A Nigerian virtual dollar card that publishes almost no numbers
PowerPay is a virtual dollar card aimed at Nigeria, funded by selling crypto into a naira, Kenyan shilling or Ghanaian cedi wallet balance and then spending that balance through a card. That much the app’s own store listing and website do say. What they do not say is almost everything else you would need to decide: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no conversion percentage, no exchange-rate markup, no ATM terms, no issuer, no licence number. When a product’s fee schedule is the thing it hides, the fee schedule *is* the risk.
I scored it 4.0 / 10. That is not a verdict on whether the card works — I have no evidence that it does not work. It is a verdict on how much a stranger can safely rely on before signing up, which is a different question and, for someone who cannot easily open an ordinary bank account, the question that actually matters.
Who this is for, in short: a Nigerian user who wants to hold and spend US dollars from a crypto balance, and who is prepared to treat the card as a small prepaid instrument rather than as a bank account. Who it is not for: anyone outside that shape — the site mentions Kenya and Ghana but does not publish eligibility rules, and the terms are governed by Nigerian law — or anyone who needs published limits, a named issuer, or a fee they can calculate before committing money.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The app is aimed at Nigeria; the site also mentions the Kenyan shilling and the Ghanaian cedi. No eligibility list is published |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees are not disclosed anywhere I could read |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Selling crypto for NGN/KES/GHS balance, then funding the card. Networks are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operator PowerPay Limited in Abuja; issuer and licences unnamed. No complaints found, but the App Store rating is 5.0 from a single rating |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual card in USD, up to $10,000. Apple Pay and Google Pay; physical card and ATM access undisclosed |
| Total | 4.0 / 10 |
Read the total as a description of *disclosure*, not of performance. Three of the five marks are fives, which is what a mid-point looks like when there is no evidence either way. The 2 and the 3 are where the missing information actively costs you something: one is eligibility, where a wrong assumption gets your application refused, and the other is everyday use, which is the entire purpose of a card.
Will they give you the card?
Not stated. The site does not publish a country list, an age rule, or an exclusion list, and I want to be precise about what that means: PowerPay’s public pages simply do not say who qualifies. The App Store listing is aimed at Nigeria — it describes itself as “Nigeria’s all-in-one app” — and the site carries naira, Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi references. An earlier check of the same pages showed the same three countries. Terms are governed by Nigerian law.
So if you are in Lagos, Abuja or anywhere else in Nigeria, you are reading this at its intended centre. If you are in Kenya or Ghana, the currency support is a hint that you may be served, not a statement that you will be. If you are anywhere else, there is nothing on the public pages to suggest you would be approved, and the terms being Nigerian does not mean a Nigerian court is the only place your relationship could end up.
The audience note is worth stating plainly because it shapes everything else: this looks like a product built for Nigerian users topping up a virtual dollar card — people who want dollar-denominated spending capacity and who already hold some crypto or naira. That is a real need, and a card aimed at it is not a bad thing. It is just narrow, and it is narrow in ways the site does not spell out.
What that ambiguity costs you in practice: an application is a form you submit with your identity documents and an address proof, and a refusal can leave you with the paperwork spent and no reason. If you need certainty before you start, the only honest answer is that you will not get it from these pages.
How to get it
The signup path looks like this, from what the card states:
- Register in the app with a valid mobile phone number
- Complete basic KYC: a government-issued ID — the card names the National Identity Card, NIN and BVN — plus proof of address, which it accepts as a utility bill or a bank statement
- Receive an instant virtual card in USD; the card network is not stated, and the delivery terms for the virtual product are not stated either
For higher-risk customers, PowerPay says it applies Enhanced Due Diligence, which means checking the source of your funds. The card’s pages do not say who gets classified as higher-risk, what the tiers are, what limits attach to each tier, or how long either review takes. Those four missing answers are the ones that decide whether you are waiting a day or a month.
The identity document requirement is worth a word of caution. Nigerian government-issued ID numbers and a utility bill are exactly the material that should never be handed to an unfamiliar operator without a reason — and you should be clear that I cannot tell you from these pages how well PowerPay secures it. The site does list some ordinary precautions on its security page, which I cover under the risks section, and I would treat those as a starting point rather than a reassurance.
Fees and what a payment really costs
Here is the honest version: PowerPay publishes no fees at all. Not the issuance fee, not a monthly fee, not the conversion percentage, not the FX markup, not ATM terms. The App Store listing says “competitive rates on every swap and sale” and gives no figure. Limits are given only as “up to $10,000 threshold” for the virtual card; per-KYC-tier limits are not stated. It is a single card product with no tiers disclosed.

| Item | What the card states |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion fee (swap and sale) | Not stated — “competitive rates” with no figure |
| FX / exchange-rate markup | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated |
| Spending limit | Up to $10,000 threshold; per-tier limits not stated |
| Account tiers | Not stated — a single card product |
| Wallet balances | NGN, KES, GHS |
| Card currency | USD |
That table is short because the card’s information is short. It is worth resisting the urge to infer: a missing fee is not a zero fee, and “competitive” is a word about marketing, not arithmetic.
Two or three everyday payments, walked through, to show you where the unknowns land:
Buying something online in dollars. You hold naira in the wallet, you spend dollars from the card. The amount that reaches the merchant is the card balance minus whatever the conversion takes, minus whatever the merchant’s own acquirer takes. You cannot compute the difference, because you do not know the conversion rate, the markup, or whether the merchant adds a currency-conversion charge of their own. In practice the number you will see at checkout is not the number your wallet was charged, and the gap is the fee section nobody published.
Paying a local shop that quotes naira. The card is denominated in dollars, so the terminal or the merchant converts again — at their rate, not yours. That is a second conversion on top of the first, and it is outside PowerPay’s control. Category-wide, a foreign-issued card can also attract extra scrutiny at the till, because a merchant can look up the issuing country from the card number; some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards for that reason.
Withdrawing cash. Not stated whether the card works at ATMs at all, not stated what an ATM withdrawal costs, and not stated whether a physical card even exists. Cash is simply outside what I could verify.
The one fee that *is* worth planning for separately is the blockchain cost of getting money in: network gas or bandwidth is charged by the chain itself, not by PowerPay, and it comes out of your crypto balance before the card ever sees it. On Ethereum that means you need ETH in the wallet to move USDT at all. Small, but invisible on the card’s side of the ledger.
How to Top up
The funding route PowerPay describes is: sell crypto for a wallet balance in naira, Kenyan shillings or Ghanaian cedis, then fund the card from that wallet. An earlier check of the app listed USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as the sellable assets; the networks those assets should be sent on are not named anywhere I could read. Payment collection runs through Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora, which is a plausible local-rail setup for Nigeria.

Top-up fees are not stated. Neither is the minimum, the maximum per transaction, or the time a top-up takes.
That last set of gaps is the one that bites hardest in this product category, and it is worth a short explanation of why. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the deposit can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of outcome. A named network per asset is the difference between a self-inflicted mistake and an unlucky one. When the network is not stated, you cannot eliminate the first kind.
If you are weighing HyperCard or Card.fi as well, both name their supported assets more explicitly, and Card.fi publishes its top-up fee as a percentage — 1.5% plus $1.00 on Classic, 1% on Premium. That is not a recommendation of either; it is a note that a published percentage is something you can plug into a budget, and PowerPay currently gives you nothing to plug in.
One more line from the terms that belongs here rather than later: PowerPay says it may place a lien restricting access to funds. I do not know when that is triggered or how it interacts with your balance, and the terms do not say. But it is a stated right to hold your money, and for anyone treating this as a savings balance rather than a spending float, it is the clause to read twice.
Paying with it every day
The daily picture: an instant virtual dollar card, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, spending up to a $10,000 threshold, balances held in NGN, KES or GHS. Wallets beyond that — self-custody options, backup — are not stated. Rewards are not stated, so assume there are none rather than hunting for them. Apps are on iOS (PowerPay Ng; 5.0 from one rating when read on 2026-10-21) and Google Play.
The App Store rating deserves a sentence of its own, because it is the kind of number people quote without reading its denominator. Five point zero from one rating is not a strong signal; it is one person’s opinion, or possibly a developer’s own. It is not evidence of quality and not evidence of a problem.
Two everyday realities sit underneath the “up to $10,000” figure. The first is declines: address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes some payments to fail at checkout for reasons that look like fraud to you and look ordinary to the merchant’s system. The second is holds — a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. On a $10,000 limit that is a meaningful amount of your float to sit unavailable, and PowerPay does not say whether its holds behave this way.
If a payment goes wrong, the terms route unresolved matters to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator, with product complaints going to the merchant, and time frames not stated. For everyday disputes that is workable. For anything substantial, English-language arbitration is a real cost to weigh — though I want to be careful not to inflate it: arbitration is a common arrangement and not a red flag in itself.
What can go wrong
Here is my risk list, ordered by how much it would hurt you.
An undisclosed issuer. The card’s pages do not name the institution that actually issues the card or the licence it holds. This matters more than it sounds. In this category the brand you see is often only a programme manager or front end; the issuer is the licensed institution that holds the card programme and pays you when something goes wrong. Not knowing which entity that is means not knowing who to complain to. The operator is PowerPay Limited, Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT, and the App Store developer is ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD — two different names, neither of which is a named card issuer.
Undisclosed fees. Already covered, but the failure mode is specific: you discover the cost at the moment you need the money, not at the moment you choose the card.
Counterparty and custody risk. A custodial wallet — which PowerPay’s site implies — means the provider holds the credentials and you trust them completely. The category has a documented record of this: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). Nobody is suggesting PowerPay is any of these; the point is that holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk that no marketing copy can remove. Transfers are irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery.
Acceptance, not just eligibility. Even where the card works, it may not be welcome. Merchants can see the issuing country from the card number, and some decline prepaid or foreign cards. Gambling merchant category 7995 is commonly blocked by issuer policy rather than by law, and the blocked list differs by issuer — PowerPay does not publish one.
Cold-start fragility. Card programmes do close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer supplying several crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. I found no news of anything similar at PowerPay — I want to be explicit that absence of news here means I found none, not that I verified all channels — but the pattern is why “who is the issuer” is the question to ask.
What the site does say about security. Pay safely online, monitor your spend, freeze the card at will, monitor transactions. You are responsible for your password, and the wallet appears custodial. The freeze and monitoring features are real conveniences. The password clause is a reminder that this is an account to protect, not a vault.
Where I looked and found nothing. No official incidents and no user complaints surfaced; one search returned only generic Nigerian virtual-card guides, and there is no Trustpilot content for PowerPay. Support is [email protected] and +234 811-9543-742. The honest reading is that a young service with a small footprint has not accumulated a complaint record — that is neutral, not reassuring.
What to take instead
All three alternatives below are also thin on disclosure in places, and I am not ranking them as safe by contrast. What they differ in is how much you can actually calculate before you commit.
| PowerPay | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| My score | 4.0 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Audience | Nigeria; KES and GHS mentioned | Nigeria-focused, “Nigerians and global users” | No country list; app says works in more than 176 countries | Ships to 200+ countries; sanctions-bar wording |
| Card | Virtual USD, network not stated | Virtual USD Mastercard, about 3 minutes to create | Prepaid, USD or EUR, network not stated | Virtual and physical, Classic and Premium, metal; scheme not named |
| Issuance cost | Not stated | Free to create | Not stated | $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium; physical and metal not listed |
| Top-up | Sell crypto to NGN/KES/GHS | BTC, USDT, ETH or naira transfer | Deposit crypto, converted to USD or EUR | 32 coins on 5 networks; market rate on arrival |
| Fees | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Classic 1.5% + $1.00 top-up, 3.5% FX; Premium 1%, 2.5% FX; conversion shown before each top-up |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback on spend only: 0.8% Classic (cap 10 USDT/month), 1% Premium, 1.2% or 2% Metal; variable rate on balances, up to 18% on Metal |
CardFlow scores 4.9. It is aimed at Nigeria, calls itself “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and also refers to “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions. Its one clear advantage over PowerPay is a named network and a stated price: a virtual USD Mastercard created in 3 minutes, and “creating a virtual card is completely free”. Everything past that — fees, rewards, limits — is not stated.
HyperCard scores 4.7. Its official pages state no country list, but the app says the card works in more than 176 countries; note that acceptance is not eligibility, and it is a common way for readers to over-read a card’s marketing. It is a prepaid card in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH that converts to card balance on arrival. Fees are not stated on the pages I could read.
Card.fi scores 6.6 and is the only one of the four that lets you do arithmetic in advance. Its banners say cards ship to “200+ countries”; its terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. It publishes one-time card prices ($49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium; physical and metal not listed) and states no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Its fee schedule is the most complete in the group: Classic 1.5% plus $1.00 top-up and 3.5% FX, Premium 1% and 2.5% FX, with the conversion fee displayed before each top-up. It accepts 32 coins across 5 networks with a deposit address per card, converted at market rate on arrival — and its own warning that a wrong chain risks permanent loss applies. Rewards are cashback on card spending only, 0.8% on Classic capped at 10 USDT a month, 1% on Premium, and 1.2% or 2% on Metal depending on tier. If you want a card you can budget, that is the one in this group. If you want a Nigerian naira on-ramp, that is PowerPay’s side of the ledger.
For context on the regulatory side: a card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and a crypto card often depends on two licences — one for the crypto side, one for the payment side. That is why “who issues this card” is the first question to ask any provider, and the one PowerPay’s pages leave open.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend PowerPay to a Nigerian user who has a specific, narrow need: dollar spending capacity funded from a crypto balance, spent mostly through Apple Pay or Google Pay, in amounts you could afford to lose without it changing your life. Someone paying for software subscriptions, or holding a dollar float for travel and online purchases, and who treats the card as a prepaid instrument — top it up, spend it, understand that the exchange rate is a private matter between you and the provider because they will not tell you what it is.
I would not recommend it as a first card, as a place to hold money you cannot replace, or as a fallback for someone who cannot open an ordinary bank account elsewhere. That last point deserves directness, because that is probably why you are reading. The honest situation is that a card which does not disclose its issuer, its fees or its limits is a poor substitute for a bank account, not a proper one. If your goal is to be able to pay ordinary bills reliably for years, the gap between this and a regulated account is wider than the marketing suggests. If your goal is to try a virtual dollar card in a market where that is genuinely hard to get, PowerPay is a plausible place to start — with your eyes open about what you do not know.
The three questions I would ask support before depositing anything are simple: which institution issues the card and under which licence; what is the conversion rate and fee when I sell crypto; and what happens to my balance if the service stops. Two of those have no answer on the public pages today. That is not a disqualification, but it should be a decision you make consciously rather than one you make by default.
Frequently asked questions
What is PowerPay card?
PowerPay is a virtual dollar card for spending, built for Nigerian users around a crypto-funded wallet. You sell crypto for a wallet balance in naira, Kenyan shillings or Ghanaian cedis, then fund the card from that balance and spend in US dollars through Apple Pay, Google Pay or online payments. The card is virtual and instant, with a spending threshold of up to $10,000. The operator named on its pages is PowerPay Limited in Abuja.
Is PowerPay a bank?
Not as far as its public pages describe, and this is the single most important thing to understand about it. PowerPay’s site does not name any bank or licensed institution as the card issuer, and states no licence number. A card of this kind is usually issued by a licensed partner while the brand runs the app, but PowerPay does not say who that partner is here — which leaves you unable to tell which regulated entity stands behind your balance.
How much does the PowerPay card cost?
PowerPay publishes no fees at all. Issuance, monthly, conversion, exchange-rate markup and ATM costs are all not stated, and the App Store listing only says “competitive rates on every swap and sale” without a figure. Treat every one of these as unknown rather than zero, because a missing fee is not the same as no fee. The only published number for the card is a spending threshold of up to $10,000.
Who can get a PowerPay card?
The public pages do not say. The app is aimed at Nigeria, and the site also carries Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi references, so those three countries appear to be in scope — but no eligibility list, age rule or exclusion list is published, and the terms are governed by Nigerian law. Applying means submitting a government ID and proof of address, and being refused is possible for reasons you would not be told.
What documents do I need, and how long does it take?
PowerPay states basic KYC requirements: a government-issued ID — it names the National Identity Card, NIN and BVN — proof of address as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. Age is not stated. Higher-risk customers go through Enhanced Due Diligence covering source of funds, but the tiers, the limits attached to them and the processing times are all not stated, so you cannot budget your waiting time.
What coins and networks can I use to top up?
An earlier check of the app listed USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH as sellable; the current app describes selling crypto for NGN, KES or GHS wallet balance. The networks are not named, which is the part that matters, because transfers on the wrong network are usually irreversible and can be lost or need manual support recovery. Confirm the network and deposit route with support before sending anything, and keep a little of the network’s own coin for gas.
Is the PowerPay card safe, and is it anonymous?
I can’t answer that for you, and you should be wary of anyone who answers it with a promise. No user complaints or official incidents surfaced in my search, but the App Store shows 5.0 from a single rating, which is one opinion rather than a track record. The site lists ordinary precautions — monitor your spend, freeze the card at will — and says you are responsible for your password. The wallet appears custodial, which means you trust the provider with access to the funds.
How much can I spend, and can I use it abroad?
The stated spending threshold is up to $10,000 for the virtual card; per-KYC-tier limits are not stated. Because it’s a dollar card, it may work in other countries, but merchant acceptance is not guaranteed — the issuing country is visible from the card number, some merchants decline prepaid or foreign cards, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported; ATM and physical card access are not stated.
What happens if I have a problem with a payment?
The terms say unresolved matters go to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator, with product complaints handled through the merchant, and no time frames are stated. Support is reachable at [email protected] and on +234 811-9543-742. Before that, it is worth knowing that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days, which on a large balance is money you cannot spend in the meantime.
Is the PowerPay card worth it?
That depends entirely on what you need and what you can survive not knowing. It is worth a try if you want dollar spending capacity funded from crypto in a market where that is hard to arrange, and you are spending small amounts you could replace. It is not worth relying on if you need to know the fee, the issuer or the safeguard before you commit — because on today’s pages, none of those three are disclosed, and no card that hides them can be evaluated the way a bank account can.
Virtual card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
