A free virtual Visa that spends your crypto, and the three things it does not tell you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

There is a particular kind of reader this review is for. You are somewhere the ordinary bank card is awkward: your country is not on the usual issuer lists, or the paperwork is a wall, or you simply want a card that does not tie your money to a current account you would rather not have. KeyOne is a virtual Visa card built exactly for that situation. You load it from a crypto wallet or a bank transfer, and it behaves like a prepaid card — you spend what is on it and nothing more.

KeyOne works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

It is free. That is not a discount, that is the price: EUR 0 for the card and EUR 0 a month to keep it. The catch is not the price, it is the thinness of the information around it. There is no physical card. There is no cash-back. There is no published rating anywhere I could find. And the card issuer is not the company whose name is on the app.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for KeyOne is 6.8 out of 10.

The verdict

6.8 is a “works, with caveats” rather than a “recommend to a friend” score, and the caveats are the interesting part. KeyOne gets the fundamentals right — free issuance, no monthly fee, a clear EUR balance, a stated route to top up from stablecoins or a SEPA transfer — and then stops. It gives you exactly one product shape: a virtual Visa. If that is the shape you needed, you are in luck. If you wanted a card in your hand, or cash from an ATM, or cash-back, or anything to read about other people’s experience, you will find those pages blank.

Who it suits, concretely: residents of the 70 listed countries who want a spendable balance in EUR without opening a traditional account, and who are comfortable with a self-custody wallet. Georgia, Serbia and Kazakhstan come up often among people looking at this card, and the country list covers a lot of ground around them — Europe, Asia, the UAE and Bahrain, much of Africa, Latin America, Australia.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash, a physical card, a credit line, or a card with a track record they can read before committing money. Also anyone whose money must sit behind a deposit guarantee — this is not a bank, and the balance is not a bank deposit.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Residents of 70 listed countries: Europe, Asia, UAE, Africa, Latin America, Australia
Cost 8 / 10 Free EUR plan: issuance and monthly service free; payments in balance currency 0%, conversion up to 1%; crypto top-up 0.8% plus network fee
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDC and USDT, network not named; also SEPA, ACH and top-up from Visa/Mastercard; crypto withdrawal on Base only
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Card issued by Wirex (Visa), KeyOne Solution Ltd is the technology interface, not a bank; no complaints found, no App Store rating yet
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual Visa only, Apple Pay present, Google Pay not disclosed; ATM not disclosed
Total 6.8 / 10 Free and open to a wide list of countries, thin on the everyday details

The 4 out of 10 for everyday use is doing most of the work in that average. It is the score you would expect for a card that exists only inside a phone.

Who will they give you the card

Eligibility here is based on residence, not citizenship. KeyOne states that cards are available to residents of 70 listed countries, and the list is broad: Europe, including Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine, Serbia and Azerbaijan; Asia, including Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Japan and Thailand; the UAE and Bahrain; Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, South Africa and Uganda; Mexico, Brazil, Argentina and others; and Australia.

Russia and Belarus are not on the list. The page’s wording for anyone in an unlisted country is blunt: “you can’t apply for a KeyOne card yet.” The eligibility rule is based on where you live, not your citizenship.

One practical consequence: the balance currency is EUR and the fees are quoted in EUR. That is a workable currency for most of the listed countries, and a slightly awkward one for a few.

How to get it

The route is short and ordinary. You check that your country is supported, submit a government-issued ID with a selfie, and if you are asked for it, provide proof of address. The card appears in the app.

What counts as ID: a passport, an ID card, a driving licence, or a residence permit — which ones are accepted varies by the country of the ID. The applicant must be 18 or over. Additional checks may be required beyond that.

There are no tiers to work through, which is unusual and mostly a good thing: no level system is defined at all. The verification chain runs ID first — your name and date of birth must appear on the document and match the application, the photo is matched against your selfie, and the validity date must be visible and in the future. Then proof of address, if asked; your eligibility for the card depends on the residence it shows. Then the card is issued.

One detail I would want answered before you apply: processing time is not stated. The card’s own wording is that it “may vary” and that support can check your status. There is no published median, no “same day”, no “within two working days”. If you need the card for something on a specific date, ask support first.

What you get is a virtual card. After approval, the card number, expiry date and CVV appear in the app. No physical card is mentioned anywhere.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is genuinely good and I want to be fair about that before the caveats. The Free plan is EUR 0: issuing the card costs nothing and keeping it costs nothing each month. A Premium plan exists at EUR 149 for 12 months, paid once from the balance, and it is non-refundable except where the law requires it; renewing early adds 12 months.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a KeyOne payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Free Premium
Card issuance EUR 0 EUR 0 (included)
Monthly fee EUR 0 included in the annual price
Annual price — EUR 149 for 12 months, one-off
Cards included 1 virtual 3 virtual, extra cards EUR 10 each
Payment in balance currency 0% 0%
Currency conversion up to 1% up to 1%
Crypto top-up (USDC/USDT) 0.8% plus network fee 0.33%
SEPA / ACH top-up 0.8% 0.3%
Top-up from Visa / Mastercard about 4.5% about 4.5%
In-app exchange 0.3% on the first EUR 1,000 a month, then 1.25% 0.3% on the first EUR 2,000 a month, then 1.25%
Card spend per card per month EUR 20,000 EUR 30,000
Single transaction EUR 20,000 EUR 30,000
SEPA in / out per month EUR 20,000 EUR 20,000
ATM not stated not stated

Two everyday payments, walked through.

A EUR 30 coffee in Tbilisi, balance in EUR. You pay EUR 30, the balance currency, so the payment fee is 0%. Nothing is deducted beyond EUR 30. This is the clean case, and it is the case the free plan is built for. If the same coffee is billed in USD or GEL instead, the conversion fee of up to 1% applies — so up to EUR 0.30.

A EUR 200 online purchase. Same logic: EUR in, EUR out, 0% payment fee, and the amount counts toward your EUR 20,000 monthly card spend limit on Free. If the merchant prices in dollars, you pay the conversion fee on top, up to EUR 2.

A subscription you have forgotten about. Worth knowing: individual limits may be lower than the headline figures because of partner compliance checks. And a declined authorisation can leave a hold on the funds that stays for days. The EUR 20,000 numbers are ceilings, not promises.

The item in that table with no number in it is the ATM. There is no published ATM fee and no statement about whether cash withdrawal works at all. I have left the cell saying “not stated” because that is exactly what the card’s public pages say.

Also worth noting before you plan around it: no metal card exists on either tier, and cash-back is not mentioned anywhere in the card’s material.

How to Top up the card

There are four routes in, and this is where the card is more generous than its everyday-use score suggests.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up KeyOne starts with a transfer to the right network

Outbound, crypto withdrawal works on the Base network only, with no KeyOne fee. Bank transfers out may carry a partner fee, and that fee is shown to you before you confirm — which is the right way to do it.

The minimum top-up is not stated.

One thing you can do at any time, and I would rather readers knew this before they need it: you can close the card in the app without touching the balance. Account deletion is requested in the app under Profile > Support or by email; you withdraw remaining balances first; the card and accounts are then closed with Wirex, and deletion happens within 30 days. Your KYC and transaction records are kept for 5 years. The terms also say plainly that you may stop using the services and withdraw your funds at any time.

Paying with it every day

Here the card is thinnest, and I would rather say so than dress it up.

Apple Pay works — the card says you can add it in one tap. Google Pay is not mentioned. The wallet is self-custody: your private keys are created and stored on your own device through an embedded wallet provider, and KeyOne says it cannot move your crypto without your signature. That is a genuine design choice, and it also means losing the device or the PIN can mean permanent loss of funds.

The iOS app is “KeyOne: Crypto Card & Wallet”, iPhone on iOS 17 or later, version 1.0.10, in English, Russian and Serbian. The App Store listing in Ireland shows no rating — it “has not received enough ratings”. There is a Google Play listing under com.keyonesolution.keyone, and a web app at app.keyonepay.com.

Restricted spending is stated as a fact but never enumerated: “some countries, merchant categories and transactions are restricted”, with no list. If gambling or a specific category matters to you, assume you must test it rather than assume it works. The category behind most crypto card blocks is gambling, which many issuers block by policy rather than by law — and the blocked list always varies by issuer.

If a payment goes wrong: the cardholder agreement tells you to contact support, which will help you file a dispute with the issuer. No time frames are given, and the word chargeback is not used anywhere in the terms. Blockchain transactions are irreversible. Merchant refunds go back to your KeyOne balance, and may arrive in a different currency from the original charge.

What can go wrong

No official incidents came up in my searching, and I want to be careful with that sentence. Searches of the usual complaint forums returned nothing about KeyOne itself — only unrelated companies with similar names. No user reports and no news. No Trustpilot or Reddit page for KeyOne found in two searches, and the App Store listing has too few ratings to show a score.

So: absence of evidence, not evidence of absence. A young card with no ratings and no complaint history is exactly what a card looks like before its first real problem, in either direction.

The structural risks are more concrete.

Who is actually behind it. KEYONE SOLUTION LTD, incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, company number C 63589, states that it is not a bank. The card is issued by Wirex — “Wirex issues the KeyOne Visa card under its own regulatory permissions” — and KeyOne Solution Ltd provides the technology interface. No licences are named by KeyOne. The governing law of the terms is Saint Christopher and Nevis. Wirex became a Visa principal member in Europe in December 2020. So the card sits on a real Visa issuer; the crypto brand is the interface, not the issuer. Keep that picture in mind the next time a support answer comes back.

Your money is not a deposit. The card states plainly that crypto balances are not covered by a deposit guarantee or investor compensation. E-money funds of this kind are safeguarded differently from bank deposits — segregated or insured — but that is not the same thing.

Self-custody cuts both ways. Nobody can move your crypto without your signature, which is the good half. The other half: losing the device or the PIN can mean losing the funds permanently, and no amount of support will undo a blockchain transfer.

The card can be stopped. 3-D Secure payments are approved or declined in the app. A compromised card can be blocked in the app. The issuer may suspend or close a card — for fraud, or for an unsupported country. Programme closures in this category follow a pattern: a notice period, spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances.

Blocked categories are unnamed. No list, so no way to check before you depend on it.

Support. A Telegram support bot, @keyone_supportbot, is described as the fastest route; there is an email address and an X account for status, and in-app chat under Profile > Support. The stated response time is “usually within a few hours, and always within 24” — with no working hours given. The website language selector shows English only, while the iOS app lists English, Russian and Serbian.

The cardholder agreement and terms were both last updated on 12 October 2026, so the documents are current.

What to take instead

If KeyOne’s gaps are the gaps you have, the comparison is not close. Here is where the three alternatives I looked at actually stand.

KeyOne CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
My score 6.8 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Card Virtual Visa Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid card, network not stated on the App Store page Virtual and physical, plus metal
Cost Free, or EUR 149/year Premium Creating a virtual card is free; monthly fee not stated Not stated Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249; no monthly fee
Top-up USDC, USDT, SEPA, ACH, Visa/Mastercard Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH; networks not stated 32 coins across 5 networks
Cash-back not stated not stated not stated Yes, on card spending
Audience stated Residents of 70 countries Nigeria-focused “more than 176 countries” of acceptance, eligibility not stated Ships to “200+ countries”

CardFlow (4.9) is built around Nigeria and priced as a free virtual card. What I could not find there: any fees, any monthly charge, any country list or exclusions. For a reader outside Nigeria, the appeal is thin and the disclosure is thinner.

HyperCard (4.7) is the vaguest of the three. The App Store says the card works in more than 176 countries — but that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the official pages name no country list at all. No fees are listed on the pages I could read. You deposit crypto and the balance is converted to USD or EUR.

Card.fi (6.6) is the one to look at if what you want from KeyOne is the parts KeyOne does not have. It ships physical cards, including a stainless steel metal one, and every physical order includes a virtual card. It has cash-back, which KeyOne does not: 0.8% a month on Classic, 1% on Premium, and up to 2% on Metal depending on the tier, with stated caps. Against that, it costs $49 or $249 up front, charges 1.5% plus $1.00 to top up on Classic, and its FX fee is 3.5% on Classic versus KeyOne’s “up to 1%”. It also names its networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch — where KeyOne does not name its network for USDC or USDT. That transparency alone is worth something before you send funds.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend KeyOne to someone in Georgia, Serbia or Kazakhstan — or anywhere on that 70-country list — who wants a EUR card without a traditional account, already holds USDC or USDT, is comfortable managing private keys on their own phone, and is at peace with having no cash access and no plastic.

I would not recommend it as a first crypto card for anyone who is still learning how self-custody works. The mistake surface is large: an unnamed network for the two stablecoins you are told to use, irreversible transfers, and a PIN whose loss is final.

The one thing I would ask support before sending any money, because the pages will not tell you: which network do you want USDC and USDT sent on? Everything else in this review is documented. That one is not, and it is the one that can cost you the deposit.

Frequently asked questions

What is the KeyOne card?

KeyOne is a virtual Visa card that spends a balance you load yourself, like a prepaid card. You top it up from USDC or USDT, a SEPA or ACH bank transfer, or another Visa or Mastercard, and it spends only what is on the balance. The card is issued by Wirex; KeyOne Solution Ltd is the technology interface. There is no physical card.

Is KeyOne a bank?

No. KeyOne Solution Ltd, incorporated in Saint Christopher and Nevis, states in its own materials that it is not a bank. The card is issued by Wirex under Wirex’s regulatory permissions. KeyOne also states that crypto balances are not covered by a deposit guarantee or investor compensation, so your money is not a bank deposit.

Who can apply for a KeyOne card?

Residents of 70 listed countries, on a residence basis rather than citizenship. The list spans Europe, Asia, the UAE and Bahrain, Africa, Latin America and Australia. Russia and Belarus are not on it, and for any unlisted country the card’s page says you cannot apply yet. Applicants must be 18 or over and show government-issued ID.

How do I get the KeyOne card?

You check that your country is supported, submit a government-issued ID with a selfie, and provide proof of address if you are asked for it. The name and date of birth on the document must match your application, the photo is matched against your selfie, and the expiry date must be in the future. Approval puts a virtual card number, expiry and CVV in the app. No physical card is issued.

Is the KeyOne card free?

Yes, on the Free plan: the card costs EUR 0 to issue and EUR 0 a month. There is also a Premium plan at EUR 149 for 12 months, paid from your balance, which includes three virtual cards and lower top-up fees. Extra Premium cards cost EUR 10 each. There is no metal card on either plan.

What does it cost to pay with the card?

Payments in your balance currency — EUR — carry no fee at all. Paying in another currency adds a conversion fee of up to 1%. So a EUR 30 coffee paid in EUR costs exactly EUR 30; the same coffee billed in dollars costs up to EUR 30.30. Crypto top-up is 0.8% plus the network fee on Free, 0.33% on Premium.

How do I top up the KeyOne card?

Four ways: USDC or USDT by crypto transfer, SEPA, ACH, or a transfer from another Visa or Mastercard. SEPA is 0.8% on Free and 0.3% on Premium; the Visa/Mastercard route is about 4.5%. SEPA in and out is capped at EUR 20,000 a month. ACH and Faster Payments are listed for the UK only. The network for USDC and USDT is not specified, so confirm it before sending.

Can I use the KeyOne card in Apple Pay?

Apple Pay is supported — the card says you can add it in one tap. Google Pay is not mentioned anywhere in the card’s material. Cash withdrawal is also not addressed: no ATM fee is published and no statement confirms that ATM withdrawals work at all, which is the single biggest gap for anyone who still needs cash.

Is the KeyOne card safe?

The crypto side is self-custody: your private keys are created and stored on your device, and KeyOne says it cannot move your crypto without your signature. That protects against the provider, but losing your device or PIN can mean permanent loss of funds, and blockchain transfers are irreversible. On the card side, 3-D Secure approvals happen in the app, you can freeze a compromised card, and the issuer can suspend or close a card for fraud or an unsupported country.

Is the KeyOne card worth it?

Worth it if you want a free EUR Visa, live in one of the 70 listed countries, already hold stablecoins and can handle your own keys. Not worth it if you need a physical card, cash from an ATM, cash-back or a public track record — none of those are offered, and no App Store rating exists yet to lean on. Card.fi is the alternative to weigh if physical cards or cash-back matter more to you than the zero monthly fee.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team