Nero looks simple on the surface and thin on the details

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Nero is a virtual payment card that you fund with USDT or USDC and then spends like an ordinary card, including through Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the whole pitch, and it is a genuinely useful one for anyone who finds a normal bank card hard to get. But when I went through the card’s own pages, the details that decide whether a card works for you — which countries it will issue to, what the fees are beyond top-up, who the issuer is, what the limits are — were mostly absent. The card launched on 25 June 2026 as a paid press release, and as of my checks there is no public complaint history either way.

Nero works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for Nero is 4.8 out of 10. That is not a damning number for a young product; it is the arithmetic of a card that says little and promises a lot in the few places it does speak. Read on, because the same 4.8 looks quite different depending on which of two people you are.

Who this card suits, and who it does not

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 No countries named; the site says restricted countries exist, list not disclosed
Cost 3 / 10 4% top-up commission; one-time issuance fee with no amount; FX not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT or USDC, networks unconfirmed; conversion to fiat at payment
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Nero Sphere LIMITED (Hong Kong); issuer and licences not named; no complaints or reviews found
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay for contactless; ATM not disclosed
Total 4.8 / 10

The quick description: a virtual card funded with USDT or USDC. If that sentence matches your situation, this card is at least in the right category.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nero starts with a transfer to the right network

It suits someone who wants a virtual card quickly, holds USDT or USDC already, is comfortable sending a stablecoin transfer before they buy anything, and does not need the card to work in a specific country with a specific bank behind it. It also suits someone whose priority is spending rather than holding — you are converting to fiat as you pay, not accruing a balance in crypto.

It does not suit someone who needs to know the exact cost of a purchase before they make it, who plans to withdraw cash from an ATM, who wants a card issued in their own country with a named domestic issuer, or who plans to keep a meaningful balance on the card for any length of time. With an undisclosed FX fee and an undisclosed 4%-plus top-up commission, the cost of each purchase is not knowable in advance. And if you are a Russian or Belarusian citizen or resident looking for a way in, I found no statement either way — see the next section.

Will they give you the card

No country list is stated on the readable pages of Nero’s site. The site says restricted countries exist; the list itself was not published on the pages I could read. That is the honest position, and it is not a small one: without a country list, you cannot tell whether you are eligible without asking.

I also found no statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents, in either direction. The card says nothing on that subject on its public pages. I am not going to read a silence as either permission or prohibition — but I will tell you plainly that if your question is whether this card works for someone in that situation, the card itself does not answer it.

The company behind it is Nero Sphere LIMITED, with a Hong Kong dateline. The press contact is David Vance, Director of Growth, and the press email is [email protected]. The issuer and licences are not named. For context, that matters more than it might seem: when you pay with a card, several parties are involved. The card network routes the payment and sets the rules, the issuer is the bank or e-money institution actually licensed to issue the card, and the brand you have signed up with is often just the programme manager and front end. Nero’s pages name the brand but not the issuer or the licence, so you cannot check the licence yourself.

You can at least do one category-level check. In the EU, ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and MiCA’s transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. Whether that applies to Nero Sphere depends on what it does and where it is established, and neither is described.

How to get it

Registration, top-up and card issuance are fully online, with no bank-branch visit — that comes from the press release rather than from a step-by-step page, and it is the most operationally interesting claim in the whole release.

What you get is a virtual card with a standard number, expiry and CVC. The network is not named, and the card currency is not stated. Delivery is virtual only as described; physical delivery is not stated, so I would not plan around a plastic card arriving.

KYC is not described. Not “light KYC”, not “KYC on first top-up” — simply not described on the pages I could read. The level of verification required is also not stated. That is a gap with a practical consequence: under anti-money-laundering law, regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing transaction monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic KYC also validates proof-of-address documents. None of that tells you what Nero will ask of you — but it does tell you that some form of it is normal for any card issuer, and a card that does not describe its checks is a card whose friction you cannot predict.

If your question is whether the card can be activated and used straight away, the answer that the material supports is that the card is issued within minutes of funding. That is the one concrete timing claim on the table.

What it really costs: Fees

This is the section where Nero is weakest, and I want to be blunt about it: you cannot cost this card. The fee structure I can document is one number, and the number is the wrong one to be the only number.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nero payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What Nero states
Issuance One-time fee, amount not stated
Monthly fee No monthly fee stated
Top-up commission 4%
Conversion to fiat Happens at payment
FX fee Not stated
ATM Not stated
Daily limits Not stated
Monthly limits Not stated
Tiers Not stated
Card currency Not stated

Two or three everyday payments, to make the gap concrete.

Paying for a coffee that costs 30 units of your card currency, on a card funded with USDT. What applies: the 4% top-up commission, charged when you loaded the balance, and the conversion to fiat at the moment of payment. What you do not know before you tap: the FX fee, because it is not stated.

Paying for a monthly online subscription in a currency other than the card’s. Same two known items, and this time the FX fee is not a rounding matter but a recurring one. If you keep a balance for a month, you pay that month-end conversion on it.

Paying abroad, or simply paying a shop whose billing country differs from the card’s. On top of everything above, the merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. This is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and it is a higher risk of decline when the issuer is Hong Kong-datelined and you are not.

One thing worth separating out: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Nero. But since the networks Nero accepts are not confirmed on the readable pages, you cannot know which chain your transfer will ride or what that chain will cost — and ERC-20 gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send at all. Tron fees are paid via bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. The practical reading is that the 4% is not the whole cost of putting money on this card.

There is no monthly fee stated, no inactivity fee, and no tiers — which is neutral-to-good news in a category where many cards charge exactly those. The problem is that “no fee stated” is not the same as “no fee”. It is a silence.

How to top it up

Top up with USDT or USDC. The card converts to fiat at the time of payment, not at the time you top up — that is the design, and it is what makes the card spend like an ordinary one rather than leaving you exposed to the crypto market between loading and spending.

The 4% top-up commission is the one number that is stated. A minimum top-up, who pays the network fee, and any fiat top-up options are not stated. Networks are not confirmed on the readable pages, and this is the single most dangerous silence on the whole product.

Here is why. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. You are being asked to send real money to a deposit address whose chain is not documented. Before you send anything, the network the card expects and the network you are about to use must be the same — and if the card’s pages do not say, that is a question for support, not a detail you fill in yourself.

Two stablecoin notes that bear on the choice. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS (July 2025) put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm; Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — a real trap if you pick a chain on habit.

And stablecoins can depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis.

Withdrawal is not stated. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

Paying with it every day

The everyday-use case is the card’s best argument. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for in-store contactless payments, and a virtual card with a standard number, expiry and CVC is exactly the shape that mobile wallets expect. That is a real, practical convenience — no plastic to wait for, and no queue at a branch.

There is a security benefit to it too, though it is not the card’s doing: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can also restrict the tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use — so a virtual card that exists as a number can be narrowed to contactless use only.

Beyond that, the daily-use picture is thin. No app is described — the service is used via the website — and wallet integration is therefore the only route that gets you through a shop door quickly. Blocked merchant categories are not stated. Rewards are not stated. Dispute handling is not stated.

That last one deserves more than a shrug, because it is where card users feel the difference between a good product and a thin one. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E, prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed — and a card funded from crypto is closer to a prepaid structure than to a bank account, in the sense that it draws on a stored balance rather than asking a bank to withdraw from a linked account at the time of purchase.

For online payments, 3-D Secure is the mechanism to know about: the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you, for example with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check, and EMV 3-D Secure 2 (published 2016) supports one-time passcodes and app-based authentication aligned with EU strong customer authentication. Since Nero does not name its network, I cannot tell you which brand applies. One more practical thing: Address Verification Service compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records, and it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines.

Also worth knowing before you are surprised: a declined authorisation may leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7.

What can go wrong

The first thing, and I want to be careful here because there is no evidence of trouble. I found no official incidents, and no user reports or news about complaints. There is no Trustpilot page for Nero, as I checked on 2026-10-21. That cuts both ways: a clean slate is what a young product looks like, not evidence of a clean record. Nero launched on 25 June 2026 — a paid press release, not an independent story — so the service is barely four months old at the time of my checks, and a four-month-old product has not yet produced a track record either way.

The second thing is structural, and it is the one I would weigh most heavily. Issuer and licences are not named. That means you cannot confirm who is legally responsible for your money, whether it is safeguarded, or whether it would be covered if things went wrong. Category background worth holding in mind: electronic money institutions must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. A card itself is a payment service regulated separately under e-money and payment-services law, while MiCA covers the crypto side — custody, exchange, transfer — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. If you cannot name Nero’s, you are trusting on the brand name alone.

The category has a history here, and it is worth knowing because it is exactly the failure mode you cannot see coming. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. In 2018 Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. WaveCrest was a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands — that is the detail people miss: the brand can be perfectly real and still have its programme switched off underneath it. Programme closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances.

Third: sending crypto in means giving up control of it for the transfer window. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; a seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Cryptocurrency transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return the funds. Custodial platforms have a record of failures too: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011-2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). And note the asymmetry: with 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to the cardholder’s bank, or per critics to the cardholder.

Fourth: merchant friction. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. A gambling-category block (MCC 7995, which covers casinos, betting and lotteries) is a policy choice that varies by issuer — Nero does not state whether it has one.

Fifth: support. Handled by staff, not automated systems; contact [email protected], which is the press contact. Languages and hours are not stated, and security safeguards of any kind are not stated — no app means no app-based 2FA, no instant freeze, no spending controls to describe.

On taxes, one non-advice note that belongs in a card review: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss. Gain is measured in the local fiat currency using the fair market value on the date of the transaction, which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Your own position depends on where you live; this is not advice, just a reason to keep records if you use this card regularly.

What to take instead

Three alternatives come up when I look for something comparable, and none of them is perfect either. Two score below Nero’s, one well above.

CardFlow scores 4.9 / 10 — fractionally above Nero, and its hook is positioning rather than disclosure. It is aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions stated. You get a virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes. Creating a virtual card is completely free per its site FAQ; monthly fee and fees generally are not stated. Funding is by Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer, networks not stated. Rewards not stated. So: better on price disclosure at the top end, worse on international ambiguity, and its networks are as undocumented as Nero’s.

HyperCard scores 4.7 / 10. Its official pages state no country list either, but the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the distinction matters exactly as much as it did in Nero’s case. It is a prepaid card with balance in USD or EUR, funded by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and converted to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated. Fees and rewards not stated on the pages I could read, and the App Store page lists no fees. It is a slightly more defined product than Nero — a named balance currency at least — but on disclosure it is in the same place.

Card.fi scores 6.6 / 10, and the gap is entirely about disclosure. Its banner says cards ship to “200+ countries”, with terms barring residents of, or orders from, “a country subject to sanctions that would prohibit the service” — a stated rule rather than an unstated list. It offers Virtual Classic and Virtual Premium, physical Classic and Premium, metal in stainless steel, every physical order including a virtual card, cards issued “under licence from the relevant card schemes”, though Visa and Mastercard are not named and the card currency is not stated. Pricing is published: Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249 one-time, physical and metal prices not listed, and no monthly, annual, inactivity or minimum-balance fee. Fees are published too — top-up Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%; FX fee Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%, with the conversion fee shown before each top-up. Funding is 32 coins across 5 networks (Ethereum, Base, BNB Chain, Solana, Kaanch), with a deposit address per card and conversion at market rate on arrival; the terms warn that the wrong chain risks permanent loss. Rewards are the most detailed in this group: cashback on card spending only, Classic 0.8% capped at 10 USDT/month, Premium 1%, Metal 1.2% capped at 10 USDT/month and 5,000 USDT or 2% capped at 250 USDT/month and 20,000 USDT, a headline 10% at coffee shops capped at 10 USDT/month, and interest on balances “up to 18%” on Metal, variable.

Where Card.fi is weaker: the entry price is $49 against nothing, it does not name the network, and 3.5% FX on Classic is worse than a card that simply does not tell you. But you can do the arithmetic on it, and you cannot do the arithmetic on Nero.

Nero CardFlow HyperCard Card.fi
Score 4.8 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10 6.6 / 10
Who it targets Not stated Nigeria and global users Not stated 200+ countries, sanctions-barred countries excluded
Card Virtual, network not named Virtual USD Mastercard Prepaid, USD or EUR balance Virtual, physical, metal
One-time cost Fee, amount not stated Free (virtual) Not stated Virtual Classic $49, Virtual Premium $249
Top-up fee 4% Not stated Not stated Classic 1.5% + $1.00, Premium 1%
FX fee Not stated Not stated Not stated Classic 3.5%, Premium 2.5%
Networks stated No No No Yes — 5 named
Rewards Not stated Not stated Not stated Cashback and balance interest

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Nero to someone in a hurry who already holds USDT or USDC, who is looking for a virtual card and contactless payment rather than a banking relationship, and who treats the card balance as spending money to be emptied rather than money to be kept. For that person, the design is right: fund with a stablecoin, spend like an ordinary card, use the phone in your hand.

I would not recommend it as a first card, as a card to hold a balance on, or as a card for a country you need to be sure about. The reason is not that anything looks wrong — nothing does; it is that the card tells you so little that the questions which matter to your decision have no answers. What does a coffee cost? What happens when I tap in a shop three countries away? Who holds my money? Which chain do I send on? Those are not exotic concerns for a payment card. They are the card.

Two things would move this score materially and quickly: a published country list, and a published fee table with the FX rate and the limits. Neither is technically hard and both would end the silence that holds the mark at 4.8. Until then, treat it as a promising experiment with a small balance, not as infrastructure.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nero card?

Nero is a virtual payment card you fund with USDT or USDC and spend as ordinary currency, with conversion to fiat at the moment of payment. It was launched on 25 June 2026 by Nero Sphere LIMITED, a company with a Hong Kong dateline, through a paid press release. It is virtual: a standard card number, expiry and CVC. The card network and the card currency are not named on the pages I could read.

How does the Nero card work?

You create an account online, top it up with USDT or USDC, and the card is issued within minutes of funding. When you pay, the crypto is converted to fiat and the card spends that value, rather than holding crypto on the balance. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for contactless in-store payments. No app is described — the service is used through the website.

Is Nero a bank?

Not on the evidence available. The company named is Nero Sphere LIMITED with a Hong Kong dateline, but the issuer and licences are not named, and the press contact email is a marketing address. A card’s issuer is normally a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under the card network’s licence, while the brand is often only a programme manager. Because Nero does not say who issues its card, you cannot verify any licence yourself.

Does Nero require KYC?

KYC is not described on the readable pages, and neither is the level of verification required. That is not the same as saying there are no checks. Regulated businesses are generally required to verify customers and assess risk under anti-money-laundering law, and in the EU that normally covers identity documents, address, date of birth, nationality, a sanctions check and politically-exposed-person screening. I found no statement about Russian or Belarusian citizens or residents in either direction.

Which countries can use Nero?

The site says restricted countries exist; the list is not published on the readable pages. That means you cannot determine eligibility from the card’s own materials. Prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 or over, and some issuers set higher limits, but Nero’s own age and country requirements are not stated. Note also that acceptance and eligibility are different: a card can work in a country you cannot sign up from.

How do I top up the Nero card?

With USDT or USDC, at a stated top-up commission of 4%. The minimum top-up, who pays the blockchain network fee, and any fiat top-up options are not stated. The networks are not confirmed on the readable pages, and that is the thing to settle before you send anything: transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on the wrong network or to an address of a different network can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.

Is Nero card free?

There is a one-time issuance fee, and the amount is not stated. No monthly fee is stated. Beyond that, the 4% top-up commission is the only fee figure disclosed, and the FX fee is not stated — so the real cost of a purchase is not knowable in advance. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain rather than by Nero, which adds a cost you also cannot calculate while the networks are undocumented.

Can I add Nero to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Yes — Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported for in-store contactless payments, and that is the card’s strongest everyday-use feature, since a virtual card with a standard number, expiry and CVC is what mobile wallets expect. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can also restrict the tokenised number to specific channels.

Where can I use the Nero card?

Wherever a merchant accepts cards — but expect friction in some places. Merchants can look up the BIN to see which institution and country issued the card, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address; some decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright. Address Verification Service is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines on online payments.

Is the Nero card safe, and how do I withdraw money?

I found no official incidents and no user complaints or reviews — but there is no Trustpilot page, and the card was only a few months old when I checked, so that silence is youth, not track record. The issuer and licences are not named, which means you cannot confirm who is legally responsible for your funds or whether they are safeguarded. Withdrawal is not stated. On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Nero.

What should I check before sending USDT to Nero?

Ask support, in writing, which network they expect for USDT and for USDC, and confirm it against the network your wallet will actually send on. Ask what the FX fee is and what the daily and monthly limits are, since none is stated publicly. And note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option — if the answer names a chain, make sure it is one your token actually lives on.

Content created by the «cryptocardverdict» team