A virtual crypto card that says little about the things that decide whether it works
If you have trouble getting an ordinary bank card — because of where you live, because of what documents you hold, because the bank near you does not want your business — a crypto payment card sounds like the practical alternative. You load value from a crypto balance, and the card spends it. Payth is one of the products built for exactly that moment. This review examines the company’s public pages and its app store listing to identify eligibility, charges, funding, and information disclosure. The card does a few things clearly, but leaves silent about most of the rest. For readers who review a fee schedule before signing up, the following sections highlight where the site does not state specific information.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: a serviceable idea with a paper-thin public record
Payth scores 6.2 out of 10. That is a passing mark, not an endorsement. The card is issued widely, promises no transaction fee, offers a virtual card and, unusually, keeps a very low cash-withdrawal fee. But the company behind it is barely visible, the app has no public rating to speak of, and almost every number a careful buyer would want — card network, currencies, limits, issuance cost, support channels — is simply absent from the pages. It is not unsafe, but it is unproven, which for money is its own kind of risk.
Who it suits: you already hold BTC, ETH or USDT, you want a virtual card rather than a physical one, you are comfortable that your balance sits with a provider rather than in a wallet you control, and you mostly spend in the currency your money is already denominated in. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs to know exactly what a payment will cost before they make it, anyone who needs a card in a specific local currency, anyone who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, anyone who needs to raise limits, and anyone who wants a long, public track record of the operator. The single most important thing to weigh is the reliability section below: not a dramatic red flag, but a lot of blank space where a bank’s details normally are.
Here is how the score breaks down, criterion by criterion, with my reasoning.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Issued worldwide except restricted countries, among them Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Iran, Syria. Broad by crypto standards, though the restriction is framed by residence. |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | “Zero transaction fees” and a 2% ATM fee; issuance and servicing are not disclosed. |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | BTC, ETH or USDT into the wallet; networks are not named, which is the catch. |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Operator POPPO LLC, country, issuer and licences unnamed; no App Store rating, version 1.0.6; custodial wallet; no complaints found. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual cards, ATM access; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed. |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | A workable product with a thin public record. |
The audience this really fits, in one line, is crypto holders who want a virtual card with ATM access and do not mind a custodial setup. If that sentence describes you and does not make you uneasy, keep reading; if it makes you uneasy, the “what to take instead” section is worth more of your time than the rest.
Will they give you the card
Eligibility is the first gate, and Payth’s gate is about residence, not citizenship. The site says Payth “cannot serve residents of the following countries and regions”, and names among others Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Iran and Syria. That list “is updated periodically based on issuer policies” — so the set of excluded places can change without warning, in either direction. Belarus was on the restricted list when checking this card earlier; Russia is named on the current official page.
This matters more than it might look. Sanctions and issuer policy are the usual reason a country ends up on a list like that, and the phrase “issuer policies” is doing quiet work: your eligibility can depend on a partner you never chose and cannot see. The restriction is stated by residence, which means where you live is what is read — but that is not the same as a promise that someone living in, say, a sanctioned region with citizenship elsewhere will be let through. If your address is in a restricted country, the answer is plainly no. If you are a traveller or your address is unusual, you are in a grey area the public pages do not resolve.
How to get it
The signup path is short and conventional. You register in the app, verify your identity, deposit crypto into the Payth wallet, and receive a virtual card. The card itself is described only as “multiple virtual card options” — the network (Visa or Mastercard) is not stated, and neither is the currency the card holds. No physical or metal card is mentioned; as far as the public material goes, this is a virtual-card product, and how a purely virtual card gets delivered to you is not stated either.
Identity checks are handled by a partner, Sumsub. Sumsub “only accepts IDs or passports issued by the same country as your ID”. This is the line most likely to stop someone. If your passport is from one country but you live, and can prove your address, in another, an ID from your country of residence will not be accepted. What about proof of address, or proof of age? Neither is stated, so whether they are required is not clear. The verification “typically take 5–10 minutes”, which is fast if it goes through; the picture is of a single KYC step rather than a tiered one.
There are no tiers described. Payth does describe declines: they “may be due to a high-risk flag”. That phrase is doing a lot of quiet work too — it tells you that a rejection can be a risk-screening outcome rather than a missing document, and it does not tell you what to do about it. So the honest picture of getting the card is: quick if your documents are in the right country and your address is in an allowed one, and opaque otherwise.
What it really costs: Fees and limits
Cost is where Payth looks at its best and its documentation looks thinnest. The headline is genuinely good: “zero transaction fees”. And the ATM fee is stated as “only 2% ATM withdrawal fee”, which is low for the category. But the number that a careful buyer actually needs — the exchange rate you get when crypto is turned into spending money — is described only as “competitive rates”, with no percentage attached. A card that charges nothing per transaction but converts at an undisclosed rate can still cost you money at the point of sale. And there is no free-allowance figure for the ATM: 2% is 2% of every withdrawal, however small.

Beyond that, the fee schedule is largely unwritten. Here is everything the public material actually gives you, and everything it does not.
| Fee or limit | What is stated |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Transaction fee | “zero transaction fees” |
| Crypto conversion rate | described as “competitive rates”, no percentage given |
| FX fee | not stated |
| ATM | “only 2% ATM withdrawal fee”; free allowance not stated |
| Daily limits | not stated |
| Monthly limits | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
| Tiers | not stated |
Let me make this concrete with three everyday payments, because a fee you have never seen is easier to accept than a fee you can picture.
A coffee in your local currency. The transaction fee is zero, so the cost of tapping the card is entirely the conversion from whatever balance the card holds into the shop’s currency, at a rate Payth does not publish, plus any FX fee it does not state. If you are spending a balance already in your own currency, this is close to free; if not, the real price is a black box.
An online subscription in dollars. Again zero per transaction, and again the same two unknowns — the conversion rate and the unstated FX fee. Online payments also carry a 3-D Secure check that the issuer decides whether to challenge, and some overseas-issued prepaid cards are declined outright by merchants because the card’s BIN shows the issuer country. Both of those are discussed in the safety section below.
A cash withdrawal at an ATM. This is the one case with a clean number: 2% of the withdrawal, no free allowance stated, charged on top of whatever your own bank’s ATM fee is — and at a foreign ATM that fee is usually larger than 2%.
Across all three, the pattern is the same: the card is explicit about the fee it wants you to notice (2% at the ATM) and silent on the one that can quietly do the most damage (the conversion rate). “Not stated” is what these pages do not say; it is not a claim that there is no fee, only that a published figure could not be found.
How to Top up the card
Funding is the part of the flow that warrants the most caution. Payth says to “Deposit BTC, ETH, or USDT in your wallet”, and the app store listing speaks of “multiple cryptocurrencies” such as USDT and BTC. The user “tops up digital assets and gets spending credit instantly”. Crypto is converted to fiat at the point of sale — that is, the user buys spending money, and the card draws on that balance rather than spending coins directly.

The missing word is “network”. Which chains are accepted is not stated. That single omission generates most of the real risk in this step. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the money can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. If Payth supports USDT on one chain and you send it on another, you have not topped up — you have lost the amount. So the practical rule, whatever the pages say or do not say, is to confirm the accepted network and deposit address inside the app before you send anything, and to send a small test amount first. Note too that the deposit fee, the minimum deposit, who pays the on-chain network fee, and whether you can top up with fiat at all are all not stated.
There is a small irony in the mechanics. On Ethereum, USDT is an ERC-20 token and network fees are paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send it. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. Either way, the network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by Payth, and it comes out of a coin you may or may not hold. If you are new to this, “get spending credit instantly” is the easy sentence and the network is the hard one.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is where a virtual card both shines and runs out of road. The upside is obvious: you get card credentials inside an app, you can create more than one, and it works at “millions of merchants and ATMs worldwide” — in the sense of acceptance, wherever a network logo is honoured. The downside is equally obvious: this is a phone-only product, and phone-only means your entire daily payment life lives inside one app on one device.
What that app does not tell you is notable. Whether you can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay is not stated for Payth — Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned at all. Whether certain merchant categories are blocked is not stated. Whether there is any cashback or rewards is not stated; there is no cashback mentioned. If Apple Pay or Google Pay is how you pay for coffee and transit, the absence of a clear yes here should probably end your evaluation on its own.
Two other day-to-day facts, both about the app rather than the card. The app is on iOS and Android, with an Android APK download also offered. In the App Store, read on 2026-10-21, there is no rating shown — the listing says it “hasn’t received enough ratings or reviews to display an overview” — and the version is 1.0.6. The Google Play rating could not be read. So the app has essentially no public reputation to lean on: a very young-looking version number and no accumulated reviews. That is not proof of anything bad, but it means you would be among the early users, with the early-user consequences that implies.
On disputes, the FAQ topics address common concerns — “Why hasn’t a card transaction refund been received immediately?” and “Why did a payment transaction fail, but the card balance was deducted?” — but the answers and time frames are not documented. The failure modes are recognised, but the documentation does not explain how long a refund takes or how a failed-but-debited payment is resolved. That is a significant information gap when assessing the card’s reliability for important transactions.
What can go wrong
The reliability score is 4 out of 10, and it is low not because anything alarming was found but because the record is empty. Let me separate those clearly, because “no complaints found” and “no risk found” are not the same statement.
The company information is limited. The app is published by POPPO LLC. The country where that company is registered is not stated. The issuing bank is not stated. The licences are not stated. For a product that holds funds and converts them, those are the first three questions, and none of them has a published answer. There are no allegations being made; only the observation that when looking for the basics, the cupboard is bare.
Second, the money. The app’s own wording — deposit into “your wallet”, “Payth Wallet” — describes a custodial arrangement: the provider holds the credentials, and you trust it completely. That is the trade you make for convenience. A custodial balance carries counterparty and hack risk, and the sector has a record of it: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). None of those is a comment on Payth specifically. The point is only that holding funds with a custodian is a known-risk category, and you should price it accordingly.
Third, controls. The app listing mentions “built-in risk controls”. It does not state that you can monitor spend or freeze the card, and 2FA is not stated. Instant card freeze and spending limits are the everyday safeguards most card apps give you, along with 3-D Secure confirmation and tokenised mobile wallets. If freezing the card is not clearly a feature here, then losing your phone is a worse scenario than it would be with most card apps.
Fourth, complaints. None were found — no official incidents located, and one search for Trustpilot and Reddit returned only unrelated brands (PayThem, Payy). There is no Trustpilot page for Payth. Read that fairly: absence of complaints about a young product is expected, not reassuring. Nobody has had time to complain much yet, which is also why nobody has had time to build a reputation.
Fifth, support and news. Beyond an in-site FAQ, support is not stated — no channels, no languages, no hours. And there is no news to speak of: the App Store shows version 1.0.5 released September 15 and 1.0.6 on September 20, year not shown. A product on version 1.0.6 with no listed support channels is a product where, if something goes wrong at an ATM in a country you cannot name a local phone number for, you are relying on a FAQ page.
Finally, the category risks that apply to any card of this kind, so you are not surprised. A crypto card is often really a prepaid card: crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw — but it also cannot spend beyond it. A declined payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Merchants can look up the BIN and see the issuer’s country, and may apply extra scrutiny when it differs from your billing address; some decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. Address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Gambling, MCC 7995, is blocked by many issuers as policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — Payth’s is not stated. And there is history here: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; Visa also suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw what remains. A card from a small provider is a programme, and programmes end.
What to take instead
These alternatives are written from their own public pages, and the comparison is honest about how thin all of this information is. If Payth’s 4 / 10 for reliability is the point of concern, then every alternative here has similar shortcomings, so comparisons should focus on substance rather than brand.
| Option | Score | Card | Cost | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payth | 6.2 / 10 | virtual, network not stated | zero transaction fees, 2% ATM, rest not stated | BTC, ETH, USDT, networks not stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | virtual USD Mastercard, about 3 minutes | creating a virtual card is free; monthly not stated | BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, networks not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | prepaid, network not stated, balance in USD or EUR | not stated; app page lists no fees | crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR |
| Card.fi | 6.6 / 10 | Virtual Classic and Premium, physical and metal, under licence from the card schemes | one-time $49 Virtual Classic, $249 Virtual Premium; no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee | 32 coins across 5 networks, converted at market rate on arrival |
Three of these differ from Payth in ways worth naming.
CardFlow is aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, serving “Nigerians and global users” — and is the only one of the four that names its card network (USD Mastercard) and says the card takes 3 minutes to create. It also lists Naira bank transfer as a way in, which is a useful non-crypto rail if you have one. Its fees beyond free creation are not stated.
HyperCard says nothing about eligibility on its official pages, and the app store claims the card works in “more than 176 countries” — note that is a statement about acceptance, not about who can get one. It is a prepaid card with a balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto. No fees are listed at all.
Card.fi is the most transparent of the four, and the most expensive to enter. It ships to “200+ countries” and its terms bar residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service”. It offers a real spread of hardware — virtual and physical, Classic and Premium, plus metal in stainless steel, with every physical order including a virtual card, issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes” (though Visa and Mastercard are not named). The cost is explicit: Virtual Classic $49 and Virtual Premium $249 one-time, with physical and metal prices not listed, and no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Then the running costs are published: top-up fee Classic 1.5% plus $1.00, Premium 1%; FX fee Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up in the terms. It funds from 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch) — USDT, USDC, ETH, BNB, SOL, KAANCH — with a deposit address per card, converted at market rate on arrival, and the terms warn that the wrong chain risks permanent loss. It also has the only rewards programme in this group: cashback on card spending only, Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT a month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% capped at 100 USDT a month and 5,000 USDT, or 2% capped at 250 USDT a month and 20,000 USDT, with a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT a month, and interest on balances “up to 18%” on Metal, variable. That is a lot of published numbers compared with everyone else here — which is exactly the point. The trade is simple: you pay more, in cash, for the privilege of knowing.
Recommended user profile
Payth is recommended for a specific position. You are somewhere an ordinary bank card is hard to get, or you simply prefer not to route your money through a bank. You already hold BTC, ETH or USDT and are comfortable letting a provider hold the balance. You want a virtual card you can create in an app, with rare ATM access at a flat 2%, and no per-transaction fee. You pay in a currency close to the one your money is already in, so the unstated conversion rate costs you little. And you have accepted that you are an early user of a young product, with no public rating and no published support channels, so you would keep only what you can afford to lose.
Others should consider either a card from a provider with published licences and a support team, or Card.fi if transparency and defined fees are preferred. The deciding question is not “is a crypto card safe” — it never is, in the sense that any custodial product carries counterparty risk. The question is whether the user can see what they are buying. With Payth, on a good number of important things, they cannot. If that is a concern, it should guide the choice, and no 2% ATM fee should talk them out of it.
Frequently asked questions
What is Payth card?
Payth is a virtual payment card that spends money you load from a crypto balance. You register in its app, verify your identity, deposit BTC, ETH or USDT into the Payth wallet, and the crypto is converted to fiat so you get spending credit instantly. The card works at merchants and ATMs worldwide. Payth describes “multiple virtual card options” but does not state the card network or the currency.
How does Payth card work?
It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card. You convert or top up a fiat balance first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Card payments involve a card network routing the payment, an issuer licensed to issue cards, and Payth as the brand that markets and manages the programme for you. Crypto is converted to fiat at the point of sale, not spent coin by coin.
Is Payth a bank?
No — Payth does not present itself as a bank, and the public pages do not name a bank as its issuer. The app is published by POPPO LLC, and the country of registration, the issuing bank and the licences are all not stated. The category background helps here: in the EU an electronic money institution can issue payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, so many crypto cards are issued by EMI-like bodies rather than banks.
Who owns Payth?
The developer listed on the App Store is poppo llc, i.e. POPPO LLC. Beyond that, the public pages do not disclose who owns or controls the company, where it is registered, or which institution issues the card. This is the single biggest gap in the whole offering, and worth pressing on before you fund it.
Does Payth card require KYC?
Yes. Identity verification is handled by Sumsub, which “only accepts IDs or passports issued by the same country as your ID” and typically takes 5–10 minutes. Payth describes one KYC step with no tiers. Whether proof of address or proof of age is required is not stated. If your passport country differs from your country of residence, expect problems here.
What countries is Payth available in?
Payth says it is issued globally except restricted countries, and that it “cannot serve residents of the following countries and regions”, naming among others Afghanistan, Russia, Ukraine, Iran and Syria. Belarus was on the restricted list at an earlier check of this card. The list “is updated periodically based on issuer policies”, and the restriction is stated by residence rather than citizenship.
How is the Payth card topped up?
You “Deposit BTC, ETH, or USDT in your wallet”, and credit becomes available instantly. The important unknown is the network: which chains are accepted is not stated, and sending on the wrong chain or to another network’s address can mean the deposit is lost or needs manual recovery with no guarantee. Confirm the network and address in-app and send a small test amount first.
Is Payth card free?
Partly. Transactions carry “zero transaction fees” and ATM withdrawals cost “only 2%”, with no free allowance stated. But issuance cost, any monthly or servicing fee, the FX fee, the card currency, daily and monthly limits, and the crypto conversion rate (described only as “competitive rates”, with no percentage) are all not stated. So the card looks free to use, but the true cost of a payment is not fully published.
Can the Payth card be added to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The public pages do not say. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned for Payth at all, so whether you can tokenise the card for mobile payments is not stated. That is a significant gap if mobile wallets are how you normally pay, because a virtual card you can only use through its own app is far less convenient.
Is Payth card safe?
There is nothing alarming, but there is very little documented. The operator, POPPO LLC, has no stated country, issuer or licences; the wallet is custodial, so the provider holds your credentials; the app has no App Store rating and is on version 1.0.6; card freeze and 2FA are not stated; and support is limited to an in-site FAQ. No complaints were found, but that reflects a young product, not a proven one.
Virtual card verdicts – cryptocardverdict
Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team
