences the programme runs under. The card is a payment instrument funded by a converted balance, not a deposit account with deposit protection.
Does the Gleec card require KYC?
The card’s own pages do not state what verification level applies. The terms refer to a separate KYC/AML policy and set two baseline conditions: you must be 18 or older and not on sanctions lists. Third-party reporting from a 2022 launch article describes identity verification as part of a short onboarding process. Any regulated card requires some form of identification check as a matter of law.
Who can actually get the card?
Not stated. Gleec says it works “worldwide” for payments, which describes where the card can be used, not who can be issued one. The terms exclude residents of prohibited jurisdictions — including Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Yemen and Zimbabwe — and allow Gleec to restrict other regions at its discretion. No list of eligible countries is published.
How much does the Gleec card cost?
The card’s official pages give no figures, saying only “Convenience without abusive fees” and “no hidden fees”. Third-party reporting from 2022 says the card is free apart from delivery of the plastic version, that monthly fees are low, and that foreign transaction fees were zero — unofficial and possibly out of date. Ask support directly in writing before committing money.
How do I top up the Gleec card?
You send crypto from your own wallet to a deposit address and the app converts it to card balance, which Gleec says takes “in seconds”. The assets named are Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH and USDT. The networks, the top-up fees and the minimum are not stated. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so follow the network and address shown at the moment of transfer exactly.
Where can I use the Gleec card?
Anywhere a Visa card is accepted, since that is what it is, including at ATMs. Add the virtual card to Apple Pay, which replaces the card number with a device-specific one and a per-payment code. Google Pay is not mentioned in anything I found. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and a declined online payment can still hold your money for several days.
Is the Gleec card safe?
Safe enough to try in small amounts, and I would not call it unsafe — but nobody can tell you much. No complaints surfaced in my searches on 21 and 22 October 2026, and no Trustpilot page exists, which is weak reassurance from a small user base. Gleec does not name its issuer or licences, and Visa has previously terminated programmes in this category, as it did with FTX in November 2022.
What are the Gleec card’s spending limits?
Not stated. The App Store listing says “high spending limits” without figures. Third-party reporting from 2022 mentions spending up to 10,000 EUR per month, but that is unofficial and possibly out of date. ATM withdrawal fees and allowances are also not published. There is no stated tier structure — only the Plastic and Virtual versions exist.
Is a Gleec card worth it?
For someone who already holds crypto and wants a Visa card that spends it without selling at an exchange first, the concept is worth the effort of a small test. For anyone who needs to know the exact cost of a payment, a named issuer, or a clear answer on which countries qualify, it is not — and a card with fully published fees, such as Card.fi, is the more transparent choice despite charging more.
Virtual card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
