Self-Custody Spending, Real Fees: A Tuyo Card Breakdown

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you hold crypto yourself and want to spend it without giving up your keys, the Tuyo card puts a Visa number in front of your own wallet. The appeal is real: no custody, USDC on Base, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a stated spend limit that runs into five figures. But the cost of actually using it abroad, the confusion around eligibility, and the abrupt end of its headline reward make this a card for a specific person rather than a general recommendation. Here is what I found after working through the terms, fee tables and complaint patterns.

Tuyo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 7.3 Out of 10 — Good for Self-Custody Users, Poor for Everyone Else

The Tuyo card earns a 7.3 out of 10. It works well for people who already hold USDC, understand networks, and want their own keys to stay their own. It works badly for anyone who just wants a normal debit card, travels often and cares about foreign-exchange costs, or lives somewhere the country list has quietly closed the door.

Where the points come from — and where they do not — matters more than the total:

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 7 / 10 27 countries closed outright by verified residence, plus 25 US states and territories; most of the world stays open
Cost 7 / 10 Issuance and monthly fee free; 1% currency fee plus 1% abroad fee, up to 2% on a purchase; 0.25% crypto conversion
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDC on Base, any token on five networks converted in-app; fiat via SEPA, ACH, SPEI, Apple Pay and Google Pay
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Not a bank, fiat via Bridge Ventures, cards from Rain; reward programme closes 31 October 2026, complaints about app freezes and slow support
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual Visa instantly, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM up to $250; physical card “coming soon” with no date

The pattern here is worth naming plainly: the number of ways to put money in is unusually wide, while the number of ways to spend it are narrower and more expensive than the headline “free card” suggests. Tuyo is a solid instrument for the person it was built for. For everyone else, the fees and the geographic gaps eat the advantage.

Will They Give You the Card?

They will give it to you in most of the world — but not everywhere, and not on the basis of your passport. The rule is verified residence, and there are twenty-seven countries where it is shut entirely.

Those twenty-seven prohibited jurisdictions are: AF, BD, BY, CN, CD, CU, IN, IR, IQ, LB, LY, ML, MM, NP, NG, KP, RU, SO, SS, SD, SY, TR, UA, GB, VE, VN.

That list contains some surprises. Russia is platform-wide prohibited: no card issuance, and no card payments either. Belarus is platform-wide prohibited with no card issuance — but card payments *are* available, which is an unusual split. Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom all sit inside the closed list. If you are reading this in Moscow or Istanbul, the short answer is no.

Beyond the platform-wide list, the card provider adds its own issuance restrictions for: BY, CN (mainland), CU, IN, IR, IQ, IL, MM, NP, NI, KP, RU, SY, TR, UA, VE, VN. Note that IL — Israel — appears here as an issuer restriction rather than a platform-wide prohibition. Two lists, two different effects, and only the first one is a total block.

In the United States, the card is unavailable in these states and territories: AZ, DE, GA, ID, LA, MD, MS, MO, NV, NM, ND, OH, OR, RI, SD, TN, VT, WA, WI, plus DC, PR, the US Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands.

If you are outside all of that, you are in the open part of the map — which is most of Latin America, most of Western and Central Europe outside the UK, the Gulf, and much of Asia-Pacific.

One caution worth raising here rather than later: several users report depositing funds and only then discovering their country was not eligible. That is a complaint pattern, not a stated rule, but it is exactly the kind of thing to test before you send anything.

How to Get It

The process is short, and the identity check is the only real gate. The sequence is: download the app, register, pass identity verification with a government-issued document, deposit USDC on Base, and receive a virtual card instantly once your verification is approved.

What you need:

There is one verification level, not a tiered system — no basic-versus-enhanced structure. What you get is a single check against a government-issued document. That simplicity cuts both ways: it is fast for people whose documents are in good order, and unforgiving for people whose are not.

The card’s own terms list the reasons applications fail: document issues, unclear photos, and unsupported occupation codes. On rejection, the decision is final. There is one caveat — if the app shows a generic setup error instead of a clear refusal, support can check whether your profile data is missing or wrong, which is a different situation from a declined application.

Two things the public pages do not say: the processing time is not stated, and there is no stated window in which you can fix a rejected file.

And the thing to be clear about at the outset: you get a virtual card only. The physical card is “coming soon” with no date attached. There is no metal tier, no paid tier, no second version of this card.

What It Really Costs: Fees and Limits

The word “free” appears in three places here — issuance, monthly, annual — and all three are true. Everything after that is where the money goes, and the fees are not hidden but they do stack.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Tuyo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Issuance fee Free
Monthly / yearly fee Free
Tiers Single tier, no paid plans
FX fee 1% when spending in a currency other than USD
Abroad fee 1% on any purchase made outside the US
Combined worst case Up to 2% per purchase
Crypto conversion 0.25% volume fee, or network fee if higher during congestion
Bridging and stablecoin-to-stablecoin trades Exempt from the volume fee
Card currency USD
ATM withdrawal maximum $250 per withdrawal, including ATM operator surcharge
ATM attempts 3 per rolling 24 hours, approved and declined both counted
Tuyo’s own ATM fee None; operator fees apply and count toward the $250
New card daily spending limit $50,000 USD
Limit after $50,000 total spend Rises to $100,000
Limit after $100,000 total spend Rises to $200,000
Monthly spending limit Not stated

Three everyday payments, priced

A coffee in New York, in dollars. Zero. A USD purchase inside the US carries no fee at all, and there is no per-transaction charge from Tuyo. This is the clean case.

A coffee in Lisbon, in euros. Two percent — the 1% currency fee plus the 1% abroad fee, since you are outside the US. On a €4 coffee that is roughly eight cents of pure friction.

A meal in Tokyo, in yen, paid while your balance is dollars. Same two percent, on a much larger number. A ¥12,000 dinner becomes roughly $2.40 in fees, and on top of that you pay 0.25% to convert whatever you convert on the way in — though bridging and stablecoin-to-stablecoin trades are exempt from that volume fee.

The pattern is easy to hold in your head: the card is cheap at home and expensive abroad, and the card’s own legal paperwork admits a wider range. The Cardholder Agreement (International, Nov 2025) states the Foreign Exchange Fee at “up to 3%” and the Cross Border Fee at “up to 3%” as legal maximums. The advertised numbers today are lower — 1% each — but the ceiling in the contract is not.

The ATM rules deserve a second look because they are unusually tight. $250 maximum per withdrawal, three attempts per rolling 24-hour window, and both approved *and declined* attempts count against that three. Two failed tries — a wrong PIN, a bank that does not accept the card — and you have one left for the whole day. No free withdrawal allowance is stated.

On spending limits, the design is unusual in your favour: a new card starts at $50,000 a day, climbs to $100,000 once your lifetime spend hits $50,000, then to $200,000 after $100,000. You can also change the limit yourself in-app (Card → Change limit) after at least one purchase, which matters more in practice than the ceiling — a daily limit you can tighten is a real safety tool, and it is the one most people never touch.

How to Top Up

This is the strongest part of the product, and it is worth saying why: the nine out of ten here is not generosity, it is design. Tuyo is a self-custody card built around USDC on Base, and the top-up paths follow from that.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Tuyo starts with a transfer to the right network

By crypto — the native route. The card runs on USDC on the Base network. You can send USDC to Base directly, and receiving it is free, with you paying only the sending network fee. You can also send *any* token on Base, Ethereum, Arbitrum, BNB Smart Chain or Polygon, and convert it to USDC inside the app. That is a genuinely wide door for someone whose crypto is scattered across chains.

By fiat — five rails. Apple Pay and Google Pay, a debit or credit card, a linked US bank account, a USD bank transfer by ACH or domestic wire (no SWIFT), a EUR bank transfer by SEPA or SEPA Instant (no SWIFT, from an account in your own name), and an MXN bank transfer by SPEI.

Converting fiat into crypto carries a small FX spread, usually under 1%, per the FAQ. No minimum top-up is stated.

Two things to keep in mind. EUR deposits can auto-convert to USD, which is convenient until you wanted to hold euros. And multi-currency account numbers are available in USD (account and routing number), EUR (IBAN) and MXN (CLABE), so receiving fiat does not always mean going through a crypto exchange first.

And the part that sets Tuyo apart from custodial cards: you can withdraw your crypto to your own wallet at any time, even if KYC fails or your account is restricted. No lock-ups, no exceptions. Fiat withdrawal goes out by bank transfer in USD, EUR or MXN. No specific withdrawal fee is stated beyond standard trading and network fees.

Paying With It Every Day

Everyday use is where Tuyo scores well, with the caveat that “everyday” here means virtual.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, and both work well once set up. Two caveats, one of them outside Tuyo’s control: some merchant categories are blocked, and declined transactions show “Merchant not supported” in the app. And Apple or Google may refuse to add the card based on their own risk checks — your device, your location, your account history. If the wallet addition fails, the reason is often not Tuyo’s.

Rewards have just changed shape, and this is the biggest thing to understand before you sign up for anything.

Read that middle bullet again. A reward you cannot predict and the issuer controls entirely is not a discount; it is a marketing programme that has now been switched off. The replacement — a flat 1.5% on everything, everywhere — is honestly a better product, and it is the one to judge Tuyo on.

The app is solid on iPhone and shakier on Android: 4.4 out of 5 from 130 ratings on the App Store, against 3.9 from about 305 Google Play reviews with 10,000+ downloads.

What Can Go Wrong

The uncomfortable part of this review is that the strongest criticisms are recent, documented, and mostly about the company’s own changes.

The reward programme was killed. In June 2026, the CEO of Rain — Tuyo’s card issuance partner — told Forbes his company was “not looking at or doing” probabilistic rewards like BNPM, citing legal and regulatory concerns. Two months later Tuyo announced BNPM would end on 31 October 2026, with the co-founder citing user exploitation, mounting costs and team distraction. A reward launched in May 2026 is being shut down in October 2026. The flat 1.5% that replaces it is guaranteed only through end of 2026, which tells you how the company itself is thinking about the next one.

The app freezes after verification. Users report the app freezing after verification, requiring a reinstall, then being unable to get back into the account — with support taking days to respond.

Country eligibility is unclear in practice. One user deposited 110 USDC after being told their country was eligible; the card was then denied, and support said the country was not eligible. Others report verification blocks stopping them from adding funds at all.

Support is slow. The stated expectation is a reply within one business day, and that line comes from a related product’s contact page, not confirmed for the card itself. User reports describe days. Hours are not stated. The app supports English and Spanish.

The company structure is a chain of parties. Tuyo Inc. is a fintech company, not a bank. Fiat services — fiat-to-stablecoin conversion and virtual account numbers — come from Bridge Ventures, Inc., a licensed US money transmitter. Cards are issued through Signify Holdings, Inc. (“Rain”) under licensed partner institutions on the Visa licence. Tuyo’s own registration jurisdiction is not explicitly stated on the site; a third-party directory lists Delaware as unofficial. Funds are not FDIC-insured.

On the plus side, the security design is genuinely good. Tuyo never takes custody of your crypto — you control the private keys. There is a card freeze toggle in-app and a PIN you set yourself, and the daily limit is adjustable, which caps your single-day exposure. The app uses biometrics and the device secure enclave for key storage, with iCloud or Google Drive backup. Daily debit authorisation can only pull up to the activated daily limit from your USDC on Base balance.

Two things are simply not stated, and I would want them answered before committing money: the card’s own help centre and FAQ say nothing about chargebacks, disputed transactions, refund handling or time frames. The Cardholder Agreement (International, Nov 2025) was hosted on Notion in a form that could not be read as a document.

Finally, a category-level risk worth holding onto: even with self-custody, blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright.

What to Take Instead

Three other self-custody-adjacent cards came out of the same review process. Here is how they compare, honestly.

Card Score Card type Base cost Key fee Rewards
Tuyo 7.3 / 10 Virtual Visa Free 1% FX + 1% abroad; 0.25% conversion 1.5% cashback from 1 Nov 2026
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard, virtual or metal Virtual free; metal $199/year “Minimal fee per transaction”, amount not stated 1% virtual; metal 3% up to $10,000 then 1%
KAST 6.1 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, up to 10 cards Standard $0; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year 0.5%–1.75% FX; $0.10 under $25; $0.50 declined 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier, on monthly caps
TokenPocket 5.8 / 10 Visa/Mastercard debit NFT fee partly covered, then “no additional fees” 1% on crypto deposit None stated; 1% refunded via rewards

MetaMask is the closest substitute and, on some points, the better product. It issues a virtual card instantly and a metal card you can pre-order, spends straight from a connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, and states no foreign transaction fee. Its drawbacks: US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed, it needs proof of residency across 45 listed countries or territories, and the metal tier costs $199 a year. Its headline 3% cashback is footnoted down to 1% after the first $10,000 spent — read the footnote.

KAST is the one to look at if you want a physical card and predictable membership costs. Ten cards per user, virtual and physical, Visa Platinum or Infinite tiers, stablecoin top-up at 0% and USD spending at 0%. The price is the catch: $1,000 or $10,000 a year for Premium or Private, a $40 delivery fee on the Standard physical card, and a 1%–1.75% FX fee. Its own terms conflict on acceptable tokens — the app lists PYUSD and RLUSD, the terms say USDT and USDC.

TokenPocket scores lowest. Visa debit for much of Europe, Mastercard for Asia-Pacific and Australia, but a 1% fee on every crypto deposit, no stated FX fee, and no cashback.

One comparison point applies to all of them, including Tuyo: a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. Merchants look up the issuer’s BIN and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright. This is not a Tuyo problem specifically — but it is a problem you will meet.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend the Tuyo card to someone who already holds USDC, knows which network they are sending on, and has read the country list carefully. If your money is already on Base, or you are willing to bridge it, and you spend mostly in dollars or mainly at home, the 0.25% conversion and free issuance make this one of the more sensible self-custody cards available. The ability to withdraw everything to your own wallet at any time — even after KYC fails — is a genuine protection that custodial cards cannot offer you.

I would not recommend it to someone whose income arrives in local currency, who travels monthly, or who needs a card they can hand to a merchant without a second thought. Two percent abroad is a heavy tax on ordinary life. Nor would I recommend it to anyone in one of the twenty-seven prohibited countries who is reading this hoping for an exception; there isn’t one, and the reports of deposits made before an eligibility reversal are a warning rather than an edge.

And I would wait, if I were choosing today. The reward that made Tuyo interesting is gone, the replacement is guaranteed only through the end of 2026, the physical card has no date, and dispute handling is not documented. The rails are good. The specifics are still moving. Come back to this in six months and re-read the reward section.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Tuyo card?

The Tuyo card is a self-custody Visa card that spends from your own crypto rather than from an account a company holds for you. You deposit USDC on the Base network — or any token on Base, Ethereum, Arbitrum, BNB Smart Chain or Polygon, converted in-app — and the card draws down that balance at each payment. It is issued as a virtual card once identity verification is approved, and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. A physical card is listed as “coming soon” with no announced date.

How does the Tuyo card work?

It behaves like a prepaid card drawn on a stored balance. When you pay, the card authorises against the dollar balance in your account, and Tuyo can pull only up to your activated daily limit from your USDC on Base. Because it spends a balance rather than an overdraft, it cannot go negative. You keep control of the private keys throughout, and you can withdraw crypto to your own wallet at any time, even if verification fails or your account is restricted.

Is Tuyo a bank, and who owns it?

No — Tuyo Inc. is a financial technology company, not a bank. Fiat currency services, including fiat-to-stablecoin conversion and virtual bank account numbers, are provided by Bridge Ventures, Inc., a licensed US money transmitter. Cards are issued by partner institutions under the Visa licence through Signify Holdings, Inc., which trades as Rain. Tuyo’s own registration jurisdiction is not stated on its site; a third-party directory lists Delaware, but that is unofficial.

Is the Tuyo card available in my country?

It depends on verified residence, not citizenship. Twenty-seven countries are prohibited outright: AF, BD, BY, CN, CD, CU, IN, IR, IQ, LB, LY, ML, MM, NP, NG, KP, RU, SO, SS, SD, SY, TR, UA, GB, VE, VN. The card is also unavailable in 25 US states and territories, including AZ, DE, GA, ID, LA, MD, MS, MO, NV, NM, ND, OH, OR, RI, SD, TN, VT, WA, WI, DC, PR and several island territories. Check the lists before depositing anything.

Does the Tuyo card require KYC?

Yes, and the check is single-level rather than tiered. You need a government-issued passport or ID card, and your residence is verified even though proof of address is not explicitly listed as required. Minimum age is 18. Applications can fail for document issues, unclear photos, or unsupported occupation codes, and a rejection is final — though a generic setup error in the app is worth raising with support, since that may mean missing profile data.

How do I top up the Tuyo card?

Receiving USDC on Base is free — you pay only the sending network fee. You can also deposit any token on Base, Ethereum, Arbitrum, BNB Smart Chain or Polygon and convert it to USDC in the app. On the fiat side you can use Apple Pay or Google Pay, a debit or credit card, a linked US bank account, ACH or domestic wire in USD, SEPA or SEPA Instant in EUR, or SPEI in pesos. Fiat-to-crypto conversion carries a small FX spread, usually under 1%.

What does the Tuyo card cost to use?

Issuance, monthly and annual fees are all free, and there is a single tier with no paid plans. Spending in USD inside the US costs 0%. Spending in another currency adds 1%, and spending outside the US adds a further 1% — up to 2% on a single purchase. Crypto conversion is 0.25%, though bridging and stablecoin-to-stablecoin trades are exempt. The Cardholder Agreement lists legal maximums of “up to 3%” for both the foreign exchange and cross-border fees.

Is the Tuyo card safe for my money?

The custody position is the strong point: Tuyo never takes control of your keys, and you can withdraw to your own wallet at any time regardless of account status. The app offers a card freeze toggle, an in-app PIN, adjustable daily limits, biometrics and secure-enclave key storage. What is missing is documentation: the help centre does not address chargebacks, disputed transactions or refunds. Funds are not FDIC-insured, and blockchain transfers are irreversible if sent on an unsupported network.

What happened to the Tuyo rewards?

The BNPM “Buy Now Pay Maybe” programme, which offered random free purchases at Tuyo’s discretion, ends 31 October 2026 — the co-founder cited user exploitation and mounting costs. Users also reported free-purchase frequency dropping sharply after the first weeks. From 1 November 2026 it is replaced by 1.5% cashback on all purchases globally, with no minimums or caps, though guaranteed only through the end of 2026. Separately, TUYOs points are off-chain and not a tradable token, though a launch is expected in 2026.

Can I add the Tuyo card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes, both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and the card works well in them once added. Two things can go wrong, and only one is Tuyo’s fault: some merchant categories are blocked entirely, with declined transactions showing “Merchant not supported” in the app; and Apple or Google may decline to add the card based on their own risk checks around your device, location or account history. If the wallet refuses the card, the reason is often outside Tuyo’s control.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team