A card for people a normal bank will not issue to
If you have ever been declined an ordinary bank card, or you live in a country where your passport does not translate neatly into a local banking relationship, then the WhiteBird card probably crossed your radar for a reason. It is pitched at exactly that gap: a payment card linked to a crypto exchange rather than to a salary account, aimed in practice at Russian and Belarusian residents who want to spend from a rouble-funded exchange balance. That is a real need, and this review takes the card seriously.
It also takes it carefully. The awkward part of writing about WhiteBird is that its own public pages did not load when this review was checked — the company site refused the connection. Almost everything you will read below therefore comes from third-party reporting, and I will say so as we go, rather than presenting someone else’s summary as if it were the card’s own promise. Where the card’s public pages are silent, I say plainly that they are silent. Where two sources disagree, I show you both numbers and let you decide which one to believe.
My overall mark is 4.4 out of 10. That is not a score for fraud or danger — it is a score for how well the card does its stated job, weighed against how much is actually confirmed. Read the verdict section for the full breakdown, because a single number tells you nothing useful on its own.
Conditions and figures described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 4.4 out of 10
WhiteBird is a plausible answer to one specific problem — being able to spend a crypto-linked balance on ordinary things when your local banking system does not want you — and a poor answer to almost everything else. For residents of Belarus and Russia who already have a source of crypto and want a card to spend it, the logic of the product holds together and the price is not unreasonable. For others, or for anyone wanting a mainstream everyday card, published fee schedules, or support contacts that actually resolve, this card is not the right choice.
The 4.4 comes mostly from one uncomfortable fact: almost none of the essentials are confirmed by the card itself.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Not disclosed officially; unofficial sources say Belarus and Russia, with Visa support widened to cards from Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Georgia |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: first virtual card for non-residents of Belarus 200 BYN, extra plastic 100 BYN, servicing 0; selling crypto to the card 1.5%, buying with the card 2.5% |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Unofficial: rouble top-up via SBP and SberPay, crypto sold on the WhiteBird exchange to the card; bank fees 0.4–1.5%; networks and coins not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Unofficial: licence of the Republic of Belarus, resident of the High-Tech Park, issuer StatusBank; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Unofficial: virtual digital card and plastic for 100 BYN; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM not disclosed |
| Total | 4.4 / 10 |
Two things stand out. The highest mark — 7 for reliability — is not a promise of excellence; it is the absence of bad news, which in this category is genuinely worth something. And the lowest mark, 2 for eligibility, is the one that decides whether you can read the rest of this page at all.
Will they give you the card?
This is where the card is least forthcoming. The public pages were unreachable when I checked them, so the official answer is that nothing is stated — not “no”, simply nothing I could verify from the company itself.
What the unofficial reporting says is narrower and more useful. It describes the card as available to Russian citizens on the basis of a passport, and it describes two lines of access: residents of Belarus get the first virtual card free, while non-residents pay for it. The same starting figures say 250 BYN for a non-resident Crypto card, while a third-party investment site reports 200 BYN for the first virtual card for non-residents of Belarus — those two numbers are not the same, and I would not build a plan around either without checking at sign-up. Delivery of the physical card is reported as available across Belarus and Russia.
There is also a newer strand: WhiteBird has reportedly extended Visa card support to cards issued in Belarus, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Georgia. Read that carefully. It says which *cards* are accepted, not which *people* are accepted. It is a statement about the network it accepts, not an invitation to residents of ten countries.
So the honest answer to “will they give me the card” is: if you are a resident of Belarus or Russia with a passport and an exchange account, unofficial sources say probably. If you are elsewhere, I found nothing that says yes. And note what the 2/10 encodes — not that you will be refused, but that the card itself has not told you either way.
How to get it
Officially, nothing is stated about the application. Unofficially, the process described is: identification through a partner bank’s app, arranged so it can be done without leaving the country. That is the whole shape of it, and it has one big advantage — you are not flying somewhere for a branch appointment — and one big unknown, which is how long it takes and what documents are refused.
There are two products, and this matters more than it first appears. The Crypto card is described as a digital Mastercard debit card tied to the WhiteBird exchange and to a non-custodial Bitcash wallet. The Crypto Status card is described as Visa. Which one you get appears to depend on your standing, and the difference between them is not officially set out — the starting figures indicate that Crypto Status carries lower exchange commissions, 1.3% selling and 2.3% buying.
A physical card can be ordered, reported at 100 BYN, with delivery to Belarus and Russia. Whether physical or virtual, activation, card limits and any tier structure are all things I could not confirm from official sources.
My advice, if you are in the intended audience: read the identification step before you start, not after. It is the only part of the process with any detail attached, and it is the part most likely to stop you.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The cost picture is the second-worst documented part of the card, but the numbers that do exist are not outrageous. Two of them matter most: the exchange commission for selling crypto to the card, and the commission for buying crypto with the card.

| Item | Value | Source and caveat |
|---|---|---|
| First virtual card, non-residents of Belarus | 200 BYN | Unofficial, third-party investment site, 6 Oct 2026. Starting figures say 250 BYN for a non-resident Crypto card |
| Additional plastic card | 100 BYN | Unofficial |
| Servicing / monthly fee | 0 | Unofficial |
| Sell crypto to card | 1.5% | Unofficial. A tech site gives 2.5% sell for operations up to $10k a month — a different figure |
| Buy crypto from card | 2.5% | Unofficial. The same tech site gives 3% buy |
| Crypto Status exchange rates | 1.3% sell / 2.3% buy | Unofficial starting figures |
| Rouble transfer bank fee | 0.4–1.5% depending on channel | Unofficial |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated | — |
| Daily and monthly card limits | not stated | — |
| Exchange operation ceiling | up to 39,950 BYN for a single exchange operation | Unofficial, and this is an exchange limit, not a card limit |
| Currency of the account | not stated | A financial news site lists a “Crypto Status BYN” product |
Now let us make that concrete, because a percentage on its own tells you nothing. Three everyday situations:
Paying for something in Belarus with rouble you already hold. If you top up via SBP or SberPay and then spend, the card-side fee is zero — servicing is 0 — but the bank that sends your transfer may take 0.4–1.5% depending on the channel. That is the number to watch, and it is not the card’s fee.
Paying with money that came from crypto. Here the 1.5% selling commission applies, plus the network fee the blockchain charges for your transfer. If you sell $1,000 of crypto to the card, roughly $15 goes to the exchange before the chain takes its own cut.
Buying crypto with the card. 2.5% is the figure reported most often, though one third-party tech site suggests 3% for volumes up to $10k a month. This 3% figure is unofficial and not confirmed by the card. At that higher rate, four round trips a year on $5,000 of spending costs you in the region of $600. That is not a rounding error, and it is why the Crypto Status rates at 1.3% and 2.3% are worth chasing if you are eligible.
One thing to be careful about: the FX spread is not stated. A card that converts between currencies will almost always have a margin somewhere, and for this one it is not publicly disclosed. Ask before relying on the rate.
Top up: the part that matters most
Almost nothing here is officially documented, so let me separate what is reasonably solid from what is not.

Solid enough to plan around: the model is that you sell crypto on the WhiteBird platform to the card, and separately, unofficial sources describe rouble top-up through SBP and SberPay. Both are Belarusian and Russian domestic payment rails — instant bank transfer and a bank-linked payment method. For a reader in either country that is an ordinary, low-friction way to move rouble onto a card.
Less solid: what happens on the crypto side. Which networks and which coins are accepted is not disclosed. That is a bigger gap than it sounds. Crypto transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support — or to an address belonging to a different network — can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not automatically a thing. And on Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, which means a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send at all.
So the practical order of operations is: check the supported network before you transfer, not after. And note the rouble rail’s own fee of 0.4–1.5%, which is separate from anything the card charges.
Withdrawing money is not stated either — neither the fee, nor the route, nor whether it is possible at all.
Paying with it every day
Here I have to be blunt: the card’s own pages do not describe ordinary use, and neither does anyone else in detail.
What is there: a virtual digital card, and plastic for 100 BYN. Not there: whether Apple Pay or Google Pay work, whether there are cash withdrawals, what the daily and monthly spending ceilings are, what currency the account holds.
That is a real gap for daily life, because most card use in 2026 goes through a phone wallet. If the card cannot be tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Pay, you are reading the number off plastic at a terminal, which is slower, more exposed, and rejected more often.
There is a second issue that is not the card’s fault but lands on the cardholder. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number that tells any merchant which institution and which country issued it. Merchants can look that up and apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. A card issued in one country can simply look foreign in a shop in another. Separately, Address Verification Service, which compares the street number and postcode a buyer types against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which is a common cause of declines. None of that is specific to WhiteBird; all of it will land on this card more often than on a domestic one.
Two more small annoyances worth knowing: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
What can go wrong
Nothing official was available to check. The issuer detail — WhiteBird holding a licence of the Republic of Belarus and being a resident of the High-Tech Park, with StatusBank as the issuing bank — comes from third-party sources, not from the card. Even so, it is the most reassuring fact in this review. There is a named licensed issuer, and that is more than several products in this category can offer.
No complaints found. One search for reviews of the Crypto Status product returned nothing. I am not going to convert that into praise. It may mean the product is fine; it may mean nobody reviews it; it may mean reviews have been removed. Treat silence as unknown.
Your money, or not. The Crypto card is described as tied to a non-custodial Bitcash wallet, which is the better arrangement: the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. But non-custody cuts both ways. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and a seed phrase is typically twelve to twenty-four unencrypted words that anyone who obtains can use to restore the wallet and spend from it. Transfers are irreversible and there is no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return stolen funds. History is not encouraging either: custodial platforms have failed at scale, and holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk that a self-custody wallet simply does not have.
Programs get closed. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme it ran. Closures typically follow a pattern: notice, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — a single source, unconfirmed, but the shape of it is the shape to expect.
Stablecoins are not what they sound like. A stablecoin aims to hold a steady value, but despite the name they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether also says it disables tokens in wallets on sanctions lists and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so these tokens are not censorship-proof.
Support, security, disputes: all unstated. Whether there is live support, what the security practices are, and how a disputed charge is handled — none of it is on the public record. For a card meant to hold real money in a currency you may not be able to easily convert elsewhere, that silence is expensive.
What to take instead
If your situation allows any of these, they come with published terms rather than reconstructed ones.
| Option | Score | Who it is for | What is documented |
|---|---|---|---|
| WhiteBird | 4.4 / 10 | Russian and Belarusian residents spending from a rouble-funded exchange balance | Eligibility, fees and limits mostly unconfirmed by the card |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Users who value cashback in tokens | Cashback in YNG tokens by Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) |
| Coinbase Card | 6.4 / 10 | US residents only | Visa prepaid debit, virtual or physical; zero spending fees and no annual fees; crypto converted to US dollars; rewards optional, US users only |
| OKX | 6.2 / 10 | EU and Norway users | Mastercard virtual debit in euros via OKX Pay; no card fee; conversion spread 0.1% per one explainer versus 0.4% in the launch release; USDC or USDG balance required |
Coinbase Card is the most transparent of the four, and it is the one to look at if you are in the United States — all states except Hawaii. Account opening follows the US PATRIOT Act identity rules: name, address, date of birth and ID. Spending fees and annual fees are zero, and all other fees are disclosed in the Cardholder Agreement and User Agreement. The catch is narrow but absolute: no other countries. All crypto is converted to US dollars for purchases and ATM withdrawals, and a spread applies when Coinbase buys, sells or trades, so the zero-fee headline does not mean zero cost. Funding is free by linking a bank account or depositing part of a paycheck, and the crypto balance on Coinbase can be spent directly.
OKX is the most interesting structural fit for Europe. Launched 28 January 2026 for the EU plus Norway, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded — the explainer’s own conclusion says “entire EEA”, which is inconsistent, so treat the exact boundary as unsettled. It is run under the rule applying to EEA users of OKX Europe Ltd., a MiCAR-licensed entity. The card is a Mastercard euro-denominated virtual debit card linked to OKX Pay, issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider; no physical card is mentioned. There is no card fee and no OKX FX fee, with the conversion spread given as 0.1% by an explainer as of May 2026 and 0.4% in the launch press release — the newer figure is the one I would use. Cashback is USDG-only, so USDC purchases earn nothing, and the tiers are documented in euros: Regular 2% capped at 10, VIP1 4% at 300, VIP2 4.5% at 450, VIP3 5% at 1,000, VIP4+ 10% at 1,000 — though the accompanying text says 2–5% while the table says 10%, so the top tier is the number I would question most.
Young Card I know less about: eligibility, card type, cost and funding are all unstated in what I could check. Its one documented advantage is cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by Club tier.
One general point before you choose. A crypto card often depends on two licences: MiCA covers the crypto side — custody, exchange, transfer — while the card itself is regulated separately as e-money or a payment service. An electronic money institution in the EU can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and it may serve the whole EEA from a licence granted in one member state. That is why ESMA maintains a public interim register of authorised providers; checking it costs a minute and tells you more than any marketing page.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend WhiteBird to a reader who is a resident of Belarus or Russia, holds a passport, has a way to buy crypto that they are comfortable with, and whose main problem is that ordinary cards are hard to get or unreliable for their spending. For that person the product makes sense: zero servicing, a modest card cost, a documented way to move rouble in through SBP or SberPay, and a card tied to a self-custody wallet rather than to a company’s balance sheet. The licence, the High-Tech Park residency and a named bank issuer are real reassurances, even though they come from third parties rather than the card.
I would not recommend it to anyone who wants to know what a payment costs before they make it. The FX spread is not published. The ATM terms are not published. The card’s own site was down throughout this review. Someone whose decision depends on a fee schedule can build a better plan on Coinbase Card or OKX, both of which disclose something.
And if you are in one of those countries where a card would be genuinely useful — Azerbaijan, Armenia, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Georgia — do not read the Visa support extension as an open door. It describes which cards are accepted, not who may hold one. Nothing I found confirms that residents of those countries can open an account.
A final note that is not advice, just arithmetic. If you fund the card by selling crypto, each payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal in many jurisdictions — in the US, for instance, digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods or dollars generally produces a gain or loss measured at fair market value on the transaction date. I am not qualified to tell you what that means for you, and you should not treat a paragraph in a card review as a tax answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is WhiteBird card?
WhiteBird is a crypto exchange that issues payment cards linked to it. Unofficial sources describe two products: Crypto, a digital Mastercard debit card tied to the WhiteBird exchange and a non-custodial Bitcash wallet, and Crypto Status, a Visa card with reportedly lower exchange commissions. The company is described as holding a licence of the Republic of Belarus, residing in the High-Tech Park, with StatusBank as issuer. Its own public pages were unreachable when this review was checked.
Is WhiteBird a bank?
No — it is not described as one. WhiteBird is reported to be a licensed company of the Republic of Belarus and a resident of the High-Tech Park, while the card itself is issued by StatusBank, a Belarusian bank. That structure matters: your card is issued by a bank under the Visa or Mastercard licence, while the crypto side of the account belongs to the exchange. The two are related companies in practice but are not the same legal entity.
Who can get the WhiteBird card?
Unofficially, Russian citizens with a passport, and residents of Belarus. Residents reportedly get the first virtual card free, while non-residents pay — 200 BYN according to one source, 250 BYN according to another, and I could not reconcile those figures. Visa support has been extended to cards from ten countries, but that concerns which cards are accepted, not who can open an account. Nothing official was published.
How do I apply for a WhiteBird card?
The process as described by third parties runs through identification in a partner bank’s app, which can be arranged without leaving the country. The physical card is reported as orderable for 100 BYN with delivery across Belarus and Russia. The application’s own steps, timing and document requirements are not published, so treat this as a sketch rather than a procedure and check the identification step first, since it is the only documented stage.
Does the WhiteBird card require KYC?
Unofficially yes — identification through a partner bank’s app is described as mandatory. This is normal rather than unusual: anti-money-laundering rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and monitor transactions, and in the EU that due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship and politically-exposed-person status. If it cannot be completed, the institution must decline the transaction or relationship. I found no published list of documents for WhiteBird.
How much does the WhiteBird card cost?
Unofficial figures: the first virtual card for non-residents of Belarus is 200 BYN, additional plastic is 100 BYN, and servicing is 0. Selling crypto to the card is 1.5% and buying with it 2.5%, with Crypto Status reported at 1.3% and 2.3%. One tech site gives different figures — 2.5% sell and 3% buy for operations up to $10k a month. None of this is published by the card, and the FX spread and ATM fees are not stated at all.
How do I top up a WhiteBird card?
Two routes are described. In rouble, through SBP or SberPay, with bank fees of 0.4–1.5% depending on the channel. In crypto, by selling on the WhiteBird platform to the card. Which networks and coins are accepted is not disclosed, and that matters: transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on an unsupported network, or to an address on a different network, can be lost. On Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet with USDT and no ETH cannot send at all.
Can I use the WhiteBird card in Apple Pay or Google Pay?
I could not confirm it. Whether the card can be added to a mobile wallet is not stated on the card’s public pages, and neither is ATM availability. This matters more than it sounds. Most card spending now happens through a phone wallet, where the card number is replaced by a device-specific token stored in the phone’s secure hardware and each payment uses a one-time code — which is safer than reading digits off plastic at a terminal, and less often declined.
Is the WhiteBird card safe?
The most reassuring fact is unofficial: WhiteBird holds a licence of the Republic of Belarus, resides in the High-Tech Park, and issues through the bank StatusBank. Its Crypto card is described as tied to a non-custodial Bitcash wallet, so your crypto stays in your own wallet until payment — but that also means a lost seed phrase, typically twelve to twenty-four words, means anyone who finds it can spend your funds, and there is no reversal. Card programmes do get closed: Visa ended its FTX agreements in November 2022.
Is the WhiteBird card worth it?
For a Russian or Belarusian resident whose alternative is no usable card at all, plausibly yes — zero servicing, a modest fee, and domestic rouble rails that work. For anyone with access to a card with published terms, no: the FX spread is unpublished, the ATM conditions are unpublished, the card’s own site was down during this review, and one search for user reviews returned nothing at all, which is not the same as a clean record.
Exchange card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
