The fees are low, the paperwork is thin, and nobody will tell you who issued the card
Walme is a virtual card you load with stablecoins and spend like an ordinary payment card, with a $10 issuance fee, a 3% top-up fee and 0.4% on each successful purchase. That sounds like a reasonable trade. What stops me recommending it is not the price — it is that the card’s own public pages do not name the legal entity behind it, the issuing bank or the licence, and I could not find a single independent review anywhere. A card that asks for your money and your identity deserves better than silence, and that silence is the whole of my reservation.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.8 out of 10
Walme sits in the middle of the pack for me: strong on how you fund it, weak on how much the card costs once money starts moving, and unremarkable everywhere else. The numbers are not bad. The evidence around them is thin.

Here is the breakdown, criterion by criterion, exactly as I scored it:
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | “Card availability may vary by region”, and the list is not disclosed; unofficial sources report merchant transactions blocked in several countries |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | Issuance $10, top-up 3%, $0.25 per transaction, $0.25 per cancellation, 0.4% on a successful transaction, $30 minimum top-up |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT and USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 and SOL, with the possibility of the WLM token |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | No legal entity or issuer named on the official pages; no complaints or reviews found; the card was presented in November 2025 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual card valid 2 years, Apple Pay and Google Pay; no plastic, ATM terms undisclosed, Google Play app “Coming Soon” |
That totals 5.8 out of 10.
Who this suits: someone who already holds USDT or USDC, wants to turn it into everyday spending money without going through a bank exchange, and is comfortable judging a financial product largely on its own terms. Stablecoin top-ups across TRC-20, ERC-20 and Solana are the sharpest thing about it — that is the one part of the offer I would call genuinely good.
Who it does not suit: anyone whose main worry is whether the money is safe and recoverable. If the phrase “who actually issues this card” matters to you — and for a card that touches your identity documents, it should — Walme cannot answer you. It also does not suit anyone who wants a physical card, because there is not one, or anyone who wants to use it in a specific country, because the availability list is not published.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, most likely, and that is the problem in miniature. Walme’s own wording is that “Card availability may vary by region” — and then it stops. No country list, no exclusions, no explanation of what varies. I could not find out from the official pages where it works and where it does not.
One unofficial source fills part of the gap. A Walme team reply on Product Hunt lists countries where merchant transactions are blocked for regulatory reasons, including Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela. That is a Walme comment on a third-party site, not a published policy, and I would not treat it as a definitive list. But it is a useful signal, and it points in an uncomfortable direction: the places where the card is likely to be refused at a till are the places where people most often want a card they can control.
So the honest answer to “will they give me the card?” is: probably yes, and probably you will find out where you can spend it only after you have loaded it. If your country matters to you, the only honest way to find out is to ask Walme directly before you send any money.
How to get it
The signup path is short, which is either a selling point or a warning depending on your temperament. Walme issues a virtual card with no documents required, valid for 2 years.
No documents. That is the fact to sit with. In the European Union, customer due diligence for a regulated firm covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the United States, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. A card that markets itself with no documents is telling you it operates under a different regime, or a lighter one, or none of the above — it does not tell you which.
The card is virtual, and third-party reporting from November 2025 describes it as a virtual Mastercard. That is unofficial and not confirmed by Walme. Delivery terms for a physical card are not stated, because there does not appear to be a physical card. What verification levels, if any, apply at signup are also not stated.
The application process itself is not stated either — no steps, no waiting time, no mention of approval or rejection. What I can tell you is what the outcome looks like: a virtual card, valid 2 years, no documents.
Fees and what a payment actually costs
This is where Walme is weakest, and the numbers deserve to be laid out plainly rather than buried.

| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Issuance | $10 |
| Top-up fee | 3% |
| Per transaction | $0.25 |
| Cancellation | $0.25 |
| Successful transaction | 0.4% |
| Minimum top-up | $30 |
| ATM fee | not stated |
| Limit per transaction | $10,000 |
| Limit per day | $500,000 |
| Monthly limit | no monthly limit |
| Tiers | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
There is one discount, and it is aimed at people who already hold the company’s own token: reduced fees for WLM token holders.
Now let us run three ordinary payments through those numbers. This is arithmetic on the published fees, not a forecast of what you will be charged.
A $12 coffee. The successful-transaction fee of 0.4% is 4.8 cents. The $0.25 per-transaction fee is 25 cents. That is 29.8 cents on a $12 purchase — about 2.5%. Add the 3% top-up fee on whatever you loaded to make it possible, and the effective cost of the coffee climbs again, because the top-up fee is spread across everything you spend from that balance, not just this one thing.
A $60 supermarket shop. 0.4% is 24 cents, plus the $0.25 transaction fee, so 49 cents — under 1%. The $30 minimum top-up stops this being worse: it means you have to put in at least $30 to spend $60, so you are carrying balance you may not use, and the 3% on that $30 is 90 cents regardless.
A $400 flight or a $900 holiday booking. 0.4% is $1.60, plus $0.25, so $1.85 on $400. On $900 it is $3.85. Here the fees stop mattering. This is the pattern worth understanding: Walme’s fees are a fixed sting on small payments and a rounding error on large ones. If you mostly buy coffee and groceries, the structure works against you. If you mostly book travel, it is close to irrelevant.
Two gaps I cannot fill in. The ATM fee is not stated — only the limits are, at $10,000 per transaction and $500,000 per day, with no monthly limit, which is a very high ceiling for a prepaid card and reads more like a system default than a policy. And the card currency is not stated, so I cannot tell you whether there is a foreign-exchange cost when you spend a balance denominated in dollars in another currency. Given that 0.4% is the only conversion-adjacent number published, I would not assume it covers everything.
Where do the on-chain fees go? Network gas or bandwidth for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by Walme. On ERC-20 that gas is paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. On Tron it is paid through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. Either way, that cost sits outside the table above and comes out of the same balance.
How to top it up
Top-up is the best part of Walme and the reason its score in that column is 9 out of 10.
You convert crypto to fiat at the point of purchase. The card accepts USDT and USDC across three networks: TRC-20, ERC-20 and SOL. The WLM token is usable as well. Third-party reporting from November 2025 mentions USDT via TRC20 or ERC20 — unofficial, and narrower than what Walme itself publishes.
So you are not choosing between one chain and another for convenience; you are choosing between three. That matters more than it sounds. Stablecoin transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of the outcome. Having three supported networks is three chances to get it right — and three chances to get it wrong if you are not paying attention.
The minimum top-up is $30, and the fee is 3% on the top-up.
The mechanism, in plain terms: blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return funds. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof — Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. So the funds you are about to load are, in the strict sense, under the control of the issuer and the token issuer, not only yours.
Two things are not stated: whether you can withdraw money from Walme back to a wallet, and how long a top-up takes to appear.
Paying with it every day
Walme supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is how most people would actually use it. A virtual card number that goes into a phone wallet is more useful than it sounds: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. That is a real security improvement over a card number written on a piece of paper.
But the list of what you cannot do is longer than the list of what you can:
- No plastic. It is a virtual card only.
- ATM terms are not stated — whether cash withdrawal works at all, and at what cost.
- The Google Play listing is marked “Coming Soon”, and ratings are not available.
- The web app is at app.walme.io.
- Rewards are not stated.
- Dispute handling is not stated — if a charge goes wrong, what process you go through is simply not published.
That last one matters more than it sounds. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. With no published dispute process and no named issuer, I cannot tell you who would even adjudicate a chargeback. I would keep spending on this card small until that changes.
Two more everyday friction points that come from how card payments work rather than from Walme specifically. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. And Address Verification Service, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer typed against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Expect the occasional online payment to fail for a reason that has nothing to do with your balance.
Also worth knowing: a merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business by goods or services, and many issuers block MCC 7995, gambling, on specific cards by policy rather than by law. Whether Walme blocks it is not stated.
What can go wrong
Here is the honest list, and the first item is the one I cannot resolve.
The issuer is not named. Walme’s official pages do not name the legal entity or the issuer. That is not a technicality. A card payment involves several parties: the card network routes messages and sets rules, the issuer — a bank or an electronic money institution licensed to issue under the network’s licence — holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end that markets the card. Without knowing which of those Walme is, you do not know who holds your balance, who answers a chargeback, or who to complain to.
Custodial or not — the sources disagree. One third-party article claims Walme is non-custodial with two-factor authentication and fraud monitoring. Walme’s own GitHub page describes custodial wallets with KYC for cards. Both cannot be true in the same sense. This matters because control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase, and a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key that anyone who obtains it can use to restore the wallet and spend its funds. Neither claim is confirmed by Walme’s official pages, which say nothing officially about security.
No complaints, and no reviews either. A search for Walme card reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit returned no Walme reviews, and no Trustpilot page was found. This cuts both ways. It could mean a clean record. It could also mean the card is too new and too small to have attracted attention — it was unveiled in November 2025, with early activations at Web Summit Lisbon and a waitlist open at that time, all from a single third-party article. Absence of complaints in the first months of a product is close to meaningless as evidence.
Programme closures happen. They are not hypothetical. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — a single source, unconfirmed, and mentioned only to show the timeline is short.
Runs of this category have failed. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014. Coincheck lost about US$400 million in 2018. Ronin Network lost US$625 million in 2022. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk, and if Walme’s wallets are custodial, that is the shape of the risk you are taking.
Licensing, or its absence, is unresolved. In the EU, MiCA — Regulation (EU) 2023/1114 — is the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, and ESMA states it took legal effect in June 2023; the rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Providers already operating under national law could continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately — e-money and payment-services law — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. If Walme appears on that register under some name, that would be worth knowing. I did not find it, and its pages do not say either way.
Support is a page, not a promise. A Help Center and Contact pages exist. Channels, hours and languages are not stated.
Holds on declines. Declined authorisations may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. With a card whose loading and spending mechanics are not fully published, an unexplained hold is exactly the situation where you will want a support channel you cannot verify.
One more thing on cost that is not about Walme at all. In the United States, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss; for personal holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. That means each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not qualified to tell you what this means for your situation — but if you are using a crypto card heavily, this belongs on the list of questions to put to a professional in your own country, not to me.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives in this category. Here is how they compare, and I will be candid: none of them is a clean answer either.
| Card | Score | Card type | Cost | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walme | 5.8 / 10 | Virtual, 2 years | $10 issuance, 3% top-up, 0.4% per successful payment, $30 minimum | USDT and USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20, SOL |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Creating a virtual card is free; monthly fee not stated | Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid, balance in USD or EUR | not stated | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Classic/Premium/Metal | Virtual Classic $49 one-time, Virtual Premium $249 one-time; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee | 32 coins across 5 networks |
CardFlow scores 4.9. It aims at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” and “Nigerians and global users” — with no country list or exclusions stated. The virtual card is free to create, which is better than Walme’s $10, and takes 3 minutes. But its funding line is a plain bank transfer in naira or a handful of coins with no networks named, no rewards, and nothing published about fees. If you are in Nigeria it is worth a look; if you are not, the pitch is thin.
HyperCard scores 4.7. Official pages state no country list, though the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the distinction matters enormously. It is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH. Neither costs nor fees are stated on the pages I could read, and the card network is not named on the App Store page. An offer with no published fees is not a cheap offer; it is an unpriced one.
Card.fi scores 6.6, the highest of the four, and it is the one with the most published detail. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, though its terms bar residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service”. It offers Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a stainless steel metal card, with every physical order including a virtual card, issued under licence from the relevant card schemes with Visa and Mastercard not named. On cost: Virtual Classic $49 and Virtual Premium $249 one-time, no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. On fees: top-up Classic 1.5% plus $1.00, Premium 1%; FX fee Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. On funding: 32 coins across 5 networks — Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana and Kaanch — including USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB and SOL, with a deposit address per card, converted at market rate on arrival, and the terms warn that the wrong chain risks permanent loss.
The catch, and it is a real one: Card.fi costs more up front and more per top-up than Walme. What you buy with that money is transparency. Every fee is published, the tier structure is spelled out, and there are physical and metal options if you want a card that exists in your hand.
Two more things about Card.fi you should know before you get seduced by the numbers. Rewards are cashback on card spending only: Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT a month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% capped at 100 USDT a month and 5,000 USDT, or 2% capped at 250 USDT a month and 20,000 USDT, plus a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month and “up to 18%” on Metal balances, variable. That last one is variable, which is the word that should stop you. And its own terms warn that sending on the wrong network risks permanent loss — the same irreversible-transfer trap as everywhere else in this category.
My comparison, then. Walme is cheaper to start and cheaper to load. Card.fi is more expensive and far more legible. If you are spending small amounts and want the cheapest on-ramp from USDT, Walme is defensible. If you want to know what you are agreeing to, Card.fi is the better-documented product. CardFlow and HyperCard both scored lower than Walme on my own scale, and both are less transparent about fees, which is a pattern worth noticing about this category in general.
Who I would recommend it to
To someone who already holds USDT or USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 or Solana, wants a low-cost way to convert it into everyday spending money, and has already decided they are comfortable with a product that does not disclose its issuer. The three-network support and the $30 minimum make it one of the better-funded options I found, and the 0.4% per-payment fee is genuinely competitive.
I would not recommend it as a primary card, as a place to hold money you cannot afford to lose sight of, or to anyone who needs to know that a dispute will be handled fairly by a named institution.
Before you load money, I would do three things. Ask Walme directly who the issuing entity is and check that name against ESMA’s register of authorised CASPs and e-money institutions. Keep the first balance small, because the fee structure punishes small balances less than you would expect but the withdrawal terms are not published at all. And check whether the app you need is actually available — the Google Play listing is still “Coming Soon”, which tells you something about how settled the product is.
Frequently asked questions
What is Walme card?
Walme is a virtual payment card that you load with cryptocurrency and spend like any other card. You convert crypto to a fiat balance at the point of purchase, and the card draws down that balance. It is virtual only, valid for 2 years, with no documents required to sign up and a $10 issuance fee.
How does Walme card work?
You convert crypto into a spendable balance, then pay with it through Apple Pay, Google Pay or the card number. Walme accepts USDT and USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 and SOL, with the WLM token also usable. Each successful transaction costs 0.4% plus $0.25, and topping up costs 3%.
Is Walme a bank?
Not on the evidence available. Walme’s official pages do not name a legal entity or an issuing bank. In this category the brand is often only a programme manager, while a bank or licensed electronic money institution actually issues the card. Until Walme names that institution, I would not treat it as a bank.
Who owns Walme?
The card’s public pages do not say. Walme is the name on the site and the app, and the legal entity behind it is not stated. A GitHub page under the Walme name describes custodial wallets with KYC for cards, but ownership itself is not something I could confirm.
Does Walme card require KYC?
Walme markets the virtual card as requiring no documents, and Walme’s GitHub page refers to KYC for cards. Verification levels are not stated on the official pages. Note that regulated firms generally must identify customers under anti-money-laundering law, and if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require them to decline or end the relationship.
How do I top up the Walme card?
You send USDT or USDC to Walme, on one of three supported networks: TRC-20, ERC-20 or SOL. The minimum top-up is $30 and the fee is 3%. Transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong network or to the wrong address can lose the money permanently.
Is Walme card free?
No. Issuance costs $10. Topping up costs 3%, each transaction costs $0.25, each cancellation costs $0.25, and a successful transaction costs 0.4%. The minimum top-up is $30. Reduced fees are offered to holders of the WLM token.
Is Walme card safe?
I would not answer yes. Walme’s official pages say nothing about security. Third-party sources contradict each other: one article claims non-custodial with two-factor authentication and fraud monitoring, while Walme’s GitHub page describes custodial wallets with KYC. Custodial arrangements carry counterparty and hack risk, as the Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin losses show.
Where can I use the Walme card?
Walme says “Card availability may vary by region” without publishing which regions. An unofficial Walme team reply on Product Hunt lists countries where merchant transactions are blocked for regulatory reasons, including Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela. Ask Walme before you rely on it where you live.
Is Walme card worth it?
For small, frequent spending the fees bite: 0.4% plus $0.25 on a $12 coffee is about 2.5%. For large purchases the same fees are negligible. It is worth it mainly if you value cheap stablecoin funding across three networks more than published terms, an named issuer and a dispute process — none of which I could find.
Virtual card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
