Meru review: a USD Visa card with a wide stablecoin top-up list and thin support

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

You have probably arrived here from the same question I did: is this card going to work for me, in my country, with my money, at the shop where I actually spend? Meru is a crypto card that behaves more like a prepaid account than a bank card. You load it, it converts to dollars, and you spend what is in the balance. That is the whole idea, and it is a good idea for a specific person — someone who holds dollars or stablecoins already and wants a card that spends them anywhere Visa is accepted, without a traditional banking relationship. For everyone else, the same design has sharp edges: a fee that rises when you spend outside the United States, no published list of countries, and a support channel that people have complained about.

Meru works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score for Meru is 7.3 out of 10. That is a good card, not a flawless one, and the two ends of that number matter as much as the middle: it earns the highest marks in the category for how many ways you can fund it, and the lowest for reliability and complaints, because the operator is a small Florida company and the user reviews are thin and unflattering.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, criterion by criterion

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”, but the footnote is not explained and no country list is published
Cost 7 / 10 Virtual card free, physical 5 USD, no maintenance fee; payments 1% outside the US in USD, 1.2% in other currencies; crypto top-up 1% + 1 USD; ATM 0 USD
Top-up options 10 / 10 USDC and USDT across Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad, plus Tron, BSC and Ethereum
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operator R3MIT Solutions Inc. (Florida, MSB registered with FinCEN), issuing bank not named; Trustpilot rating ~3.0/5 from 5 reviews with complaints about support and access blocks; App Store 4.7 out of 5
Everyday use 7 / 10 Physical and virtual Visa, ATM with no Meru fee up to 250 USD per withdrawal; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed

Two things stand out in that table. The top-up score is a perfect 10 because the network list is genuinely long — but remember that a long list is only useful if you know which network your exchange sends on, and a wrong network is where money disappears. The reliability score is a 5, and that is where I would want your attention before you commit real balance.

Who this suits: people who already hold dollars or dollar-pegged stablecoins, who want to convert crypto into spendable dollars without a bank, and who can live with paying 1% to 1.2% on purchases made outside the United States. Who it does not suit: people who want a fully multi-currency card, people who want Apple Pay or Google Pay confirmed, people in a country that may be excluded without warning, and anyone whose priority is a support desk that answers.

Will they give you the card

Meru’s own page says an account can be opened “from anywhere in the world*” — with an asterisk. The asterisk is not explained anywhere I could find, and no list of countries is published. That single missing footnote is the most important thing on this page for a reader outside the US: the marketing is universal, the practice may not be. Citizenship versus residence is not stated. So if you are reading this in a country where crypto is restricted, or where your exchange will not let you send funds anywhere, the answer to “will they give me the card” depends on rules you cannot see from outside.

What the verification actually involves is described once and clearly enough: a photo of a valid ID — a cédula, DNI or passport — plus facial validation if asked, and you must be an adult. Proof of address is not stated. Tiers, processing time and rejection reasons are not stated.

The card itself comes as a physical and a virtual “Tarjeta Visa Internacional”, issued in the US, with a USD account. Whether the plastic is metal is not stated, which tells you about as much as you would expect from a product page.

My read: the identity check is light-touch by industry standards, which is good for speed and bad for the day you need a human being to reverse a mistake. Take your own screenshots of every deposit and every transfer. In this category, a screenshot is the only receipt you get.

How to get it

You open the account with your national identity document, complete the ID photo and face check, and the card arrives as a physical item or exists immediately as a virtual one. That is the whole sequence the site describes; the finer steps are not set out anywhere.

The physical card costs 5 USD and shipping is “according to the shipping country” — with no amount published. The virtual card is free. Countries shipped to, delivery time and replacement cost for a lost card are all not stated, and those are three questions worth asking in support chat before you ever need them. Activation is not described as a separate ritual, which usually means the card works once the account is live.

The reader who wants to know the honest version: this is a straightforward signup with one document, but the parts that would tell you whether it will work in your life — where it ships, how fast, what a replacement costs — are not on the page. Assume you will ask.

Fees: what a Meru payment really costs

Here is the price list that actually exists, as opposed to the fees page the site links to and shows no amounts on. The card says “sin cargos adicionales”, with no additional charges, and points elsewhere for detail; the amounts below come from the card’s own statements.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Meru payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Fee
Virtual card Free
Physical card 5 USD
Monthly maintenance None
Purchase in the US in USD 0%
Purchase outside the US in USD 1%
Purchase outside the US in another currency 1.2%
ATM withdrawal, Meru fee 0 USD (ATM operator or Visa conversion may charge)
ATM per transaction Up to 250 USD
ATM per day 3 withdrawals
Daily purchase limit 10,000 USD

Now three everyday payments, so you can see where these percentages bite.

Buying a two-dollar coffee in New York costs you 2 dollars. Zero percent, no monthly fee, nothing else. That is the case the card is genuinely good at.

Buying the same coffee in Lisbon is charged in euros locally, sent to Visa, and converted to dollars at the current rate, plus 1.2%. On 2 euros that is under three cents. On a 200-euro weekly shop it starts to matter, and it is the reason this card reads as a poor choice for anyone who thinks in a currency other than the dollar.

Buying something from a non-US online store priced in dollars costs 1% even though no currency conversion happens. That 1% is the price of leaving home, and there is no tier, no volume discount and no way to switch it off. There is a single tier: no plans, no subscription, account opening and maintenance free, and that is genuinely all there is.

Two currencies deserve attention. The card is a USD card. Multi-currency accounts do exist — a US account in dollars, IBAN and MX accounts — but the card balance is dollars, so the other accounts are not something the card spends from. Buying in another currency is charged locally and converted on the way back. That conversion rate is Visa’s, and the 1.2% on top of it is Meru’s.

The ATM deserves a separate sentence because “0 USD” reads better than it is. Meru charges nothing for the withdrawal, but the ATM operator or Visa’s conversion may. Up to 250 USD per transaction and three per day, and withdrawals must be switched on in the app under Tarjetas → Habilitar retiros en ATM before they work at all.

How to top up

This is where Meru is at its best, and the network list is the reason I scored it 10 out of 10. You can deposit USDC and USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism and Monad, and also Tron, BSC and Ethereum. On top of that there are bank rails and cash: ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, credit card through Stripe, MoneyGram and PIX. The minimum top-up is not stated, and the exact fee is shown in the app before you confirm.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Meru starts with a transfer to the right network
Top-up route Fee
ACH (global, MX, CO) 2 USD
ACH (ES) 3 USD
Wire (global) 15 USD
Wire (ES) 25 USD
SEPA (global, CO) 2 USD
SEPA (ES) 3 USD
SPEI 2 USD
PSE 0.30% + 0.3 USD
Credit card (Stripe) 5.40% + 1 USD
MoneyGram 0.5 USD
PIX 0
USDC/USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism, Monad 1% + 1 USD
USDT on Tron 1% + 5 USDT
BSC 1% + 3 USDC
Ethereum 1% + 10 USDC
From exchanges 1% + 1 USDC

Read the last five rows together, because they are the same decision made five times. The fee for sending USDC over Ethereum is 1% plus 10 USDC; over Tron it is 1% plus 5 USDT; over Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism or Monad it is 1% plus 1 USD. On a small deposit the flat component dominates, so a 20-dollar top-up costs a meaningful slice. The rule of thumb the numbers themselves give you: send on the cheap networks, and check the fee in the app before you confirm rather than after.

Two facts that trip people up, and neither is Meru’s fault. A wallet holding USDT but no ETH cannot send on Ethereum, because gas is paid in ETH. And a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Crypto transfers are irreversible in general. That is not a Meru risk; it is the property of the rails, and Meru’s long network list is exactly why people get it wrong.

Withdrawals are priced separately and, being honest, they are the stingier end: ACH and SEPA 0.75% + 1.5 USD, wire 0.75% + 25 USD, Swift 0.4% + 15 USD, USDC/USDT on Polygon or Stellar 1% + 1 USD, Tron 1.50% + 5 USDC, PIX 0, MoneyGram 0.5 USD. The card page also mentions MoneyGram cash pickup in local currency in more than 200 countries. If you are depositing in order to withdraw, add those two costs together before you decide the card is cheap.

And if you decide to leave, the terms say: withdraw the balance, notify Meru, uninstall the app. That is the closing procedure, and it is worth knowing it exists before you need it.

Paying with it every day

The physical and virtual Visa both spend from the same balance. Purchases are capped at 10,000 USD per day. ATM withdrawals are capped at 250 USD each, three per day, and have to be enabled in the app first. That is the everyday envelope, and for most people spending patterns it is generous.

The card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app, limits can be set there, and real-time notifications are on. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned anywhere on the card’s pages — not as supported, not as unsupported. If being able to tap your phone is the reason you want a card, treat that as an open question to ask before you rely on it, because it is not confirmed on the card’s site.

The virtual card carries a restrictions list you should know before you meet it at a checkout. Betting platforms, adult sites and dating apps, virtual wallets, streaming and video-game platforms (geolocation-dependent) are restricted, and named merchants include Binance, Interactive Brokers, Skrill, PayPal and Zinli. Limits come from the issuing bank and from merchants. In other words: the merchant or the bank can say no even when the card’s own rules say yes.

Rewards are thin. No cashback is stated; the page lists “Descuentos y promociones especiales en comercios seleccionados” — discounts and special promotions at selected shops. That is a discount page, not a rewards programme, and it should not be counted as cashback when you compare cards.

The app is on iOS for iPhone and iPad, requiring iOS 15.5 or later, and rated 4.7 out of 5 on the App Store from 1.7K ratings, read on 20 October 2026. A Google Play listing exists; its rating I did not read. One app-level feature worth knowing: the help centre is in Spanish, and support hours are not stated.

If a payment goes wrong, the dispute route is email at [email protected] or in-app chat, within 30 calendar days of the transaction. Review takes up to 15 business days. There is a 30 USD fee per disputed transaction, deducted whether or not the dispute succeeds, and a reversal is not guaranteed. That last combination is the one to sit with: you pay 30 dollars to be heard, and you are not promised a refund at the end of it.

What can go wrong

Start with the operator. The terms name R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN, which is the correct registration for that kind of business in the US. The issuing bank is not named on the fetched page, and the legal entity behind the “Meru” brand is not named either — the footer simply reads © 2026 Meru. The fees page was last updated in August 2026, and I found no licence changes and no fines.

That combination — a registered operator, an unnamed issuing bank, no published country list — is normal for this category and not evidence of anything wrong. It does mean your protection depends on institutions whose names are not on the card’s site. Note also what the terms say about crypto: Meru “does not administer digital assets on the user’s behalf”, and the app only displays the balance. The app store text claims funds are “100 % protegido”; the terms do not address insurance or deposit protection, and two-factor authentication is not stated. If a stablecoin sits in your own wallet until you convert it, that is your side of the risk; once converted, it is Meru’s.

The user reports are the reason the reliability score is 5. On Trustpilot, meru.app shows roughly 3.0 out of 5 from 5 reviews — a very small sample, and the company has not invited reviews, so treat the number as thin rather than definitive. Within it: a Spanish-language review says a third-party transfer through Hotmart was not credited and Meru then stopped accepting third-party payments; another says a rejected withdrawal was still debited and support is near-nonexistent; one user could not open the app for about a day and reached out via Instagram; two 1-star fraud accusations with no detail attached; dates not shown. No Reddit threads found. Separately, getmeru.com lists 39 reviews with the overall score not seen as of 20 October 2026, including a 1-star of 20 June 2025 describing being locked out for over a week with about 20 support tickets closed unresolved, and app store reviews mentioning slow support, an unresolved withdrawal and difficulty closing an account.

Read those reports as a pattern rather than a verdict: the recurring word is *support*, and the second recurring word is *access*. Both are cheap to fix and expensive to discover.

On support specifically: the main channel is in-app chat via the support icon at the top right. A support email is listed but the address is not given. Social channels exist on X, Facebook, Instagram, Discord and LinkedIn. The help centre is Spanish, and an article on it is dated 9 April 2026.

Two structural risks sit underneath all of this, and they belong to the category rather than to Meru. Stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 — and Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. And a card programme can be closed: when Visa terminated its agreements with FTX in November 2022, the card was wound down by its issuer. Waves have been seen before, with WaveCrest suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures follow a pattern of stopping loads, stopping spending, then asking you to withdraw — which is exactly why I put withdrawal fees above, not below, the top-up fees.

Finally, a declined payment is not always a clean no. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven.

What to take instead

I looked at three other cards in this category. None is a straight substitute — they fail in different directions — but two of them beat Meru on specific things you might care about more than network choice.

Card Score Issued Cost Foreign currency Notable
Meru 7.3 / 10 US, Visa Virtual free, physical 5 USD, no maintenance 1% outside the US in USD, 1.2% in other currencies Widest stablecoin network list of the four
Morse 7.5 / 10 Visa prepaid debit, virtual only Issuance and monthly fee not stated “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”, real-time Visa rate Self-custodial Morse Wallet; app in over 140 countries
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual 5 USD one-time, plans from free to 19 USD/month Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee Free deposits of any kind; physical card “coming soon”
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Mastercard, multicurrency “No annual fee” “No foreign transaction fee”, live OTC rates Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3%

Morse scores higher than Meru overall, 7.5 against 7.3, and its fee story is cleaner where Meru’s is not: zero foreign exchange fees or markups, conversions at the real rate with no markup, and online and contactless payments free. Its catch is eligibility, which is by residence and not citizenship — you must be at least 18 and resident in a supported country, the app is available in over 140 countries, and a list of countries is closed-beta requiring an invite code, including Australia, Japan, Singapore, Switzerland, Türkiye, the United Kingdom and others. The card is “available only in certain countries” and the list is not published on the card page, so you check the app. Like Meru, it is fully virtual for now, spending a balance in any currency. Unlike Meru, its deposit side is clearer about self-custody: the Morse Wallet is self-custodial, USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free while other tokens carry a fee, and Bitcoin, USDT and Ethereum can be deposited.

The International Visa Card is the interesting one for Meru readers, because it removes the fee that bothers people most: deposits of any kind are free, and card use in USD is free on all plans. Its costs are a 5 USD one-time issuance and plans at free, 9.00 USD/month and 19.00 USD/month, and its FX fee is 2% on top of Visa’s rate — worse than Meru’s 1.2% outside the US. It also publishes the longest exclusion list of the four: no account or card for residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Its rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. And the physical card is “coming soon”, so if you need plastic, that is not the answer.

UNi Card is the one to look at if currency, not crypto, is your problem: a multicurrency Mastercard spending from a UNi.Global balance, no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at live OTC rates, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. Its weaknesses are silence: who can get it is not stated, funding routes are not stated, whether the card is physical or virtual is not stated, and no cashback figure is stated. For a reader who cannot get an ordinary bank card, an unstated eligibility is disqualifying.

My ranking, for what it is worth: Meru if you live on stablecoins and top up in small amounts on cheap networks; Morse if you can get an invite code in a supported country and want clean FX; the International Visa Card if your priority is free deposits and dollar spending, and you live well away from its exclusion list.

Who I would recommend it to

Three profiles, honestly described.

If you already hold dollars or dollar-pegged stablecoins, spend in USD, and want a card that converts and spends without a bank relationship — Meru is a good fit, and the top-up network list is the best I found in this comparison.

If you spend in a currency other than the dollar, most of your spending is outside the US, you want Apple Pay or Google Pay, or you need a support team that answers within a day — I would look elsewhere, and the comparison table above is where I would start.

If you are in a country where crypto is restricted or where your exchange will not send funds abroad — check first, quietly, because the card’s own country list is not published. I am not going to tell you what that answer is; nobody outside the card knows.

One last thing to keep in view, since it belongs to the whole category rather than to Meru: crypto payments are a taxable event in many places. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can therefore be a separate disposal. That is not advice — it is a reason to keep records, and this is not my area.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Meru card?

Meru is a crypto payment card that works like a prepaid Visa account rather than a bank card. You load it with crypto or money, it converts to US dollars, and you spend the balance. You get both a physical and a virtual card, the card is issued in the US, and the balance is in dollars. The company behind it is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation registered as a Money Services Business with FinCEN.

How does the Meru card work?

You load a balance, the card spends it, and nothing more happens behind the scenes. Purchases in USD inside the US cost 0%. Outside the US they cost 1% in dollars, or 1.2% if the purchase is in another currency, because the local charge is converted to dollars at Visa’s rate. The card cannot overdraw, because there is no overdraft — only a balance that runs out.

Is Meru a bank?

Not one it presents itself as. Meru is a card programme front-end over an unnamed issuing bank, and the operating company is a registered money services business rather than a bank. That distinction matters for what happens to your balance: it is not a bank deposit, so a bank deposit guarantee scheme is not the relevant protection. The card’s own terms also say Meru does not administer digital assets on your behalf.

Who owns Meru?

The operator named in the terms is R3MIT Solutions Inc., a Florida corporation, registered with FinCEN as a Money Services Business. The legal entity behind the Meru brand and the issuing bank are not named on the pages I could fetch; the site footer simply reads © 2026 Meru. I found no licence changes and no fines.

Can I use Meru in my country?

The card’s page says accounts can be opened “from anywhere in the world*”, but the asterisk is not explained and no country list is published. Citizenship versus residence is not stated either. So the marketing answer is yes and the practical answer is unconfirmed. If your country is not obviously straightforward, ask in support chat before you load money.

Does Meru require KYC?

Yes, and it is a light check. A photo of a valid ID — cédula, DNI or passport — plus facial validation if asked, and you must be an adult. Proof of address is not stated, nor are processing times or rejection reasons. That lightness is good for speed and thin for support if something goes wrong later.

Is Meru free?

Mostly. There is no maintenance fee and the virtual card is free. The physical card costs 5 USD, plus shipping that depends on the destination country. Payment fees are 0% for US purchases in dollars, 1% outside the US in dollars and 1.2% outside the US in other currencies. ATM withdrawals carry no Meru fee, though the ATM operator or Visa conversion may charge.

How do I top up the Meru card?

With USDC or USDT on Stellar, Polygon, Base, Arbitrum, Solana, Optimism or Monad for 1% + 1 USD, or on Tron for 1% + 5 USDT, BSC for 1% + 3 USDC, Ethereum for 1% + 10 USDC. You can also use ACH, wire, SEPA, SPEI, PSE, a credit card through Stripe, MoneyGram or PIX. Send on the cheapest network you can, and confirm the exact fee in the app first.

Is it safe, and can I add it to Apple Wallet?

The card supports freezing, limits and real-time notifications in the app, which are real safeguards. Against that, two-factor authentication is not stated, and the app’s claim that funds are “100 % protegido” is not matched by anything in the terms on insurance. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on the card’s pages at all — neither supported nor unsupported — so ask before you rely on tapping your phone.

How do I withdraw or close the account?

Withdrawals have their own fees: ACH and SEPA 0.75% + 1.5 USD, wire 0.75% + 25 USD, Swift 0.4% + 15 USD, USDC/USDT on Polygon or Stellar 1% + 1 USD, Tron 1.50% + 5 USDC, PIX 0, MoneyGram 0.5 USD. Disputes go to [email protected] or in-app chat within 30 calendar days, take up to 15 business days to review, and cost 30 USD per transaction whether or not they succeed. To close: withdraw, notify Meru, uninstall the app.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team