WantToPay card: a virtual crypto card built for Telegram users, with gaps that matter

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have ever tried to get an ordinary bank card and been told no, a crypto-funded card can look like a workaround. WantToPay is one of several products that promise exactly that: a card you can top up with cryptocurrency and spend online or in stores. The catch, as with most of this category, is what sits behind the marketing. This review walks through who can actually get the card, what it costs to run, how the top-up works, and what can go wrong, so you can decide whether it fits your situation.

WantToPay works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The information below reflects the card’s public pages as of October 28, 2026. Limits, fees and tariffs can change without notice, so check the latest numbers in the app or on the official site before you fund it.

Verdict

WantToPay earns 4.5 out of 10 in this review. The card does one thing reasonably well: it gives people without access to a normal bank account a way to pay online with a USD-denominated virtual card that they have topped up with crypto or rubles. The four-tier structure (Prepaid, Easy, Smart, Pro) is detailed on the official comparison page, the KYC check is handled by Sumsub, and the product lives inside Telegram, which suits a particular user base. Beyond that, several things hold the score back. The card issuer is not named on the official pages, country eligibility is not stated, only a virtual card is available, ATM withdrawals are not supported, and the Trustpilot profile for the company cannot currently display a score because reviews have been removed for breaching Trustpilot’s guidelines, while user reports of cards that stopped working and funds that became hard to access sit alongside short five-star reviews. If you mainly need a virtual card to pay foreign services from a Telegram-friendly product, WantToPay is a workable option. If you want a regulated card from a named issuer with physical card support, transparent fees and a clear dispute path, look elsewhere.

Criterion Mark Why it lands there
Who can get it 6 / 10 No public list of countries or residency rules; the sign-up promo is for new users aged 18 and over.
Cost 2 / 10 The $6 monthly service fee on Easy, Smart and Pro and the 9% crypto top-up fee on Easy are the main drags.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Rubles by phone number, bank card top-up and several major coins; the networks are not stated.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Issuer not named, Trustpilot score is hidden after a guideline breach, and several users report cards that stopped working.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card only, no ATM, mobile wallets only on Smart and Pro.
Total 4.5 / 10 Works for a narrow audience, but the unknowns and complaint pattern keep the overall score down.

The audience this card is built for is fairly specific: people who already live inside Telegram, hold crypto or rubles outside a normal banking relationship, and mainly need to pay foreign online services in USD. If that is not you, the alternatives section later in this review sets out who else is competing in this space.

Who WantToPay will give the card to

The official pages are quiet about one thing most card companies lead with: who can actually apply. There is no list of supported countries, no residency table, and no “we do not serve citizens of X” notice on the home page or in the terms index. That alone is a yellow flag, because most regulated card issuers publish this clearly. What the site does say is that a sign-up promotion is running for new users aged 18 and over, and that the product is operated by WTP Technology Limited, a company registered in Hong Kong. The card issuer’s name is not stated on the official pages I could read, which means you are signing up for a card whose issuing bank or e-money institution is not publicly named. A third-party sponsored article (tproger.ru, September 2026) says the issuing BINs are registered in the United States and Singapore, but that is not the card’s own statement and should be treated as unofficial.

If you are reading this from outside the usual crypto-friendly jurisdictions, treat the absence of a country list as a risk: the card may simply not work for you at the application stage, or it may be issued and then declined when you try to use it. The only way to find out for sure is to start KYC and see whether Sumsub accepts your document.

How to sign up

Signing up is meant to be quick. The product is delivered through a Telegram Mini App, with the website acting as a companion, and there is no native iOS or Android application to download. That is the first decision the card asks of you: do you want to transact through Telegram. If you do not already have an account you are comfortable using for payments, this is a meaningful consideration, not a detail.

The KYC check is run by Sumsub, a third-party identity provider. The official steps say “verification with one document”, and the supported documents are a passport, a foreign passport, or a driver’s licence. If you use an ID card or a driver’s licence, you have to photograph both sides. You then take a selfie, which may include a blink or a head turn to confirm liveness. WantToPay says it does not store copies of the document itself; Sumsub handles that side. The process is described as “usually a few minutes”, and the official guidance is that failures are most often down to photo quality. If you are rejected several times, the advice on the official pages is to contact support.

Two things are worth noting before you start. First, no proof of address is listed in the official KYC steps, so a utility bill or bank statement is not part of the documented flow. Second, specific rejection codes are not published; you will not get a “we declined you because of country X” message, you will simply be told the check failed.

If you complete KYC within seven days of registering, the official promo gives you a 30% discount on the Easy tier. That is a small but real saving, and it is the only timing-sensitive offer on the official pages.

Once KYC is done, the card is issued as a virtual card number, the base currency is US dollars, and 3D Secure is enabled for online payments. There is no physical card, no shipping, and no delivery wait. The card details appear in the Mini App or in your account on the website.

Fees: what it really costs

The cost picture is the weakest part of WantToPay and the main reason the cost criterion scored 2/10. There are four tiers, each priced differently for issue, each with its own monthly service fee (on three of the four), each with its own transaction fees, and each with a different crypto top-up fee. The official comparison table on the site is the source for the numbers below.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a WantToPay payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Prepaid Easy Smart Pro
Issue price Fixed denomination ($10–$200) 990 RUB (~$10) 1,590 RUB 3,490 RUB (~$35)
Monthly service fee $0 $6 $6 $6
Validity 24 months 24 months 36–60 months not stated
Successful transaction fee $0.25–$0.50 $0.25–$0.50 $0.50–$1.00 + 0.2% for contactless $0.50 + 1% of payment amount
Failed transaction fee $0.25–$0.50 $0.25–$0.50 $0.40–$1.00 $1.00
Crypto top-up fee fixed denomination only 9% 7% not stated
Daily purchase limit up to $20,000 up to $50,000 not stated not stated
Per-transaction limit $10,000 $20,000 $25,000 not stated
Monthly cap not stated not stated not stated $50,000

A few things stand out. The 9% top-up fee on Easy is steep. If you load $100 of crypto onto an Easy card, $9 goes to the provider before you have spent anything, and then the $6 monthly fee starts ticking. A small, occasional user pays a very large share of what they put in. The 7% on Smart is still meaningful, and Pro is the tier to read carefully because its transaction fee is 1% of every payment, which adds up fast if you pay several bills a month. The Pro cap of $50,000 a month is generous and useful if you genuinely move that volume.

Currency conversion is the other thing to watch. The card’s base currency is USD, and ruble top-ups are converted “at the app rate”. The official comparison table does not show a separate conversion commission, so the rate itself is where the cost sits. The fees section of the comparison table does not list a separate fee for paying in other currencies either, so the practical rule is: assume there is a spread built into the rate, and assume it is larger than what a regulated bank card would charge.

A third-party sponsored article (tproger.ru, September 2026) describes a “Plus” subscription of 690 RUB or 6 USDT per 30 days that is required for Easy and Smart, and treats the $6 monthly fee as the same thing. That is consistent with the official $6 figure, but the official pages I read did not use the word “Plus” or describe it as a subscription. Take the third-party framing as unofficial. The point for the reader is the same either way: $6 a month is a real cost, not a footnote.

A worked example helps. Suppose you are an Easy user, you top up $100 of USDT once, and then make five online payments of $20 over the month. The crypto top-up fee is $9, the monthly service fee is $6, and the five successful transactions also carry a per-transaction fee. You started with $100 of crypto and you have spent $15 plus those transaction fees to move $100 of value through the card, before any currency conversion. That is the cost structure you are buying into.

The official pages do not list ATM fees, and they do not support ATM withdrawals at all, which is consistent with the third-party statement that funds cannot be withdrawn from the card.

Top up: how to fund the card

The funding picture is more flexible than the cost picture. Two paths are documented on the official pages, and the choice between them matters for both convenience and fee.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up WantToPay starts with a transfer to the right network

The first path is rubles. On Easy and Smart, you can top up by sending rubles to a phone number using an instant transfer from a Russian bank, or by paying with a Russian bank card. The rate is “the app rate” and the fee is not stated. This is the path that makes sense if you are inside the Russian payments ecosystem and you want to load the card quickly. It does not involve crypto at all, and it relies on the SBP-style instant-transfer rails working as advertised.

The second path is crypto. The official home page lists Bitcoin, USDT, USDC and TON, and the in-app funding options add Ethereum and BNB. The minimum deposit is $10 on every tier. The top-up itself is processed through Cryptomus, a third-party crypto payment gateway, and the official guidance is that the network must be selected correctly for every new top-up, because a new payment address is generated each time and a transfer to an old address “cannot be returned”. Crypto transfers are irreversible, which is how blockchains work, so a mistake here is not recoverable by support in the way a bank transfer can sometimes be.

The crypto top-up fee is the big number. Easy charges 9% and Smart charges 7%, both taken off the amount you send. Pro is the tier where this is least painful, but Pro then charges 1% on every successful payment, so the cost moves from top-up time to spending time. The funded amount is usually credited at once, with a worst case of 180 minutes.

Three things the official pages do not say. First, the supported blockchain networks for each coin are not listed. If you are used to seeing “USDT on Ethereum, Tron, Arbitrum, Solana” on other services, you will have to look at the top-up screen inside the app to see which network the current address is on. Second, the official pages do not say who pays the on-chain network fee (the gas or bandwidth fee for the transfer itself). The default is that you pay it from the sending wallet, and a separate WantToPay fee is the percentage above, but if you are in a hurry, check this in the app before you broadcast. Third, the official pages do not say whether a stablecoin transfer is screened against sanctions lists; Tether, the issuer of USDT, has publicly stated that it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list, so sending from a sanctioned wallet is a real risk.

A second, smaller balance exists inside the product, called the “internal balance”. It is populated when a card-provider technical failure prevents the card from being funded, or when support moves funds there at your request. You can move money back to a Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro card from the internal balance at any time, free of charge, with a $2 minimum and a $500 daily cap. The user cannot top up the internal balance directly from a card.

Bank cards cannot be used to receive payments on WantToPay cards. If a service sends you money expecting a card number, that money will be declined.

Paying with it every day

For day-to-day spending, the first thing to know is that the card is virtual only. There is no plastic to carry, no embossed name, and no magstripe. For online checkout flows that ask for a 16-digit number, an expiry date and a CVV, this works. For anything that asks you to insert or tap a physical card, it does not.

Mobile wallets change the picture on two of the four tiers. Smart and Pro support Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, so a Smart or Pro user can tokenise the card onto their phone and tap to pay in physical stores. Prepaid and Easy users do not get mobile-wallet support, which is a real limitation if your main reason for getting the card is to use it in shops rather than online. Pro adds a feature the official site calls “offline abroad”, which is intended for travel use; the practical scope of “offline” is not spelled out in the comparison table.

There is no cashback, rewards programme or sign-up bonus on the official pages. If you are used to a credit card that gives 1% back on everything, this is the opposite end of the spectrum: you pay a fee to use the card, and you get nothing back.

App-store ratings are not stated because there is no app-store app. Ratings inside Telegram itself are not stated either. The product is a Telegram Mini App, and Telegram’s review system for Mini Apps is not the same as the App Store or Google Play.

The dispute and chargeback process is not described on the official pages. There is no published procedure for “I was charged for something I did not receive” or “I did not authorise this transaction”. Given that the card is a prepaid product with 3D Secure, the standard protections of a regulated debit card may not apply, and the practical remedy is to ask support and hope for a quick answer. If reliable dispute handling is important to you, this is a reason to look at a card issued by a named bank or e-money institution with published dispute procedures.

Blocked merchant categories are not listed in the official pages, but a third-party report (tproger.ru, September 2026) says the refusal code #D005 is used for prohibited categories including crypto exchanges, casinos, adult content, mining, e-wallets and government bodies, with gambling and donations also prohibited, and that several gaming merchants (Brawl Stars, Genshin Impact, Epic Games Store, PlayStation Store) are not payable on any tariff. None of this is confirmed by the card’s own pages and should be treated as unofficial.

What can go wrong

A crypto-funded card sits on top of several moving parts: the card scheme, the issuer, the programme manager, the KYC vendor, the crypto payment gateway, the blockchain you used to top up, and the merchant. Any one of them can fail or change policy, and when they do, your money is in the middle.

The first risk is that the card is virtual only and that the issuer is not named on the official pages. If the programme shuts down, the published precedents (FTX’s Visa card wound down in November 2022, the WaveCrest suspension in Europe in 2018) show what that can look like in practice: a notice period, then a freeze on new loads, then a freeze on spending, then a request to withdraw the remaining balance within a window. The official “internal balance” rules say that when a card expires it is deleted together with any remaining balance, so unused funds on an expired card are not protected by an automatic refund.

The second risk is the user-report pattern on Trustpilot. The Trustpilot profile cannot currently display a TrustScore because reviews were removed for breaching Trustpilot’s guidelines (the message is “unavailable due to a breach of our guidelines”). The raw review count is 274, with 152 in the last twelve months; 85% are five-star, 13% are one-star. WantToPay’s own homepage claims a 4.6 rating. The patterns inside the reviews, as of 20 October 2026, include declined payments, top-ups that took anywhere from ten minutes to nearly an hour, a refusal to refund a 693 RUB issue fee, and at least one refund that took several months to come back. The company replied to roughly 3% of negative reviews. Many of the positive reviews are short and some are from single-review accounts, which is the kind of pattern that triggered the Trustpilot guideline action in the first place.

The third risk is crypto-specific. Crypto transfers are irreversible, the card provider does not list which networks are supported for each coin, and a transfer to an old address “cannot be returned”. If you are not careful with the network selection, your top-up can become unrecoverable. WantToPay itself uses Sumsub for KYC, and the official pages say it does not store document copies, but the custody model (whether your crypto sits with WantToPay, with a partner, or in your own wallet until spend) is not described. In-app freeze, 2FA, spending controls and insurance are also not stated.

The fourth risk is regulatory. WantToPay is operated by WTP Technology Limited in Hong Kong. The card’s home regulator and the card issuer’s regulator are not named on the official pages. In the EU, for example, an e-money institution must segregate customer funds; in the US, the equivalent protections depend on the issuing bank or money transmitter framework. Without a named issuer, it is hard to know which regime applies to your balance, and whether you would have any claim on segregated funds if the company ran into trouble. Under MiCA, providers already operating under national law had a transitional period that runs until 1 July 2026; if a service is targeting EU users, this is the kind of date worth checking.

The fifth risk is geography. The official pages do not list supported countries, and the third-party report (tproger.ru, September 2026) says the tariff terms bar sellers from a list of countries that includes Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey “among others”. If you are a citizen or resident of one of those countries, the fact that you can technically start KYC does not mean you will be allowed to spend, and a card that later declines or gets frozen is worse than no card at all.

The sixth risk is operational. WantToPay is a Telegram-based product with no app-store app, and the published support channels are a Telegram bot (@WantToPaySupportBot), an email address ([email protected]), an AI assistant in the knowledge base called “Ask”, and VIP support on Pro. The Telegram bot is open from 07:00 to 00:00 (GMT+3); outside those hours, your only option is email. The complaint pattern in user reports of support “going silent” is consistent with a small team, and it is worth asking how responsive support will be if a real problem lands on a Sunday night.

What to take instead

WantToPay is not the only virtual card that converts crypto into a spendable balance. Three alternatives in the market are worth comparing directly. They differ in cost, transparency and the kind of user they are built for, so pick by which of those differences matters most to you.

If you want a free virtual card and you are in the supported geography, CardFlow is the closest comparison. If you want fee transparency and published tariffs, Card.fi is the strongest of the three on that axis. If you want a multi-currency card with broad acceptance claims, HyperCard is the alternative to read first. None of the three removes the underlying category risks: the card scheme (Visa or Mastercard) can still suspend a programme, the crypto side is still irreversible, and the issuer is still the party whose regulator ultimately protects your balance.

Who I would recommend it to

On the strength of the official pages, the user reports and the alternatives above, WantToPay fits a narrow profile reasonably well and fits most other profiles poorly.

It fits if you are an adult Telegram user, you already hold crypto (especially USDT or TON) or rubles outside a normal bank account, you need a USD-denominated virtual card, and you mainly want to pay foreign online services. In that case, the four-tier structure lets you choose between a $10 prepaid card with no monthly fee (Prepaid), a $10 monthly card with a steep 9% top-up fee (Easy), a middle tier with mobile-wallet support and a 7% top-up fee (Smart), and a $35 monthly card with VIP support and offline use (Pro). The 30% Easy promo for verifying within seven days of registration is a real, small saving. The KYC flow is short, and the card is issued in minutes rather than days.

It does not fit if you need a physical card, if you need to withdraw cash from an ATM, if you want a published dispute and chargeback process, if you want cashback or rewards, if you live in a country the tariff terms appear to bar, or if the absence of a named issuer and a hidden Trustpilot score are deal-breakers for you. It also does not fit if the cost structure bothers you: the 9% top-up fee on Easy and the 1% per-transaction fee on Pro are both meaningful, and the comparison table does not show a separate conversion commission, which means the cost of paying in a non-USD currency is buried in the app’s exchange rate. For any of those situations, CardFlow, HyperCard or Card.fi will serve you better, and a regulated bank or e-money card issued under MiCA or a US equivalent will serve you best of all.

The honest summary is this: WantToPay works for what it is built for, but it is built for a small audience, and the public information about the company behind it is thinner than most readers in this category are used to. If you are in the target audience, treat it as a working tool, not a place to park a balance you cannot afford to lose. If you are not, the alternatives section is the better place to spend your time.

Frequently asked questions

What is the WantToPay card?

WantToPay is a virtual card you top up with rubles or cryptocurrency and spend online or through mobile wallets. It is operated by WTP Technology Limited, a company registered in Hong Kong, and it is delivered through a Telegram Mini App and a website rather than a mobile app. The card’s base currency is US dollars.

How does the WantToPay card work?

You complete KYC through Sumsub, choose a tier (Prepaid, Easy, Smart or Pro), pay the issue price, and top up the card with rubles or crypto. The card balance is then spent at merchants, with 3D Secure protecting online payments. On Smart and Pro you can also add the card to Apple Pay, Google Pay or Samsung Pay and tap to pay in stores.

Is WantToPay a bank?

No. WantToPay is operated by WTP Technology Limited, a Hong Kong company, and the official pages do not name the card’s issuing bank or e-money institution. Without a named issuer, the card is not a bank product in the usual sense and the protections of a regulated bank balance do not apply.

Who owns WantToPay?

The operating company is WTP Technology Limited, registered in Hong Kong (incorporation number 76394774). The card issuer is not named on the official pages, and ownership beyond the operating company is not stated.

Is the WantToPay card available in my country?

The official pages do not publish a list of supported or excluded countries. A third-party sponsored article (tproger.ru, September 2026) says the tariff terms bar residents of several countries including Russia, Belarus, China and Turkey, but that is not the card’s own statement. The only reliable way to find out is to start KYC and see whether your document is accepted.

How do I get a WantToPay card?

Open the Telegram Mini App or the website, register an account, complete Sumsub KYC (passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, plus a selfie), choose a tier and pay the issue price. If you verify within seven days of registering, the official promo gives you a 30% discount on the Easy tier.

Does the WantToPay card require KYC?

Yes. KYC is run by Sumsub and is described as “verification with one document”: a passport, foreign passport or driver’s licence, with both sides photographed for an ID card or licence, followed by a selfie that may include a blink or head turn. Proof of address is not listed in the official KYC steps. The process is described as usually taking a few minutes.

How do I top up the WantToPay card?

You can top up with rubles by phone-number instant transfer or by Russian bank card on Easy and Smart, or with crypto (Bitcoin, USDT, USDC and TON on the home page, plus Ethereum and BNB in the app). Each new crypto top-up generates a new payment address through Cryptomus, and the network must be selected carefully because transfers to an old address “cannot be returned”. The minimum deposit is $10.

Can I withdraw money from the WantToPay card?

The official pages do not describe cash withdrawal. The card is virtual only, and WantToPay’s own pages do not support ATM access, which a third-party article confirms. Cards are also not meant for receiving funds from external services, and a bank card cannot be used to receive payments on a WantToPay card.

Is the WantToPay card safe to use?

It is built on standard safeguards (Sumsub KYC, 3D Secure for online payments, no document copies stored by WantToPay itself), but the card issuer is not named on the official pages, the Trustpilot score for the company is currently hidden after reviews were removed for breaching Trustpilot’s guidelines, and several users report cards that stopped working and funds that became hard to access. If safety in the sense of “I have a regulated claim on a segregated balance” matters to you, the absence of a named issuer is the single biggest gap.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team