The Etoro Money card, judged on cost, eligibility and everyday use

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Etoro Money card is a Visa debit card that pulls from a fiat balance held inside the wider eToro investing platform. It is one of the cheaper crypto-tied cards on the market: there is no issue fee, no monthly subscription, no FX mark-up on foreign spending and a meaningful free ATM allowance. The catch is access. The card is only open to residents of the EU and the UK, it requires an eToro Club membership tier, and the public pages leave several practical questions unanswered, from the cost of converting crypto to the documents needed to open an account. This review walks through what the card does well, where it is awkward, and what to check before you apply.

Etoro Money works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

I rate the Etoro Money card 6.8 out of 10. That score is not a verdict on eToro as a broker; it is a judgment on the card alone, on the things that matter for everyday spending and for getting a card in the first place. Cost is the strongest area: 9 out of 10. The card is free to issue and maintain, has no monthly subscription, comes with free delivery and free replacement up to three cards a year, and advertises “zero FX fees abroad”. Reliability sits at 8 out of 10, because the card is run by a regulated e-money institution in the UK (FCA-authorised) and a separate one in Malta, with customer funds kept in a segregated safeguarding account. Everyday use is a solid 7 out of 10, helped by Apple Pay and Google Pay and a generous ATM free allowance of GBP 2,000 a month on the Green tier or GBP 10,000 on Black. Who can get it drags the overall mark down to 5 out of 10, since only EU and UK residents with a qualifying eToro Club tier can apply. Top-up options are the weakest link at 4 out of 10, because the card draws on a fiat eToro Money account, which means you cannot pay directly from a crypto balance: any crypto has to be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet first, and the conversion fee is not stated on the public fee page.

In short, if you are already an EU or UK resident with an eToro Club membership who wants a cheap way to spend the fiat balance sitting in the eToro app, this card is hard to beat on price. If you are outside the EU/UK, if you are not a Club member yet, or if you want to pay directly in stablecoins without a manual conversion step, the card is not for you.

Criterion Mark Why it scored that way
Who can get it 5 / 10 EU or UK residents only, with a qualifying eToro Club tier; KYC details not on the public page
Cost 9 / 10 Free issue, maintenance, delivery and replacement; “zero FX fees abroad”; ATM 1% after a generous free allowance; crypto conversion fee not disclosed
Top-up options 4 / 10 Card draws on a fiat account; crypto must be converted to GBP or EUR via the eToro crypto wallet first
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 FCA-authorised UK entity and a separate Malta e-money entity; funds in a segregated safeguarding account; Trustpilot complaints are about the broker, not the card
Everyday use 7 / 10 Visa debit, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM allowance of GBP 2,000 (Green) or GBP 10,000 (Black) per month; virtual-vs-physical and metal status not stated
Total 6.8 / 10

Who can get the card

The headline rule is simple: you must be a resident of the EU or the UK. The card is not offered to residents of other countries, and the public pages do not list every country inside the EU where the card is actually available; that list sits on a separate availability page that I have not read in detail. So if you live outside the EU or the UK, you can stop reading now: this card is not on the table for you.

Inside the EU and the UK, there is a second gate. The card is tied to the eToro Club, the broker’s tiered membership programme. For UK residents the page requires you to be an “eToro Club member”. For EU residents the requirement is more specific and slightly inconsistent on the public pages: the main fee page says the Green card is for Silver, Gold and Platinum tiers, and the Black card is for Platinum+ and Diamond. One of the FAQ entries says only Diamond qualifies, which conflicts with the rest of the page. I would treat the fee page as the operative document and assume that, for the EU, Diamond, Platinum+ and Platinum are all eligible, with the Black card reserved for Platinum+ and Diamond.

Beyond residency and Club tier, you need a fiat account in the right currency: a EUR account if you are in the EU, or a GBP account if you are in the UK. The card is linked to that account, and the page explicitly warns that holding both a EUR and a GBP account is “not currently possible”, so you have to pick one. AUD and DKK accounts are mentioned in a footnote on the page; whether a card is issued for those currencies is not stated.

There is also the question of identity verification. The card’s public page requires a EUR or GBP account and Club membership, but does not list the KYC documents you will be asked for, the levels of due diligence the issuer applies, the time it takes to verify, or the most common reasons applications are rejected. If verification standards matter to you, you will have to confirm them through eToro’s help centre before you apply. I would not assume that an existing eToro investing account is enough, because the card programme sits with a separate e-money entity (see the section on what can go wrong) and that entity may apply its own checks.

How to get the card

The path to the card runs through the eToro platform rather than a separate application. You open the eToro app or web platform, complete the steps to reach the qualifying Club tier, and then request the card from the Wallet tab against the appropriate EUR or GBP local account. The card is a Visa debit card, and the public pages do not spell out whether the default issue is a physical card, a virtual card or both, nor whether a metal version exists. Two programmes are available:

In practice, the difference between the two comes down to ATM allowance (see the cost section) and stock rewards (which start at Platinum). Everything else that matters for daily spending is the same on both tiers: issue, maintenance, card payments and delivery are all free.

Delivery of the first card is free on both tiers, including an “urgent” option, and replacement delivery is also free. Replacement of the card itself is free up to three times per year. The GBP card allows three free replacements a year; on the EUR side, the Green tier marks replacement as N/A (likely because replacements are not relevant to the cheaper tier) and the Black tier allows three free replacements a year. Delivery time is not stated on the page and is left to a help-centre article I have not opened in full; if you need the card by a particular date, plan ahead rather than counting on the urgent option being fast.

Activation is handled inside the eToro Money app. UK customers can manage the card from the avatar menu, under Customer Service and Cash Account. EU customers manage it under Wallet, then Manage Card, with a “Report lost or stolen” path leading to “Disable Card”. I have not seen a step-by-step activation guide in the public material I read, so the safest assumption is that the app prompts you after the card arrives.

Fees: what it really costs

The card is built to be cheap to run, and the headline numbers live up to that. The fee page says the card is “free with no monthly subscription”: issue, maintenance, replacement up to three per year and delivery are all free, on both Green and Black tiers. Card payments are free, and the card advertises “Zero FX fees abroad”, which means spending in a foreign currency does not carry a separate card-side mark-up on top of the network’s wholesale rate. If the card has a marketing weakness, it is the one number the page refuses to publish: the cost of converting crypto to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet before the funds land in the eToro Money account. That conversion fee is not stated on the fee page, and you will need to check inside the app or in the wallet’s pricing page to know what you are paying.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Etoro Money payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The ATM policy is unusually generous for a debit card. On a GBP account, you can withdraw GBP 2,000 a month for free on the Green tier and GBP 10,000 a month on Black. On a EUR account, the free allowance is EUR 2,500 a month on Green and EUR 12,000 a month on Black. Once you cross the threshold, the rate is 1% of the withdrawal. Whether the free allowance resets at the start of each calendar month or on the anniversary of the account opening is not stated on the page; the figure I have is the monthly cap.

The other big number, daily and monthly transaction limits, is not on the card pages at all. The page points to a separate “Account Activity Limits” article for the cap, so if your spending profile is unusual (very high monthly volumes, or many small transactions) you should check that article before relying on the card.

Fee or limit Green Black Notes
Card issue Free Free First card
Card maintenance Free Free No monthly or annual fee
Card payment (in card currency) Free Free Includes online and in-store
FX fee on foreign spending Zero Zero “Zero FX fees abroad”; card-side mark-up not added
Crypto-to-fiat conversion Not stated Not stated Done via eToro crypto wallet; fee not on the fee page
ATM free allowance (GBP account) GBP 2,000 / month GBP 10,000 / month After that: 1%
ATM free allowance (EUR account) EUR 2,500 / month EUR 12,000 / month After that: 1%
Replacement card Free up to 3 / year Free up to 3 / year GBP card and EU Black; EU Green marked N/A
Delivery Free (regular and urgent) Free (regular and urgent) First card and replacement
Chargebacks Free Free Process and timelines not described
Daily / monthly transaction limits Not stated Not stated Referred to a separate article

A few everyday payments

The numbers above look clean, but the way they combine in real situations is what matters. Three examples, using only figures the card page states or leaves blank:

Top up: how to fund the card

The card is a debit card, but in practice it behaves more like a prepaid card with an extra step. The card does not draw on your crypto balance directly; it draws on the fiat eToro Money account you chose at sign-up. To get money onto the card, you first have to get money into that account, and if you want to spend crypto, you have to convert it to fiat through the eToro crypto wallet before it lands in the eToro Money account.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Etoro Money starts with a transfer to the right network

For a EUR account, the documented path is a SEPA bank transfer from a linked bank account. SEPA transfers in and out are free, and the eToro Money account itself has no opening, closing or maintenance fee. The card pages do not state a minimum top-up amount, nor a card-specific top-up fee, so the cheapest route is to send a normal SEPA transfer from your own bank and let it arrive. For a GBP account, the equivalent is a UK bank transfer.

Converting crypto to fiat works like this: the eToro crypto wallet sells the crypto for GBP or EUR, and the proceeds land in your eToro Money account. The conversion fee is the one number the card pages do not give you, and the wallet may also apply a spread between the quoted and executed price that is not visible in the fee table. If you only intend to spend a small amount of crypto, this two-step process is fine; if you intend to use the card as a daily spending rail for a large crypto balance, the lack of a published conversion cost is something I would not paper over.

There is one more thing to be aware of, and it is about currency rather than technology. The card is linked to a single fiat account, in either EUR or GBP, and you cannot hold both at once. If you fund a EUR card, every non-EUR payment goes through the FX path, even if you also happen to have pounds sitting elsewhere; if you fund a GBP card, the same applies to non-GBP spending. The eToro Money page acknowledges AUD and DKK accounts in a footnote but does not state whether a card is issued in those currencies, so my assumption is that cardholders pick one of EUR or GBP and stick with it.

Withdrawing the balance back to a bank is the reverse of topping up: from the local-currency account you send the money to a linked bank account via SEPA, free of charge. The card pages do not state fees or times for withdrawing the card balance specifically, and the rules around what happens to a remaining balance when the eToro Money account is closed are not stated (the account itself can be closed for free).

Paying with it every day

Once the card is funded, everyday use is straightforward. The card runs on Visa, which means it is accepted wherever Visa is taken online, in stores and at ATMs, and the public pages confirm support for Apple Pay and Google Pay. Adding the card to a phone wallet is the usual in-wallet flow: open the wallet app, scan or enter the card details, and the issuer verifies the tokenisation. Whether a specific merchant will accept a foreign-issued Visa is a function of the merchant, not of eToro, and the card pages do not list restricted merchant categories; if a particular shop declines the card, that is the merchant’s policy, not a published block by eToro.

The single most useful everyday feature is the ATM allowance, which is larger than most crypto-tied cards offer. The Green tier alone gives you GBP 2,000 or EUR 2,500 a month without an extra charge, and the Black tier lifts that to GBP 10,000 or EUR 12,000. Inside those limits, the card behaves like a free-to-use debit card for cash.

The headline reward on the card is up to 4% back in stocks, up to a stated value of $100 per month (or the GBP/EUR equivalent), with the user picking a European-listed stock. The page is inconsistent about who exactly qualifies: one section says rewards are for Platinum, Platinum+ and Diamond, while another suggests Bronze, Silver and Gold can opt in. The press release for the European launch describes a more generous launch offer, up to EUR 1,500 value per month, which it flags as a launch offer that may change. So the “up to 4%” is a real headline, but the actual reward in any given month depends on which tier you are on, what the current promo is, and which stock you have chosen. Visa-side perks are also listed: the Luxury Hotel Collection, up to 10% off Sixt rentals, and Visa AirRefund, which are network benefits rather than eToro-specific rewards.

The mobile app is the same eToro app that runs the investing side of the business; the card lives inside it rather than in a separate app, which is convenient for people who already use eToro for trading and less convenient for anyone who wants a card app that is small and focused. The app is on the App Store and Google Play, per the official page, but the public material I read does not give the current store rating or number of ratings, so I have not quoted one.

Disputes are described in one line on the fee page: “chargebacks: free”. That is the full extent of the public information about how a dispute is opened, what evidence is needed and how long the process takes. If you are the kind of person who expects a clear, written dispute procedure, the absence of one on the public page is a gap. The only linked document is a Complaints Policy PDF, which is the formal route rather than the practical one.

What can go wrong

Crypto cards live or die on the strength of the entity behind them, and the Etoro Money card’s two issuers are the most concrete reassurance the card offers. In the UK, card services come from eToro Money UK Ltd, which is FCA-authorised for e-money (the 2020 purchase of the UK e-money firm Marq Millions is, according to FStech, what gave eToro that UK licence). In the EU, card services come from eToro Money Malta Ltd, which is the entity for EUR and DKK accounts. The card pages describe EUR funds as held in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank, segregated from the issuer’s own funds and not usable for investing or lending, and they explicitly note that this is not the same as a bank deposit and is not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme. That is an honest disclosure: the e-money model is safer than an unsecured IOU from a tech company, but it is not deposit insurance.

Card controls live in the app. UK customers can freeze the card instantly from the eToro Money app, and there is a 24/7 stolen-card phone line. EU customers can disable the card from the Wallet tab, under Manage Card and “Report lost or stolen”. 2FA is not mentioned in the public pages I read, so I would not assume the app enforces it by default; if you turn it on elsewhere (for example on your phone, on the eToro login, or on the email address tied to the account), do that before you start using the card.

The complaints picture is mixed but tilts positive for the card. Trustpilot’s main eToro.com page, read on 2026-10-20, sits at 4.0 out of 5 from 32,233 reviews, with 20% one-star. The themes in the negative reviews are about the broker, not the card: withdrawals held up by ID checks, restricted accounts, slow support, and trading and closing fees. Card-specific threads are not material in what I read. A separate user report cited Trustpilot Australia at 2.5/5 from 6 reviews, again about broker account closures and forced liquidations rather than the card; and a single UK Financial Ombudsman decision (DRN-4221697) involves a complainant who did not receive a promised debit card because of the account type they held. A single ombudsman decision is not a pattern, but it is a reminder that “promised” cards are not always issued. Third-party status pages flagged credit-card deposit issues on 11 June 2026 and 7 July 2026, plus an outbound-payments issue in August 2026, none of them card-specific.

The wider risk to keep in mind is structural rather than incident-specific. Crypto cards have a history of being shut down by networks or by issuers: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, the WaveCrest-issued crypto programmes were suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, and a one-off 2026 closure reported by a secondary source saw new loads end on 8 July 2026 with spending stopping on 8 August 2026 (a single source, unconfirmed). The Etoro Money card is not a programme manager alone; it is run by FCA- and Malta-authorised e-money entities, which is more reassuring than a programme that depends on a single partner. Even so, the lesson from the category is that you should never keep a balance on a crypto card that you cannot afford to lose access to for a notice period.

What to take instead

The Etoro Money card is strong on price and weak on access. The alternatives below are not clones; each is a different answer to the question of how to spend a crypto balance on a card. I have included the headline marks and the points that matter most for someone comparing options.

Young Card

Young Card scores 5.7 out of 10. Cashback is paid in the YNG token, and the rate depends on the user’s Club tier: 0.1% on Essential, 1.8% on Gold, 3.6% on Platinum; the rates for Bronze and Silver are not stated, and the underlying fees, top-up mechanics and eligibility rules for the card are not on the public pages in a form I could quote. If the appeal for you is variable reward rates denominated in a project token, this is the path to investigate; if the appeal is predictable fiat costs, the Etoro Money card is the cleaner read.

Coinbase Card

Coinbase Card scores 6.4 out of 10 and is the most direct US alternative. The card is available in every US state except Hawaii, with account opening under the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules: name, address, date of birth and ID. It is a Visa prepaid debit card, available as virtual or physical, and spends a US-dollar balance; any crypto is converted to USD at the moment of purchase, with a spread rather than a stated transaction fee. Funding comes from a linked bank account, from part of a paycheck, or from the crypto balance on Coinbase. Optional crypto rewards are available on every purchase for US users, with the rate variable and shown in the app, and the user picks the reward asset from a rotating list. If you are in the US and the Etoro Money card’s EU/UK-only eligibility rules you out, the Coinbase Card is the obvious comparison point.

OKX

OKX scores 6.2 out of 10. The card is Mastercard, euro-denominated, virtual, and linked to OKX Pay; it was launched in the EU plus Norway on 28 January 2026, with Iceland and Liechtenstein excluded (the explainer’s conclusion says “entire EEA”, which is inconsistent). It is issued through an unnamed European licensed payment provider. There is no card fee, no transaction fee and no OKX-side FX fee; the conversion spread is 0.1% per the May 2026 explainer, against 0.4% quoted in the launch press release (a conflict, with the explainer being the newer document). Funding is via USDC or USDG held in OKX Pay; other coins must be converted first, and there is no auto top-up, so a payment is declined if the balance is insufficient. Cashback applies only to USDG purchases, with monthly caps in EUR that vary by VIP level: Regular 2% capped at 10, VIP1 4% at 300, VIP2 4.5% at 450, VIP3 5% at 1,000, and VIP4+ 10% at 1,000 (the text says 2-5%, the table 10% for VIP4+, inconsistent). If your priority is paying directly from a stablecoin balance rather than going through a fiat account, the OKX card is a closer fit than the Etoro Money card.

Final word

I would recommend the Etoro Money card to an EU or UK resident who already has an eToro Club membership, who wants a low-friction way to spend the fiat balance sitting inside eToro, and who does not mind converting crypto to GBP or EUR before paying. The card’s combination of zero FX fees, a generous ATM free allowance and no monthly fee is hard to match. The two reasons I would not recommend it are: first, the lack of a published conversion fee for crypto-to-fiat, which means the true cost of spending crypto depends on a number you have to look up yourself; and second, the lack of a published KYC procedure, which means you cannot fully prepare your documents before you start. If either of those is a deal-breaker for you, the alternatives above are the right places to keep looking. If you are the reader the card is built for, the price is right and the everyday experience is solid.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Etoro Money card?

The Etoro Money card is a Visa debit card that draws on a fiat balance held inside the eToro platform, in either EUR or GBP. The card is issued by eToro Money UK Ltd in the UK and by eToro Money Malta Ltd in the EU, and it is only available to residents of those regions.

How does the Etoro Money card work?

You fund an eToro Money fiat account, the card is linked to that account, and the card spends that balance. If you want to spend crypto, you first sell it for GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet, and the proceeds land in the eToro Money account before the card is used.

Is Etoro Money a bank?

No. eToro Money UK Ltd is an FCA-authorised e-money institution and eToro Money Malta Ltd is the EU equivalent. Customer funds are held in segregated safeguarding accounts, but the disclosure explicitly states that this is not deposit insurance and is not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme.

Who owns Etoro Money?

Etoro Money UK Ltd and Etoro Money Malta Ltd are the e-money entities that provide the card. The eToro group owns them, and in 2020 the group bought the UK e-money firm Marq Millions, which became the basis for the UK card programme.

How do I get the Etoro Money card?

You open or sign in to your eToro account, reach a qualifying Club tier (Silver, Gold, Platinum, Platinum+ or Diamond depending on tier and country), and request the card against a EUR or GBP eToro Money account from the Wallet tab. The first card and its delivery are free.

Does the Etoro Money card require KYC?

Yes. The card is offered by regulated e-money institutions and is subject to anti-money-laundering and customer-due-diligence rules. The public page requires EU/UK residency, a Club tier and a EUR/GBP account, but does not list the specific KYC documents, verification time or rejection reasons; check the help centre before applying.

How do I top up the Etoro Money card?

For a EUR account, the documented route is a SEPA bank transfer from a linked bank account. For a GBP account, the equivalent is a UK bank transfer. SEPA in and out is free, and the eToro Money account itself has no opening, closing or maintenance fee.

Is the Etoro Money card free?

The card itself is free: no issue fee, no monthly subscription, free delivery, and free replacement up to three cards a year. Card payments are free, FX fees on foreign spending are advertised as zero, and the ATM allowance is free up to a monthly cap. The one fee that is not stated on the public fee page is the cost of converting crypto to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet.

How do I add the Etoro Money card to Apple Wallet?

The card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. Add it through the wallet app on your phone, scan or enter the card details, and complete the issuer’s verification. The eToro Money app is where the card is managed afterwards, including freezing the card if needed.

Is the Etoro Money card safe?

The card is run by FCA- and Malta-authorised e-money entities, with customer funds held in segregated safeguarding accounts. The card can be frozen instantly in the app, and there is a 24/7 stolen-card phone line in the UK. The standard category caveats still apply: e-money safeguarding is not deposit insurance, and crypto balances used to fund the card carry the usual counterparty and market risks.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team