A crypto-funded payment card for people inside the EEA — useful, but the public paperwork is thin in places
If you live in the European Economic Area or Switzerland and you already hold some crypto, the Confidopay card is built around a simple idea: load the card from a Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDC or BNB balance and spend the proceeds wherever Visa or Mastercard is taken. It comes as a virtual card you can use within minutes of signing up, a physical card for shops and ATMs, and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The score I land on is 7.6 out of 10, and the rest of this page walks through who the card actually suits, what it really costs, how the funding flow looks, and where Confidopay’s own pages leave gaps.
The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.6 out of 10
Confidopay fits a fairly specific reader: an adult living in the EEA or Switzerland who already keeps some crypto and wants a card on a major network without first converting to euros at an exchange. If that is you, the card does the job — issuance is free, the spend conversion is 0.1% plus €1, and the daily and monthly limits are generous for ordinary shopping. It does not fit you if you are outside the EEA, if you sit in a country where onboarding or card payments are restricted, or if you need a rewards programme, a multicurrency wallet, or a card from a household-name bank.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Citizenship or residency in the EEA or Switzerland; payment cards only to EEA residents; Hungary onboarding currently suspended |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Free physical and virtual issuance; crypto exchange 0.1% + €1; no monthly fee or FX markup is published |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on Ethereum and Polygon, BNB on BNB Smart Chain; USDT is not listed |
| Reliability and complaints | 9 / 10 | Issuer Wallester AS in Estonia, crypto services under a VASP licence; no public incidents or complaint pages surfaced |
| Everyday use | 10 / 10 | Virtual card available straight after verification, physical card follows, Apple Pay and Google Pay for both, ATM up to €3,000 a month and €350 a day |
| Total | 7.6 / 10 | A clean EEA card for someone funding from a crypto balance, held back only by geography and a thin public fee schedule |
Who will they give you the card
The headline rule is geography. Confidopay serves natural persons who hold citizenship or residency in an EEA state or in Switzerland, and the payment cards themselves are issued only to EEA residents. Hungarian onboarding is currently suspended, with no return date given. Citizens of Russia are turned away unless they also hold EU, EEA or Swiss citizenship, and card payments are blocked in a list of jurisdictions that includes Russia, Belarus, Ukraine (in part), the United Arab Emirates and Türkiye. The rule is applied by citizenship and residence, and the blocked-country list for spending is separate from the onboarding list, so being allowed in is not the same as being able to spend everywhere.
Two practical consequences follow. First, your nationality is screened, and so is the country you live in — the two checks sit on top of each other, and either one can be the reason an application is held back. Second, even if your account is open and funded, a transaction at a merchant routed through a blocked country can still fail. If your travel or shopping crosses those borders, you will want to keep a backup card.
Outside the EEA the only practical route, in public terms, is to be a citizen of an EEA state or Switzerland but physically elsewhere — and even then, card issuance requires EEA residency. The card is not designed for travellers, expatriates in Asia or Latin America, or US residents, and nothing on the card’s own pages suggests that is changing.
How to get it
The signup flow is built on two KYC tiers, and the first one is the door to the virtual card.
Tier 1 asks for an identity document plus a selfie. EEA and Swiss citizens can use a national ID card or a passport. Everyone else needs a passport. Third-country nationals who live in the EEA or Switzerland also have to upload a residence permit, and Confidopay may ask for a proof of address at this stage. A utility bill or a bank statement is the kind of document that normally works; a mobile phone bill, by the time you hit Tier 2, does not.
Once the first tier is approved, the virtual card is available immediately. There is no waiting list and no separate “order” step — verification and the card number happen in the same flow. The physical card is ordered from inside the app, and the public pages do not state which countries it is delivered to, how long delivery takes, how much shipping costs, or what a replacement costs. If any of that matters to you, it is worth checking in-app before you commit.
Tier 2 is triggered automatically when virtual-asset inflow reaches €15,000, or total turnover reaches €25,000. It asks for a proof of address (utility bill or bank statement, dated within the last three months; mobile bills are not accepted) and a source-of-funds explanation. You have 30 days to send the documents. During that window your access is not throttled, which is worth knowing if you are planning a larger deposit. The published documents do not say how long Tier 2 takes to review, what specific reasons lead to a rejection, or what an appeal looks like.
Fees: what it really costs
The published fee schedule is short, and that is part of the reason this section is honest about gaps as well as numbers. Issuance of both the physical and the virtual card is €0. There is no monthly or annual fee listed. The crypto exchange is 0.1% plus €1, and that is the same number used for card-spend conversion. Crypto deposits and bank transfers in are charged at the same 0.1% plus €1. Crypto withdrawals add a third-party network fee on top.

What is not stated: an FX markup on top of the network rate, a separate ATM fee, the network or scheme the card runs on, and the card’s base currency. Fees on the public pages are quoted in euros.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Physical card issuance | €0 |
| Virtual card issuance | €0 |
| Monthly or annual fee | Not listed |
| Crypto exchange / spend conversion | 0.1% + €1 |
| FX markup | Not listed |
| ATM fee | Not listed |
| ATM withdrawal limit | €3,000 / month, €350 / day (both tiers) |
| Tier 1 card payments | €10,000 / month, €10,000 / day |
| Tier 1 total outbound | €10,000 / month |
| Tier 2 card payments | €15,000 / month, €10,000 / day |
| Tier 2 total outbound | No overall limit |
| Crypto deposit in | 0.1% + €1 |
| Bank transfer in | 0.1% + €1 |
| Crypto withdrawal | 0.1% + €1 plus network fee |
| Bank transfer out | 0.1% + €1 |
| Minimum top-up | Not stated |
A few everyday situations, walked through with those numbers.
- A €40 supermarket shop on the virtual card, paid from a USDC balance. The spend conversion is 0.1% of €40 plus €1, so about €1.04 in fees for the transaction. The card runs on a major network, so contactless at the till is the same flow as any other debit card.
- A €90 restaurant bill paid in a non-euro country with the physical card. The conversion is 0.1% + €1 on top of whatever Visa or Mastercard’s exchange rate is. Confidopay does not publish a separate FX markup, so the only visible fee is the standard spend conversion. If the network charges a cross-border fee, it is not disclosed in the public schedule.
- A €200 cash withdrawal from an ATM abroad. The 0.1% + €1 spend conversion applies. The ATM operator’s own surcharge (almost always present at foreign ATMs) is on top, and Confidopay’s own ATM fee is not listed, so the safe assumption is that the operator’s fee is the only surcharge you can see in advance.
Top up: how to fund the card
The funding flow has two parts: a crypto deposit that lands in your Confidopay balance, and then a spend in euros (or whatever the card currency turns out to be — the public pages do not say) when you pay. The list of accepted assets is short and specific. You can deposit BTC, BTC on the Lightning Network, ETH, USDC on Ethereum (ERC-20), USDC on Polygon, and BNB on BNB Smart Chain. USDT is not on the list. That matters if your stack is mainly Tether, because there is no path through Confidopay to spend USDT directly — you would have to swap to USDC or another supported asset first, and the swap itself carries fees.

Once the crypto is in, you can either convert to fiat and hold a euro balance, or spend directly. The conversion fee is 0.1% + €1, the same number used for card-spend conversion, and the same number used for bank transfers in and out. Crypto withdrawals add a network fee on top, because the underlying chain (Ethereum gas, Bitcoin miner fee, Polygon gas) is paid to the network, not to Confidopay. Minimum top-up amounts are not stated.
A practical warning. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and the address you send to is tied to a specific network. If you send USDC on a network that is not on Confidopay’s list — for example USDC on Solana or USDC on Avalanche — the deposit can be lost, or only recovered through manual support with no guarantee. Sending USDT at all is a non-starter, because it is not on the supported list. Before any non-trivial transfer, copy the address and the network from inside the app, not from an old email or a screenshot, and send a small test amount first.
The withdrawal side mirrors the deposit side. You can pull crypto out at 0.1% + €1 plus the network fee, or pull euros out by bank transfer at the same 0.1% + €1. The published terms say the company can close accounts with 30 days’ notice, and immediately in fraud cases; what happens to a remaining balance on closure is not described.
Paying with it every day
The card behaves like a normal contactless debit card at the till, and the same goes for online checkout. Both the virtual and the physical card can be added to Apple Pay and Google Pay, so a phone or a watch is enough to pay in most shops. Online, the card number from the virtual card works the same way any other Visa or Mastercard number does at checkout.
The limits are generous for ordinary use. Tier 1 lets you spend €10,000 a day and €10,000 a month on the card, with an overall outbound cap of €10,000 a month. Tier 2 raises card payments to €15,000 a month (the daily cap stays at €10,000) and removes the overall outbound cap. ATM withdrawals are €350 a day and €3,000 a month on both tiers. There is no rewards or cashback programme in the public material, so each euro you spend is a euro you spent — there is no kickback layered on top.
A few things the public pages do not say. The card network (Visa or Mastercard) is not stated, the card’s base currency is not stated, and the list of merchant categories the card declines is not stated. In practice, that means a refused transaction at, say, a betting site or a crypto exchange could be either the merchant’s policy or the issuer’s policy, and there is no public table to point to. If a category matters to you, the answer has to come from support.
The mobile app is available on Google Play and the App Store; the public pages do not link through to the live listing or quote app-store ratings. Support is by email at [email protected], with a published window of 24 to 48 business hours, and a live chat that runs Monday to Friday 9:00 to 17:00 CET. The complaint policy says complaints are acknowledged in two business days and resolved in seven to ten business days. Chargebacks — the formal dispute mechanism for a card payment — are not described in the public pages, so it is fair to treat a chargeback as something to ask about before you rely on it.
What can go wrong
The risk list has three layers: counterparty risk, operational risk, and the standard risks of paying from crypto.
On the counterparty side, Confidopay UAB is a Lithuanian company, registration number 306414477, registered at Mėsinių g. 5, Vilnius. The card itself is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian company (registry code 11812881, Tallinn), and the virtual-asset services and the Virtual IBAN are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, which holds an Estonian VASP licence (FVT000546). That is a sensible structure for an EEA card: a licensed issuer and a separately licensed virtual-asset service provider, both under Estonian supervision. The public pages do not describe how customer funds are safeguarded — segregated accounts, insurance, or any other model — so the standard “what happens if the company fails” question is not answered in writing.
On the operational side, I did not find a public incident involving Confidopay, and a single search did not turn up a Trustpilot page or a Reddit thread in the brand’s name. The site lists no complaints or news, and the Hungary onboarding suspension has no published date. That is a thin evidence base: it could mean the company is incident-free, or it could mean the card is too small to have attracted attention. The published complaint timeline (two business days to acknowledge, seven to ten to resolve) is faster than many crypto card programmes, but the absence of a chargeback policy is a real gap.
On the crypto side, the usual risks apply. Sending on the wrong network is the most common and the most expensive mistake, because a transfer to a wrong address or a wrong chain is normally unrecoverable. The list of supported assets is narrow — there is no USDT, no Solana, no Avalanche, no Base — so a stack that lives on those chains needs an extra swap before it can fund Confidopay, with the swap’s own fees and timing. Stablecoins themselves are not guaranteed to hold their peg: USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking stress, and Tether and Circle both screen addresses against sanctions lists and can freeze funds, which means “self-custody until you deposit” is the safer mental model than “stablecoin is safe because it is called stable.” The card’s own security page mentions encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications, but the custody model — who holds the keys after you deposit — is not stated.
The account-closure line in the published terms is the one to read carefully. The company can close accounts with 30 days’ notice, and immediately in fraud cases. What happens to a positive balance in either scenario is not described, so the prudent move is not to keep a large euro balance parked on Confidopay longer than you need to.
What to take instead
Three other cards cover adjacent ground, and the table below puts their published facts next to Confidopay’s. None of them is a direct replacement, and the score differences reflect that — Confidopay’s 7.6 sits above the alternatives on this list, but each alternative opens up a different geography or a different feature.
| Card | Score | Networks and shape | Where you can get it | How you fund it | What it costs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Confidopay | 7.6 / 10 | Virtual and physical; Visa or Mastercard not stated; EUR fees | EEA or Swiss resident (citizenship also accepted); cards only to EEA residents; Hungary onboarding suspended | BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on Ethereum, USDC on Polygon, BNB on BNB Smart Chain; then convert | Free issuance; 0.1% + €1 on crypto exchange, deposits and most transfers |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual for now, pays in USD; physical coming soon | Not available to residents or registered entities of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; rule is residence or registration, not citizenship | USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Virtual card $5 one-time; plans: Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month; USD card use free; FX fee 2% |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account; physical or virtual not stated | Not stated | Not stated | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, live OTC conversion; Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% |
| Morse | 7.5 / 10 | Fully virtual Visa prepaid debit, spends from a Morse Balance in any currency | Residence-based, not citizenship; app in 140+ countries for P2P, local add/withdraw in 70+; closed-beta countries (including the UK, Switzerland, Singapore, Australia, Japan) need an invite code; sanctioned persons excluded | Debit card, stablecoin transfer, Account Details in USD, EUR, MXN, COP, BRL (with CPF); USDC, USDG, EURC on Solana free; BTC, USDT, ETH and other tokens accepted; self-custodial wallet | Card issuance and monthly fee not stated; FX-free, real-time Visa rate; online and contactless payments free |
Two patterns to take away. First, if the EEA is your hard constraint, Confidopay is the strongest fit of the four. Second, if you live outside the EEA, none of the cards in this section is a clean replacement for Confidopay: International Visa Card blocks a long list of countries, Morse is closed-beta in the UK, Switzerland, Singapore, Australia, Japan and a handful of others, and UNi Card’s geography is not stated at all. The honest answer for a non-EEA reader is to look beyond this shortlist.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Confidopay card to an adult living in the EEA or Switzerland, outside Hungary’s suspended onboarding, who already holds a crypto balance in one of the supported assets and wants to spend it through a card on a major network without first cashing out at an exchange. The free issuance, the 0.1% + €1 spend conversion, the daily and monthly limits, and the Apple Pay and Google Pay support cover everyday shopping and travel well.
I would not recommend it if you are outside the EEA, if your country of residence or citizenship puts you on the onboarding or blocked-spending lists, if your stack is mainly USDT or lives on a chain Confidopay does not support, if you want a rewards or cashback programme, or if you need a published FX markup, ATM fee, chargeback policy or safeguarding model before you commit. In any of those cases, the public material does not yet give you enough to decide on, and a direct question to support is the right next step.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Confidopay card?
A payment card, virtual and physical, that lets you spend from a crypto balance converted at the point of sale. Confidopay UAB in Lithuania runs the programme, Wallester AS in Estonia issues the card, and Lightspark Payments Europe AS provides the virtual-asset services under an Estonian VASP licence.
How does the Confidopay card work?
You send supported crypto to your Confidopay deposit address, it lands in your in-app balance, and the card spends from that balance in fiat. The published conversion is 0.1% plus €1 per transaction, applied both at the exchange step and at the spend step.
Is Confidopay a bank?
No. Confidopay UAB is a Lithuanian company; the card is issued by Wallester AS, an Estonian e-money institution, and crypto services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, an Estonian VASP. Customer funds are not the same as bank deposits, and deposit guarantee protection is not stated.
Who owns Confidopay?
Confidopay UAB is registered in Lithuania with company number 306414477 at Mėsinių g. 5, Vilnius. Ownership beyond that is not described in the public material.
Is the Confidopay card available in my country?
It depends on citizenship and residence. You need citizenship or residency in an EEA state or Switzerland, the card itself is only issued to EEA residents, Hungarian onboarding is currently suspended, and citizens of Russia are excluded unless they also hold EU, EEA or Swiss citizenship. Card payments are also blocked in a separate list of jurisdictions that includes Russia, Belarus, part of Ukraine, the UAE and Türkiye.
How do I get the Confidopay card?
Sign up in the app, complete Tier 1 KYC (ID or passport plus a selfie, plus a residence permit for third-country nationals), and the virtual card is available immediately after verification. The physical card is ordered from inside the app; delivery countries, time and cost are not published.
Does the Confidopay card require KYC?
Yes. Tier 1 asks for an ID document and a selfie, and may ask for a proof of address. Tier 2 kicks in at €15,000 of virtual-asset inflow or €25,000 of total turnover and adds a fresh proof of address and a source-of-funds explanation, with 30 days to send the documents and full access in the meantime.
How do I top up the Confidopay card?
Send BTC, BTC Lightning, ETH, USDC on Ethereum, USDC on Polygon, or BNB on BNB Smart Chain to the deposit address shown in the app, then either convert to fiat or spend directly. USDT is not on the list, and sending on a wrong network is the easiest way to lose a deposit.
Is the Confidopay card free?
Issuance of both the physical and the virtual card is €0, and no monthly or annual fee is listed. The main cost is the 0.1% plus €1 applied to the crypto exchange, to card-spend conversion, and to most deposits and withdrawals; an FX markup, an ATM fee and minimum top-up amounts are not stated.
Is the Confidopay card safe?
The card programme is run by licensed entities under Estonian supervision, and the public security page mentions encryption, multi-factor authentication, PCI DSS processing, real-time monitoring and instant notifications. The published material does not describe the custody model, how customer funds are safeguarded, or a chargeback process, and a single search did not surface a public incident, a Trustpilot page or a Reddit thread in the brand’s name.
App and neobank card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
