Infini card review: the cards are gone, so what do you do with the balance?
If you have been reading about Infini hoping to get a crypto payment card, I should start with the thing that decides everything else: there is no application to fill in. Infini’s site lists three personal cards, but since 17 June 2025 the Global, Lite and Tech cards have been suspended for both use and new applications. Only the Max card was not covered by that notice, and its status for private customers is not clear from the public pages. This is a review of a card programme that is closed or closing, not of something you can sign up for this month.
That does not make the question pointless. If you were reading about Infini before that date, or you still have money sitting in the account, the useful questions are different ones: what actually happened, what the company says about your balance, and where else the same kind of card still exists. I went through the public material to try to answer all three, and I will tell you up front where the record runs out — quite often, this card’s own pages simply do not say.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 4.1 out of 10
Four point one out of ten is not a rounding error in my favour or against it. It is what the card’s own record produces when you weigh what it did well against what happened to it. The cost side of this card was genuinely good, and unusually good: the first card was free, there was no annual fee, the monthly fee was $0 and the transaction fee was $0, with a 0% USD spending fee. That is the part that would have made this card attractive to someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card.
Everything around that number is the problem. The reliability line scores 1 out of 10, and it is the one I would not argue with. A Hong Kong company, an issuer never named on the public pages, $49.5 million in USDC taken out of the platform’s own vault in February 2025, and cards suspended four months later.
| Criterion | Mark | Why I gave it that mark |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 0 / 10 | Global, Lite and Tech cards suspended for use and new applications on 17 June 2025; the Max card’s status for private customers is unclear |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | First card free, no annual fee, monthly fee $0, transaction fee $0; FX 1% on Pro, 3% on Lite, 0% on Max; stablecoin top-up free |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDC and USDT, networks not named; local USD and EUR accounts; fiat through Iron at 0.20% plus the rail’s own fee |
| Reliability and complaints | 1 / 10 | Issuer not named; Cynosure Technology LLC in Hong Kong; $49.5 million USDC withdrawn from the vault in February 2025; cards suspended 17 June 2025 |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual card; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Max; no physical card or cash machine information disclosed |
| Total | 4.1 / 10 | — |
So who does the card suit? Almost nobody, in its current state. The one group I would single out is people who already hold the card and are trying to withdraw their remaining balance, because for them the questions that matter are about custody, timing and support rather than features. The card’s pricing was built for people who wanted a cheap, virtual, stablecoin-funded card and did not want to think about the company behind it — that market exists, and Infini was priced for it well. But a card that your money depends on is not a purchase decision you make on the FX rate.
The awkward truth underneath the 9 out of 10 for cost is that the cheapness was partly the reason the business was hard. Infini’s co-founder, quoted after the suspension, pointed to high compliance costs and thin margins. When the cost line is the strongest thing a card company has, it is often telling you the business has no room to absorb a shock.
What happened to the programme
Here is the timeline as far as the public record goes, and it is short.
February 2025 — the vault incident. On 24 February 2025 Decrypt reported that about US$49.5 million in USDC had been taken from Infini’s vault. The account involved belonged to a former developer, whose retained administrative privileges were the route in, according to the security researchers Cyvers and QuillAudits cited in the reporting. Infini said at the time that withdrawals and payments continued, and its founder said full compensation could be paid. That is the key detail for you as a customer: the money was not described as a customer-deposit shortfall at the time, but it went to a contract address that belonged to the individual.
17 June 2025 — the suspension. WuBlockchain reported on 23 June 2025 that Infini had issued a notice on 17 June 2025 stating that all Global, Lite and Tech cards would be suspended for both usage and new applications. The same notice said card issuance fees would be auto-refunded to the Infini balance within 10 business days. Deposits, withdrawals and the Earn product were to continue. The co-founder cited high compliance costs and thin margins, and a shift toward wealth management.
August and September 2026 — the app keeps moving. The App Store release notes show a new “Max Card experience” in version 0.3.0 on 22 August 2026, and Business sub-accounts. In other words, the company is still shipping features eleven months after suspending most of its cards. That is worth weighing if you are deciding whether to trust it with money: the product is alive, the card programme is not.
One thing I could not find, and you should know about because it changes how you read the rest: Infini has no Trustpilot page and no Reddit presence of its own that I could find. So the “complaints” picture here is not a pile of angry reviews — it is close to silence, which is not the same as a clean record. When a provider has no review footprint, the absence of complaints tells you about how few people are publicly discussing it, not about how well it treated them.
The other thing the public pages never say is who the issuing bank actually is. The site says Infini “partners with regulated financial institutions” and shows an FCA mark with no licence number. An FCA mark on a website is not the same thing as holding an FCA licence, and no licence number is given. I would not read anything into that mark beyond what it literally shows.
If you already have the card
If Infini is your situation right now, this is the section you came for. Everything else on this page is context.
What the company’s own pages say about your money:
- Deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued after the June 2025 suspension.
- Card issuance fees were to be refunded to your Infini balance within 10 business days.
- The first card was free with no annual fee, and the minimum initial top-up was US$10.
- Stablecoin top-up was free. Fiat deposits through Iron cost 0.20% plus the rail’s fee: ACH $1, FedNow $1, RTP $1, wire $20, SEPA EUR 1.
- Card spending itself was free on all three tiers: USD spending fee 0%, monthly fee $0, transaction fee $0.
- Funding channels are USDC and USDT — the networks are not specified anywhere — plus local USD and EUR accounts.
What the public pages do not say, and this is the part you will have to ask about directly:
- No withdrawal fee, limit or closure terms for the card balance. The pricing page and the site are both silent. The app release notes mention BTC withdrawals and “withdrawal address matching” fixes, but nothing about pulling fiat off the card balance.
- No spending limits in numbers, only a claim that you can “set custom limits and controls for each card”.
- No cash machine information at all. If you needed physical cash, there is nothing on the record about it.
- No physical card. The site says virtual cards are issued instantly, and there is no shipping information anywhere.
- No dispute or chargeback process and no time frames. The only related figure is a 1% refund fee on the Pro and Max cards.
- No stated hours for support. You get an email address, [email protected], a Help Center channel on Telegram at t.me/infini_official, and an X account at @0xinfini. The site’s languages are not listed, though the app added Thai in version 1.1.0.
So if you have a balance, the honest sequence is: ask, in writing, what the withdrawal route is and what it costs; keep the confirmation; and do not treat the absence of published terms as a small detail. A provider that publishes a pricing page but not the terms for getting your money out has told you which question it has not answered. I cannot tell you how long it will take, because nobody has published a figure.
On the security side, the site claims SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1, says fiat funds sit with regulated financial institutions in “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts”, and says crypto is held in multi-signature MPC wallets, with audits and penetration tests by Exvul. The app adds biometric authentication and, as of version 1.3.0, passkey sign-in. All of that is a claim made by the company, and none of it is independently checkable from the public pages. What is not stated: the custody model for personal users, and whether any of it is insured. Segregated is not the same as insured, and “bankruptcy-remote” describes a structure rather than a guarantee.
What can go wrong
I am going to walk through the failure modes in the order that matters for someone deciding whether to put money in a card like this, starting with the one that already happened here.
The counterparty risk, which has already materialised once. This is the big one, and it is not hypothetical for Infini. Nearly 50 million dollars left the platform’s vault in February 2025 through a former developer’s retained admin access. Whatever the legal position turns out to be, the practical lesson is about the shape of the risk: with a custodial arrangement, you are trusting an operator’s internal access controls, not just its intentions. Companies that hold crypto for many customers concentrate that risk in exactly the place an attacker looks.
The platform risk. A card is not a bank account with better branding. A card number starts with a 6 or 8 digit issuer identification number that tells any merchant which institution and country issued it, and a merchant can apply extra scrutiny when that country differs from your billing address — this is why a card issued in one country looks “foreign” in another. Many of these cards work as prepaid cards: crypto is converted and loaded as a fiat balance, and the card spends only what is there. But the balance sits with an issuer, and the issuer can be wound down. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves; they license issuers, and in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” as the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures have a recognisable sequence: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. If you are in the middle of that sequence, every day you wait costs you options.
The irreversible-transfer risk, which is mostly invisible before you send. Blockchain transfers do not reverse. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the funds can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee. The technical detail that bites people: on Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it at all. Tron prices transactions with bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — a phrase you will see in guides that no longer describes reality. Infini never named the networks it accepts, which means this specific risk cannot be avoided by reading the documentation.
The money-laundering freeze risk. KYC is not paperwork for its own sake. It requires regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk, with ongoing monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU that due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are politically exposed. If it cannot be completed, the rules require the institution to hold back from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions rules apply to citizenship and country of birth, not just your address. This is why accounts freeze pending documents, and it can happen to you for reasons that have nothing to do with your behaviour.
The decline risk. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address with issuer records and is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK; it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on an otherwise ordinary purchase. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.
The stablecoin risk. Stablecoins aim to hold a steady value but are not necessarily stable — USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so these instruments are not censorship-proof in your favour either.
The practical friction. Refund fee 1% on the Pro and Max cards. On the Max card, a cross-border fee of 1% outside Hong Kong, and a small-transaction fee of $0.30 on amounts under US$50 — which means splitting payments to dodge a fee costs more than paying it. Address verification, 3-D Secure challenges, and token restrictions (an issuer can block a tokenised number for magnetic-stripe, phone or website use) all add ways for a routine payment to fail.
And the fee you cannot see. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. Infini did not state network fees for its own top-ups, so your effective cost of funding the card is the number on the pricing page plus something nobody has published.
What to take instead
None of the three cards below is a recommendation to sign up for anything, and I would not put money into any of them on the strength of a review page. They are here because you asked what replaces a closed card, and because each shows a different structure — which is the more useful comparison than any single score.
CardFlow — 4.9 / 10
Aimed squarely at Nigeria, described as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, and open to “Nigerians and global users” with no country list or exclusions stated. The card is a virtual USD Mastercard, created in 3 minutes. Creating a virtual card is free; the monthly fee is not stated. Fees generally are not stated. You fund it with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, networks not specified. No rewards information.
What stands out: this is the narrowest of the three. It is built for one market, which makes it easy to understand and probably well supported there, and hard for anyone else.
HyperCard — 4.7 / 10
A prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and letting it convert. Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which describes where it is accepted, not who is eligible — a distinction that catches people out constantly. Network not named on the App Store page. No fees listed on the pages I could read. No rewards information.
What stands out: the EUR balance is the interesting part for anyone in the euro area who wants to spend without touching a currency conversion first.
Card.fi — 6.6 / 10
The most detailed of the three, and the most expensive to enter. Cards ship to “200+ countries”, and the terms bar residents of, or orders from, a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service. Four products: Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, and a metal card in stainless steel. Every physical order includes a virtual card. Cards are issued under licence from the relevant card schemes — Visa and Mastercard are not named.
| What | Card.fi |
|---|---|
| Entry cost | Virtual Classic $49 one-time; Virtual Premium $249 one-time; physical and metal prices not listed |
| Recurring fees | No monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee |
| Top-up fee | Classic 1.5% plus $1.00; Premium 1% |
| FX fee | Classic 3.5%; Premium 2.5% |
| Cashback | Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT a month; Premium 1%; Metal 1.2% capped at 10,000 USDT or 2% capped at 20,000 USDT |
| Coins and networks | 32 coins across 5 networks: Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch — USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, KAANCH |
Two details deserve a second look. A deposit address per card, with conversion at the market rate on arrival — and a stated warning that sending on the wrong chain risks permanent loss. And a headline 10% cashback at coffee shops, capped at 10 USDT a month, which is a real figure but a small one; the number that matters for day-to-day spending is the 0.8% or 1%.
Against that, the FX fees are markedly worse than the Infini Max card’s 0%, and the entry cost is $49 for a card that Infini gave away.
The comparison that actually matters
| Infini (closed) | CardFlow | HyperCard | Card.fi | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.1 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 |
| Card | Virtual, network not named | Virtual USD Mastercard | Prepaid, network not named | Virtual, physical and metal |
| Who it is for | Global, Lite and Tech suspended | Nigeria and global users | Not stated | 200+ countries, minus sanctioned countries |
| Entry cost | First card free | Free to create | Not stated | $49 / $249 for virtual |
| FX fee | 0% on Max; 1% Pro; 3% Lite | Not stated | Not stated | 3.5% Classic; 2.5% Premium |
| Cashback | 2% on Max, terms apply | Not stated | Not stated | 0.8% to 2%, monthly caps |
| Named issuer | Not named | Not stated | Not stated | Under licence from card schemes, unnamed |
Read that last column carefully across all four. Not one of these cards names its issuing bank on the pages available to me. That is the norm in this category, not an Infini quirk, and it means the single most important fact about any of them — who is legally responsible for your money — is the fact you will have the hardest time finding.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, as a card to open. That is not a rhetorical position; it follows from the suspension date.
For someone who still has a balance: I would recommend patience with documentation over anything clever. Ask in writing what the withdrawal route is and what it costs, keep every confirmation, and treat the fact that the public pages publish a pricing page but no withdrawal terms as information in itself. Do not add funds to an account you are trying to empty.
For someone who wants a crypto-funded card generally: the pattern to look for is not the fee table but three things — a named issuer, published terms for getting money out, and named networks for each coin you plan to send. All three exist somewhere in this market; Infini had none of them on its public pages. Among the alternatives above, Card.fi is the most transparent about its chains and its numbers, and the least cheap; HyperCard is the one to look at if a EUR balance matters to you; CardFlow is the one to look at if you are in Nigeria. None of them makes the counterparty risk go away, because with a custodial card that risk is structural: whoever holds the funds can lose them, freeze them, or fail.
And for anyone whose real problem is that a normal bank card is hard to get — a blocked account, a country the local banks will not serve, a documentation problem — I want to be straight with you. A suspended crypto card is not the solution to that, and a live one carries risks a bank deposit does not. That is worth thinking about before the next card on your list comes along.
Frequently asked questions
What is Infini card?
Infini was a Hong Kong-based platform offering virtual cards funded from stablecoins and from local currency accounts. Its site listed three personal cards — Pro, Lite and Max — plus a business card. Since 17 June 2025 the Global, Lite and Tech cards have been suspended for both use and new applications, and the Max card’s status for private customers is not clear. The site states “180+ Countries Supported” for the platform, but that is a reach claim, not an eligibility list.
How does Infini card work?
It worked as a prepaid card: you loaded a balance from USDC, USDT or a local USD or EUR account, and the card spent that balance. It could not overdraw because only the loaded amount existed. Apple Pay and Google Pay worked on the Max card, the card was virtual rather than plastic, and the networks accepted for USDC and USDT were never named on the public pages.
Is Infini a bank?
No. Infini is Cynosure Technology LLC, a Hong Kong company, and it says it “partners with regulated financial institutions” rather than naming one. It shows an FCA mark with no licence number. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money and payment cards but cannot lend, and its customer funds must be safeguarded by segregation or insurance — which is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee.
Can I still get an Infini card?
Almost certainly not. The 17 June 2025 notice said all Global, Lite and Tech cards are suspended for usage and new applications. The Max card was not named in that notice, and the App Store release notes show a new Max Card experience as of 22 August 2026, so the product line is still being worked on — but no open application path for a private customer was visible to me.
Does Infini require KYC?
Unclear, which is itself the answer. The site describes business KYB, where full approval for higher volumes “typically takes under 8 hours”, and automated verification issuing API keys “within minutes”. For personal cards, the documents and age requirements are not stated. What is clear is that any regulated provider will screen you: name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, and whether you are politically exposed.
Is Infini card free?
The first card was free, with no annual fee, a monthly fee of $0 and a transaction fee of $0, and the USD spending fee was 0%. FX was 1% on Pro, 3% on Lite and 0% on Max. The minimum initial top-up was US$10. Stablecoin top-up was free. Fiat deposits through Iron cost 0.20% plus the rail fee — $1 for ACH, FedNow and RTP, $20 for a wire, 1 for SEPA EUR.
Is Infini card safe?
I would not call it safe, and the reason is the record rather than the marketing. About $49.5 million in USDC was taken from Infini’s vault in February 2025 through a former developer’s retained administrative access, and the cards were suspended four months later. The site claims SOC 2 Type II, PCI-DSS Level 1, segregated accounts and multi-signature MPC wallets — all unverifiable from outside — and states no insurance, no custody model for personal users, and no named issuer.
How do I withdraw my money from Infini?
The public pages do not say. There are no published withdrawal fees, limits or closure terms for the card balance on the pricing page or the site. The App Store notes mention BTC withdrawals and a “withdrawal address matching” fix, but nothing about taking fiat out. Deposits and withdrawals were stated to continue after the suspension, so the practical step is to ask in writing at [email protected] and keep the reply.
Can I use Infini card in my country?
Before June 2025, possibly widely — the platform claimed “180+ Countries Supported” and the App Store said the card worked “where available”, with availability varying by account permissions, account status and region. None of that is a per-country eligibility list, and no country list is published. Countries subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service are a standard exclusion in this category even where a provider does not spell it out.
Is Infini card worth it?
For spending, the pricing was among the better in the category: free first card, no monthly or transaction fee, 0% USD spending, 2% cashback on Max with terms applying. For anything longer-lived, no. An unnamed issuer, unnamed networks, no published withdrawal terms and a suspended card programme are not a foundation for anyone’s money, whatever the fee table says.
Virtual card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
